We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it worth a visit?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Samana

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Samana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Paradise Samana
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Las Galeras
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Is it worth a visit?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spent about a week in Samana and I have to say I really fell in love there. The natural beauty of the island is breathtaking, the beaches were wonderful and relaxing with the palm trees swaying over head. I think it is worth the visit I specifically enjoyed visiting the neighbouring city although they are smaller in scale but unique. I enjoyed seeing the city, the people and culture. There are alot of beaches you can visit as well, which are spectacular and can make you feel like you are the only person in the world. The scenes took my breath away at the discovery and its natural state of being. The hotel had great food, and accommodations were pretty good as well. I find mostly the character and spirit of the hotel was unique and is what made the experience compared to other places i have been. The people that work there are very warm and welcoming. The shows put on were well organized and enjoyable for the children and older couples. I enjoyed it and noticed there was quite a bit of regulars that come back for second visit.

I give thanks to the staff at Grand Paradise and to Daniel Gil Liriano.

muchos gracias!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    620
    274
    152
    87
See reviews for
499
538
84
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from Samana, Grand Paradise. Had a great time. I wanted to write to tell everyone that if you are going to this resort, look for Rudy at the snorkeling hut on the beach if you want to have a great time horse back riding. His rates are excellent and he will take you to a great bar on a cliff that overlooks the bay. An hour and a half of horseback riding and two beers cost $45, for two people. Wow! Awesome fun. And if you want to see the whales, talk to Rudy. He will set you up with a guy named Joel at the foot of the strip and for $60, he will take you out to see the whales, snorkeling and over to Rancon beach. Sooooo much better than the $100 fees charged by the tour reps. It was fantastic. I highly recommend these two adventures. Have fun!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our first trip outside of the United States, and we used it as a learning experience. We flew into SDQ which resulted in a 3 hour cab ride each way. Noris was very helpful in getting our cab rides organized so we didn't have to worry about them upon arrival. She also fulfilled our request of a room with a view of the ocean.

The rooms wasn't anything spectacular, but it allowed us to really relax without the distraction of phones or internet. The beds were quite stiff, and were almost painful to lay on by the end of our stay. The beach was great for tanning, but for swimming, you had to maneuver around the large patches of seaweed. There are lots of friendly fish that will swim by you even if you are close to shore. The open-air aquarium is a must! For only $15 each you get to see so many of the native fish.

The photo staff approached us for a private couple's shoot on the beach, and we chose to accept. We couldn't be happier! After reviewing the pictures we took of ourselves, we're really happy to have such beautiful ones of us to remember this trip.

The food at the buffet was okay. It gave us an opportunity to try a lot of different foods without worrying whether we would like them or not. The seafood restaurant was very good, but nothing on the Italian menu seemed to warrant another reservation. Staff was always rather friendly, but their English is very limited. Housekeeping is done by request only, so make sure to put your door tag out! Overall, the trip was a very nice getaway!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My family and I thought this resort was excellent! We travelled february 19th-26th and the weather was amazing. Everything was very clean and well kept, the rooms were very nice, but if there ever was a problem, Sam the rooms division manager was always smiley, friendly and happy to help make sure everything was working properly in your room. The food was very good and the disco was always a blast thanks to three of the workers carlos, johanse and robinson, they know how to make some delicious drinks! The beach, as well as the scenery was absolutely beautiful! Beside the resort is a small village, where there is lots of shopping and a few nice restaurants to enjoy. Its only about a ten minute walk through a path along the beach. The main town Samana is only about a 30 minute drive (theres taxi services at the resort), there is more shopping there and definitely worth the drive. Since we loved the resort so much, my mom and I have purchased tickets to go back for march 24th, we are overloaded with excitement! I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Thank you to all the Staff Members of the Grand Paradise Samana for making my first vacation such an incredible one! Everyone was very friendly, and helpful. The Photo Staff were a lot of fun, The animation team was absolutely amazing, in particular Yessi, Zapata, Daniel, and Frank! They definitely made the vacation!!!! The Buffet was always changing, and the food was good, sometimes a little cold, but overall not too bad. I recommend the fish! We didn't get a chance to try the A la carte's, however we didn't hear the greatest about them, the buffet however never seased to amaze us. The evening shows were a lot of fun! Don't miss them! You'll have loads of fun! Overall the Grand Paradise Samana was a wonderful resort. The beauty surrounding the hotel gave it a homey feel, and not like you were in some fancy hotel, it was compareable to being at a nice cottage! The landscaping was phenomenal. Other then Gecko's there weren't really bugs around either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is NOT a 4 star resort but is a nice place to just kick back and enjoy a relaxing vacation. The grounds are quite picturesque however, the beach has a lot of seaweed and is quite eroded in many places. For the most part the staff is friendly and efficient. The maid service is somewhat unreliable however, towels removed and not replaced, bathroom not cleaned in 7 days, soap not replaced, etc. The food is pretty good although the buffet lacks variety, different themes each day but pretty much the same food every day. If you plan on visiting this resort make sure your carrier flies into the Samana airport which is only a 90 minute drive away. If you fly into Puerto Plata be ready for a minimum 4 hour drive. Beware of the excursions some of them are quite treacherous, particularly the horse ride to the falls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Travelled Feb 26/13 to Mar 5/13 as a family.

The resort itself is dated and in need of much refurbishment. The rooms are very old and our toilet backed up the second day. The maintenance personnell do not speak English at all. Tips to bartenders do not matter if you are a young girl as all they want to do is to 'bed' you. The disco fills up on Sunday when the locals leave. The alcohol is generic but they do make the drinks strong.

The beach is full of seaweed. I would reccomend if you like to snorkel to go with the natural Acquarium on the beach for 15$ you get almost 2 hours. We saw tons of fish and other sea creatures.

Overall, I believe the brand Amhsa Marina who manages the Grand Paradise brand needs to retire as it is the same thing no matter if you go to Samana or Puerto Plata.

A tip for those travelling with teens and young people, you will not go off the resort to go clubbing nor will the animation team take you off the resort at night. Your only entertainment past the night time show which ends at 10:30 pm is to get drunk with your new found friends by the beach bar.

Room Tip: Block 1000 is close to buffet and far away from disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.