We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ship Inn to your Saves list
Ship Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great all round facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Bedrooms are superb, very clean, well equipped and quiet, the food was fantastic and the range of beers in the bar was very good. The staff were courteous, and fun. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the surroundings were awesome, gret views of the h

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    114
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
124
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in a family room in November for 2 nights. The room was well furnished with beautiful views across the harbour. We had a double bed for us and our 7 month baby, and a single bed for our 4 yr old which meant the room was quite cosy (as I had been advised when booking it, I understand there is also a larger family room available) but it was very comfortable and clean and perfect for our needs. The bathroom was also finished to a high standard.

Breakfast was delicious, as was lunch in the pub and dinner in the restaurant. The service was also very good, with my daughter being made to feel welcome as well.

Having stayed in several other establishments in Stonehaven I cannot recommend The Ship highly enough, although hope there's still room for us next time we visit! The poor quality of other accommodation in Stonehaven had been putting us off of this family trip for a little while - the Ship was a delight and we're looking forward to the next trip (and dinners there) already!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A little gem of a find. I arrived at the Ship Inn at night while it was blowing a hooligan and lashing with rain, which made the warmth of my welcome so much more enjoyable. Room clean and comfortable (with a four-poster bed!), complete with lovely views across the harbour, as I discovered in the morning. Room also had rock solid free wi-fi, an absolute boon for business travellers like me. Food in the restaurant was first class, and the staff at all times were so courteous and friendly. Good selection of delicious real ales in the bar too. A lovely place that comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are as nice as mine, you won't have a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On arrival, I was greeted by friendly staff who chatted away while showing me to my room - all very informal but great service.
I booked a double room with a view over the harbour and would recommend it - the view in the morning was stunning.
The room itself looked as if it was just recently re-furbished and it was immaculate as well as being comfortable and well appointed.
Try the downstairs bar if you visit - great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just got back from yet another trip to Aberdeen and have stayed in the Ship Inn again as it is very good value and the rooms are as good as any first class hotel in the area. I have been going to Aberdeen on business for over 30 years and never found a better place to stay. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and make you feel most welcome. As for the food, it is of the very best in the area, and the fish and chips is the best I have ever found in the UK. Eat your heart out Harry Ramsden ! Will be back again as I can't stay away. Thanks for a relaxing stay after work each day.

Room Tip: I have stayed in all of the rooms over looking the harbour over the years and they are all excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I think I have been staying in the Ship Inn off and on now for five years. Just a couple of nights at a time and I can say clearly that this is one of the lovliest places I have stayed in and I stay in a lot of hotels around Scotland and the Islands. It has history, its own character and longevity. It is really comfortable and up to date without being OTT. Remember it is not a big city and this is an Inn not a multi-national hotel. The staff are local and very welcoming but not in your face or intrusive and the food is great. People actually eat there from the local community which always tells you a lot about a place. Give it a visit.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the best with a fabulous view where so much of the life of this community can be watched p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borders, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed one night. Had to be in Aberdeen, but midweek city prices prices were silly. Stonehaven is an easy (15min) trip on the train and a much nicer place anyway, so happy to pitch up there. The Ship is a great find, and I'll be back there next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.