We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for a big group” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Dorado
Save
You added Casa Dorado to your Saves list
| Las Galeras, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Las Galeras B&B and Inns
Grenaa, Arhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A good choice for a big group”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The place is nice for a big group of people, 6-8 persons can stay there and enjoy this spacious villa together. There is a lot of place and we could recommend it to everybody, the only thing we didn't like was to share the house and the funitures with 4 big (some smelly) dogs.
The villa is cosy decorated, Carib style, some places (bathrooms) a bit worn, could need some repainting, need some window polishing and a safetybox in the rooms are also missing. freezer and refrigerator could also need a thorough washing.
There is about 10-12 minutes walk to the beach in the village and a 20 minutes walk to a better beach call Playita.
All in all a nice place to stay as there is no much choices in Las Galeras.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We found casa dorado in our guidebook and online. If you want an amazing bed and breakfast just blocks from a nearly private beach, this place is for you. We were greeted by Bos, a blind, gentle, brindle coloured Great Dane. Casa dorado was designed by a Dominican-American architect and his wife. There are several bedrooms and many public shared sitting areas and a pretty garden. One balcony had 2 lovely hammocks to swing on and, i agree with a review in a travel guide, it's the place to be on a rainy day...just swinging away while reading a book and dozing off. We stayed in the master bedroom, which was beautiful. There was a walk in closet, shower, and jacuzzi tub. We sat with the owner one nit and he told us his story ... and shared his lobster with us. I have been to many countries and found the beach nearby to be one of the most beautiful in the world...and almost private. The beach is only about a 15 minute walk away from casa dorado. I'm already planning on going back one day...a heavenly oasis that makes me feel like I could totally pick up and move there and feel right a home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just got back to the states last night. I just wanted to convey what a fantastic time we had at Casa Dorado. The house is stunning and provided a fantastic setting in which to relax after a "hard" day at the beach. Roberto was a huge help organizing all the adventures we wanted to explore and was super friendly and really made us feel at home. Leonel was also amazing. We loved Las Galeras in general and will definitely head back next time we're in the D.R.

-josh and tanya

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We have lived in Santo Domingo for three years and have traveled around the country on holidays. We love the beaches, the climate, the people, the culture, etc. We own a time-share in Cabarete, which we visit often, but we wanted to try something different for Semana Santa (Easter week) and this was our first time to Las Galeras and we were not disappointed. This was our first DR B&B experience and we will go back. Catherine and Roberto and their staff offer a balanced mix of attentiveness and service with a relaxed, casual at-home feel. We felt right at home and loved the free run of the kitchen. Playa Rincon is one of the most beautiful we've seen on the island and there are some very good restaurants as well. We will return again and recommend Casa Dorado to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We recently stayed at Casa Dorado with our friends and our 1-year-old for a long weekend. We were looking for something to escape the hectic city life of Santo Domingo for a bit & Casa Dorado was the perfect pick. Roberto & Catherine were great hosts and helped us with plans for the day as well as restaurant selections at night. It was so great to wake up and have breakfast & amazing coffee downstairs each morning so we could brainstorm our day's excursions. We loved how clean and well-kept the place was as well. Will definitely recommend to friends looking to experience Samana.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I just stayed here for 3 days and absolutely loved it. The house is gorgeous with lots of areas to hang out, including hammocks. The breakfast is quite good with variety every day, but always bread from the local French bakery. Roberto is so helpful with planning your day's activities, whether whale watching, beaches, etc. Highly recommend it for either a couple's trip or family.

Room Tip: We were in the "Superior" room, a bit more expensive but well worth it for the space. Inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The fact that my trip was wonderful, but quite different than the others reviewed here, is proof that Casa Dorado is a gem. I was here for just 2 nights, and never met Roberto or Katherine. Their staff took wonderful care of us--Leonel was so friendly and very capable. The food was delicious (breakfast and the dinners we had on-site), rooms were comfortable and clean, and the road from Santo Domingo is finished and (mostly) smooth.

We chose Casa Dorado because we hate the 'all-inclusive' experience and were not disappointed. We chose to hike to Playa Rincon instead of go by boat, and took a boat trip to snorkel at Playa Fronton (both trips arranged via phone by Roberto). I would absolutely recommend Casa Dorado to a less adventurous traveler--the house is very comfortable and the local beaches are safe. But if you'd rather eat local foods and are willing to try something different, Casa Dorado can definitely help you create a memorable trip. I cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorado

Address: | Las Galeras, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Las Galeras
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa Dorado Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.