We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View, Perfect Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of EL MONTE AZUL - Pierre et Vanina

EL MONTE AZUL - Pierre et Vanina
La Guazuma, Las Galeras 32000, Dominican Republic
+1 849-249-3640
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Las Galeras
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant opened from 11:00 to 14:00 and from 17:00 to 22:00Closed every TuesdayReservation for dinner / taxi's reservation possibleFrench foodAsian foofPanoramic view on Rincon's bay and Samana's bayWhales' miradorBy Car, four wheels, horse,bike ...
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Perfect Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Las Galeras and we found our way to El Monte Azul on the evening of my wife's 50th Birthday. The weather was perfect, the view was extraordinary and the owners of this cliff top restaurant were the perfect hosts. The chef's choice was lion fish (something we'd never eaten before) and it was terrific. We'll be back during our stay in Las Galeras in August and September!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning food and gorgeous views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

After having sat and had an aperitif overlooking the ocean I ate a delicious filet steak with pepper sauce, grilled aubergines and potatoes and had a pineapple and chocolate fondue which was to die for made with proper, pure chocoalte!! The meal was incredible, a beautiful setting and very reasonably priced. If ever I'm in the DR again I will go back!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must do when visiting the Samana Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Wow! Simply a must do when visiting the Samana Peninsula. This place has a better ambiance and vibe then almost any other restaurant I've ever been to. The Lion fish was excellent and I'm not a big fish person. Pierre and Vanini really make you feel at home in this european style cafe and restaurant. The drive is a bit tough but just follow the signs I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Dominican Republic for any substantial amount of time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Place on the Samana Peninsula!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Pierre and Vanina run this very beautiful restaurant on the top of a south facing hill facing the Bay of Samana. Visitors should arrive an hour before sunset to soak up the 'sheer jurassic' beauty of the terrain and blue sea.

The food is awesome! I recommend the 'filet de boeuff' (steak) which is a great cut. Get the blue cheese fondue dip with it! One of the best cuts of meat I've ever had! I also recommend the caesar salad.

A must go and worth the trip even if you arn't in the area!!! A+++++

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We really fell in love with this place! Pierre and vanini are really sweet and the food is amazing! We went here two times! And the view......

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL MONTE AZUL - Pierre et Vanina also viewed

Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
 

Been to EL MONTE AZUL - Pierre et Vanina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EL MONTE AZUL - Pierre et Vanina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.