We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing trip surrounded by nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Samana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Samana to your Saves list
Grand Paradise Samana
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Las Galeras
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing trip surrounded by nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My mom and I stayed for 10 days end of March to the beginning of April 2012 so this review is a little late. The beach is beautiful and the area is absolutely stunning, clear blue water, palm trees, and I even saw a sea turtle while snorkeling in front of the resort. It is a bay with a coral reef protecting it so the water is calm and it is safe to swim out far without any undertow. Unfortunately the lack of fish in the bay is quite apparent due to over fishing. The local young boys go to the reef areas and spear all the tiny fish which I got to witness during one of my many snorkeling adventures. It was disheartening.
If you are a vegetarian you will be more than happy with the food. There was so much to eat and always different kinds of beans at dinner, lots of potatoes, and vegetables. The crepes at breakfast were the best, although sometimes you would have to wait a bit because people wanted multiple crepes. We brought coffee mugs to get coffee in the morning before the breakfast buffet opened but apparently they were getting mad at people for doing that so I don’t know what the situation with that is now.
There are a lot of Europeans at the resort but I liked that. I met people from all over the world not just Canada, who were the worst behaved towards the staff it was actually sometimes embarrassing. The rooms are basic but fine and we never had any problems getting beach towels. The main negatives for me were the noise from the animation shows and disco at night and the lack of shade areas on the beach.
We did the day trip to the plantation and then to playa Rincon. The plantation is just some random house and it was very boring. If I go again I would take a private boat to Rincon from the town of Las Gelaras, that would be cheaper and to be able to spend more time at the beach would have been more rewarding, it was absolutely stunning.
We flew with West Jet and they are amazing. I usually fly major air carriers and the employees were so friendly. I was shocked.
We got a great price for 10 days and would rather stay somewhere less "fancy" for longer. I love the beach! If you are looking for luxury you will not be happy here. Also, I speak a fair amount of Spanish and the staff were amazing, sometimes you just have to make an effort to bridge the gap. Especially since the staff are learning French and German as well as English, I think a little patience is required (if you don't speak Spanish).
The photographers on staff are absolutely wonderful and talented.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    645
    283
    155
    92
See reviews for
531
570
87
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our family trip was a wonderful experience, we loved our week in paradise! From the first step out of the taxi at the hotel to the very last moment, we relished it. Our first encounter was with Noris over the phone, doing everything she could to insure that our reservation and room requests, went smoothly. Noris made our taxi arrangements from the airport, greeted us at the front desk upon arrival, and she even made and our first dinner reservation (and her tutoring along the way was appreciated). We felt very taken care of by the staff. Julio served as a great problem solver as well, thank you for that. The beaches were lovely, the long palm tree lined beach was a backdrop to our many photographs, the sunsets perfect, and the walks along the trails were also a great evening activity. We even have another trip planned there this year!
Steve G & Family

Room Tip: ocean side beautiful, more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and i visited this resort feb 5-12 2013, and i must say it was a great first travel experience!
Its only a 90 min bus ride from Samana airport to resort, and best part is they hand you a envelope with your room key/number and a bonus 30 mins of free wifi. What a great idea so we didnt have to wait inline at midnight to register.
The resort was VERY clean, grounds ppl always working to clean the leaves and washing down the stones around the pool. The rooms are in okay shape, they do need to add some paint to make it look more stylish (no complaints)
The food was really good as well, love the variety of options they have at the buffet. **for kids if you go to beach buffet from 12-4 they have pizza burgers fries etc**
Yes the resort does get a bit loud during the shows but its just the audience laughing and hoot and hollering of enjoyment.

In previews and possible new reviews to come, some might complain of theft.... Reason for that is if you brag and holler about all the expensive stuff you brought with you to your room that doesn't fit in the safe, yes you might have someone steal it... Your in a 3rd world country who don't have the privilege of things we do. Don't bring items to a resort that cant fit in the safe!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view!! Totally worth the extra $40
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My friend and I went here for 6 days/5 nights as a girl trip to get away from the cold weather. Unfortunately, to our dismay, the stay was not as we expected.

Though we got lucky with a balcony and a view of the ocean, the room was comparable to that of a Days Inn or Best Western, the staff I feel spoke insufficient English (in fact it got worse as the trip went on) and did not seem to have a whole lot of information, there was no welcome packet or orientation to let you know how to make reservations for dinner, that the "mini bar" (which consisted of soda and water) was included, the customer service line never was answered, and there never seemed to be clean towels in our room when we needed them. In fact, on day 3 or 4 we realized that they were taking the same towels we'd been using already and just refolding/rehanging them (we were being courteous to not put them on the floor when wet so they didn't get mildewy).

We opted out of snorkeling because we felt the staff probably did not sufficiently clean the mouthpieces between uses among people, and though they offer windsurfing, waves were breaking about 200+ meters out so could be potentially dangerous as no guides went with you.

The food got me sick one night and I was hesitant to eat any seafood a good portion of the time we were there. Best thing was the chicken, eggs and flan.

Overall, we made the best of the situation in which we were presented, but I feel that there was a lack of information given to us and it was not portrayed as how it really is. And this is coming from someone who doesn't expect a 5-star stay wherever she goes.

Room Tip: If you decide to go, ask for a room away from the pool and disco on the 2nd floor with the balcony f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

i loved the beaches and the staff are fantisic the front desk staff were the best i encontered while i travelled a special thanks to yinain balbvena who made my visit special by taking me to a local school it is the people who work here that makes this hotel. on the negative end of my visit the toliet didn't work won't flush had to have it reparied twice they sent a repair guy right away
the showers were hard to adjust the towels were thread bare and the rooms were run down also they do not wabnt you to flush toliet paper they want you to put it in the garbage yuck but if you don't mind these problems and the trip is cheap go for it ps the food was good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second time at Grand Paradise Samana and what an amazing time it was. We stayed for two weeks with our 2 boys and we enjoyed every second. The staff were fantastic and made it that much more enjoyable. We made great friends, like Jessi who we knew from last time and is a fantastic person. She was great with our kids and always had a smile on her face. She sure made our vacation. It was great seeing Yousseff (who we also knew from last time) who is always there to help if you need anything. Thank you all for everything (Sabatta thanks for the CD...the boys listen to it every day :) and thank you Luis for helping us with the stroller :) . Miss V thanks for being sooo good with the kids! We will definitely be back next year :)

Room Tip: Building 6, 7, 8 - the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doksy, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great resort in a pleasant and quiet surroundings.
Long and beautiful beach, lots of palm trees, beautiful nature, animals.
Several bars, restaurants, good food, friendly and smiling staff, clean, air-conditioned rooms.
There is always something to do - three pools, volleyball, water aerobics, step aerobics, archery, horseback riding, nightly shows and disco every night.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, it is a real piece of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.