We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll definitely use The Ship Inn again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ship Inn to your Saves list
Ship Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Fochabers
1 review
“I'll definitely use The Ship Inn again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Excellent accommodation, superb location and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    114
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
45
124
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Situated directly on the harbour in a traffic restricted area. Nice room with good facilities and, of course, the bar is downstairs. Convenient to have a nice restaurant there too. Good value for money

Room Tip: The harbour facing room I had was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

When we arrived in Stonehaven, it was difficult to spot places with accommodation when driving thru. We parked the car in the town centre and went for a walk about the town. We ended up by the local harbour and spotted The Ship Inn really by chance. To our luck they had vacancies and we booked a lovely room with King size bed and a fantastic harbour view. The room had been refurbished two years ago and it felt really luxurious. We have visited GB on many occasions and this was in fact the nicest room with the best view we have ever experienced. On the evening of our arrival we enjoyed a lovely meal in The Ship Inn's restaurant. A very friendly staff provided great service and good food. The atmosphere was very relaxed. It started pouring down with rain outside, but it soon stopped and a perfect rainbow was displayed across the entire harbour. It lasted for over 10 minutes, so we got many photo opportunities both outside and from our room. The next day we enjoyed a lovely breakfast at The Ship Inn before continuing our trip up to Aberdeen. We had a lovely experience at The Ship Inn and we will definitely return on our next trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at the Ship Inn on vacation in May 2011 and it was a wonderful experience. We made the reservation on short notice and the weather cooperated enough to allow us a glass of wine outside before dining at the restaurant.

Our room overlooked the harbour and the sunrise view from our open window was breathtaking. A walk to Dunottar Castle after breakfast completed a memorable visit. The friendliness of both the staff and owner ensured a comfortable, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Staff friendly; chatty and helpful. Room was of a very high standard; both cleanliness and quality of furniture and fittings. Shower excellent; good water power and plenty of room!
Location overlooking the harbour; lovely views; popular and busy area. Could be a little noisy for a short time late at night in the harbour view rooms. Restaurant overlooking the harbour; great food and service. Has a few little gift shops in harbour area. Lovely 3 mile round coastal walk to Dunottar Castle. Also beautiful walks in Dunottar Wood on the outskirts of town. We loved the Inn and the area. Only one down side is that there is no Hotel car parking; although parking area across from Hotel if you could get in there.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011 via mobile

We were so lucky to stay in this lovely little inn. We stayed in the family room overlooking the harbor. The room was perfect, the beds comfortable and the tub a treat! We had a beautiful evening walk on the beach and to the cliffs overlooking Dunatar Castle. We ended the visit with a hot shower and a pint in the pub. I hope we can come back one day!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I have stayed in Stonehaven on five previous occassions in the past three years, at local hotels and B&B's. But the Ship Inn has been the best accommodations yet! Charming, clean, friendly, and excellent food. Plus the wireless internet connection is FAST and FREE! Need I say more? BOOK IT!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn

Address: 5, Shore Head, Stonehaven AB39 2JY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Stonehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stonehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic (1771) inn with 11 luxurious en-suite bedrooms (7 with harbour views) - all with flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Comfortable 38 cover restaurant with spectacular views of picturesque harbour. Varied menu with seafood a specialty. All food home cooked using the finest locally sourced produce. Cosy bar with good choice of draft beers (including Real Ales), bottled beers, cider and soft drinks. Over 100 Single Malt whiskies. Wine by the glass and extensive wine list. Freshly ground coffee. Outside terrace with tables overlooking harbour. 20 minutes from Aberdeen - Oil Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Hotel Stonehaven
Ship Inn Stonehaven, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.