We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RWG” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Samana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Paradise Samana to your Saves list
Grand Paradise Samana
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Las Galeras
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“RWG”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is NOT a 4 star resort but is a nice place to just kick back and enjoy a relaxing vacation. The grounds are quite picturesque however, the beach has a lot of seaweed and is quite eroded in many places. For the most part the staff is friendly and efficient. The maid service is somewhat unreliable however, towels removed and not replaced, bathroom not cleaned in 7 days, soap not replaced, etc. The food is pretty good although the buffet lacks variety, different themes each day but pretty much the same food every day. If you plan on visiting this resort make sure your carrier flies into the Samana airport which is only a 90 minute drive away. If you fly into Puerto Plata be ready for a minimum 4 hour drive. Beware of the excursions some of them are quite treacherous, particularly the horse ride to the falls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    675
    296
    161
    92
See reviews for
542
597
90
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Travelled Feb 26/13 to Mar 5/13 as a family.

The resort itself is dated and in need of much refurbishment. The rooms are very old and our toilet backed up the second day. The maintenance personnell do not speak English at all. Tips to bartenders do not matter if you are a young girl as all they want to do is to 'bed' you. The disco fills up on Sunday when the locals leave. The alcohol is generic but they do make the drinks strong.

The beach is full of seaweed. I would reccomend if you like to snorkel to go with the natural Acquarium on the beach for 15$ you get almost 2 hours. We saw tons of fish and other sea creatures.

Overall, I believe the brand Amhsa Marina who manages the Grand Paradise brand needs to retire as it is the same thing no matter if you go to Samana or Puerto Plata.

A tip for those travelling with teens and young people, you will not go off the resort to go clubbing nor will the animation team take you off the resort at night. Your only entertainment past the night time show which ends at 10:30 pm is to get drunk with your new found friends by the beach bar.

Room Tip: Block 1000 is close to buffet and far away from disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff and the animation make the hotel. In particular, Leocalina Trinidad at the buffet restaurant, and the sweet girl at the kids club were just amazing...the cleaning staff was also very kind. The hotel is not a 4 star. The beach is eroding. Sad to see. The a la carte restaurants are not worth it. The seafood is not fresh and you are better off sticking to the buffet. All in all, the weather was great, the vacation was pleasant, and we enjoyed our stay. The shows at night are hillarious! Great job animators! The kids had a blast. Avoid the drive from Puerto Plata if you can. If you find a great price, then it is worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms. Buildings 5 to 7. 2nd floors have better working toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thank-you to the all the staff at Grand Paradise Samana for a wonderful vacation over March break. This resort may not be a 5 star resort but has everything you would expect and more at an all inclusive resort. We travelled with kids age 7 and 9 they loved the kids club, mini disco and games room.The main buffet was always hot,fresh and tasty. Like any buffet at any resort I've travelled after day 4 or 5 it gets a little repetitive. The beach buffet could use a little improvement, dishes were not kept hot but served fries at lunch time. The beach was not as nice as ones in Punta Cana or Cuba little beach front and lots of plant life in the water. From the front desk staff to the bar staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful. The pools were clean and chairs plentiful. The resort was close to capacity when we were there but you would not know it this resort is small, the perfect size for a little R&R. The rooms were adequate, linens could use updating and not being allowed to flush toilet paper bothered our 9 year old. We were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the previous reviews. Over all a great vacation and a great resort price vs value.

Room Tip: We were in a building on the third floor close to the disco, we had no problem with noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thank you very much for a wonderful holiday at the Grand Paradise Samana 28.2.-11.3.2013! I was here last year before and had to return here! Was a beautiful moment and a lot of wonderful experiences! Beautiful place! Very friendly and welcoming staff! A lot of dancing! Everything was perfect! I'd go back now!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited Grand Paradise Samana Feb 26 - March 5th 2013. Although this resort has great potential it is just not up to snuff. I would never send oune of my clients to this resort in good faith. If someone demanded to book it I would require that they first sign a waiver saying that I wanrned them about it. 1)Problem number one the plumbing is a problem they do not want you to flush toilet paper down the toilet, they expect you to wipe and throw it in the garbage beside the toilet. So you can just imaging the smell, also many people do not follow this request so many public washroom are often clogged or backed up. 2) The wait staff in the dining room does not help you find seats at all like I have whitnessed in ALL other resorts I have been to so people are always searching aimlessly looking for tables with plates of food and it causes chaos. Our room was adequate and everthing worked so no complainsa there but my in-laws were without A/C for 3 days so they had trouble sleeping and as a result got sich while we were there. The issue was very simple their room key opened the door and turned on the power in the room but for some reason did not operate the A/C after 3 days of waiting the maintenance guy resolved the issue in 5 minutes. I feel this property is very poorly managed based on the problems we experienced. We were mostly dissapointed with the food, I am VERY well traveled and I know what to expect I don't even complain about the food in Cuba but this resort was something else. I usuall stich to the local food and eat the fish but at this resort the fish was gross, realls fishy smelling and tasting (meaning it is not fresh) with the exception of the fish at the a la carte restaurants that fish was wonderful. The beach area was great, the actual sand area is small but they compensate by having a great big lawn strip for all of the Lounge chairs which is much neater than laying in the sand. This resort had a lot of Families and gay couples so something for everyone if you can get over the toilet situation.

Room Tip: Less plumbing problems on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Feb 21-March 7,2013
Just got back from Grand Paradise, Samana. After being in Resorts for the 15th time, we sort of know what to expect.
Very nice beach and property. Beautiful green grass.
The food was very good even on the second week. Good variety and fresh. The salad were really fresh all the time. Use your imagination and with the toaster, you can do amanzing stuff. The staff are extra friendly. Always had a smile and very courteous. We didn't use the bars a lot except to get some water, but the staff there appeared really friendly as well.
We stayed in Building #1. The rooms where clean, but nothing special. Don't try to showering between 5-6:30 pm. ,unless you like to wash with droplets of water,lol. As for morning showers, it was ok. The rooms were average, the mattresses and linens were awful. No facecloths available at all time, bring your own!! With a pair of scissors, however, I made 6 washcloths with one towel. On lucky days you would get good (not new, but good towels)! Definitely not a 4 star, but would would still rate it a 3. I guess that building 4-6 are newer. Went to visit. The buildings look better on the outside.
Conclusion: I would definitely go back for the beach, quietness, staff friendlyness and the price!

Room Tip: try for the buildings 4-6 as they are newer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.