We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful beaches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Samana

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Samana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Paradise Samana
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Las Galeras
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“beautiful beaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

i loved the beaches and the staff are fantisic the front desk staff were the best i encontered while i travelled a special thanks to yinain balbvena who made my visit special by taking me to a local school it is the people who work here that makes this hotel. on the negative end of my visit the toliet didn't work won't flush had to have it reparied twice they sent a repair guy right away
the showers were hard to adjust the towels were thread bare and the rooms were run down also they do not wabnt you to flush toliet paper they want you to put it in the garbage yuck but if you don't mind these problems and the trip is cheap go for it ps the food was good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    550
    254
    145
    83
See reviews for
460
485
74
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was our second time at Grand Paradise Samana and what an amazing time it was. We stayed for two weeks with our 2 boys and we enjoyed every second. The staff were fantastic and made it that much more enjoyable. We made great friends, like Jessi who we knew from last time and is a fantastic person. She was great with our kids and always had a smile on her face. She sure made our vacation. It was great seeing Yousseff (who we also knew from last time) who is always there to help if you need anything. Thank you all for everything (Sabatta thanks for the CD...the boys listen to it every day :) and thank you Luis for helping us with the stroller :) . Miss V thanks for being sooo good with the kids! We will definitely be back next year :)

Room Tip: Building 6, 7, 8 - the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doksy, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great resort in a pleasant and quiet surroundings.
Long and beautiful beach, lots of palm trees, beautiful nature, animals.
Several bars, restaurants, good food, friendly and smiling staff, clean, air-conditioned rooms.
There is always something to do - three pools, volleyball, water aerobics, step aerobics, archery, horseback riding, nightly shows and disco every night.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone, it is a real piece of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

These holidays were simply perfect! Great location and beautiful weather. Fresh pancakes and much more at the breakfast buffet.
The best thing was the friendly staff. Me and my family want to thank one special person who was our camarero. His name is Euris Agueda and he made us never forget our holiday in samana. But also the other nice and professional co-workers are unforgettable!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were at this hotel for two weeks, we are not very demanding regarding accommodations as far as everything is clean and food is decent and we can't complain about either , in fact the cleaning staff was very good , they were our water providers, I like to drink lots of water and they always provided me with the amount I used.
Food was not bad, I don't use to much salt and sometimes I find it was a bit salty but, it could be me.
For my birthday we had a romantic dinner at the beach, about two feet away from the water just the two of us a fantastic blue sky dotted with stars , champagne , white wine , THREE LOBSTERS EACH and the most fantastic waiter you can imagine, his name is Lirio , he took such care of us that made that day memorable for me.
The nightly entertainment was very nice, we been to many places with entertainment and were surprise how professional this one was, is hard to remember names but one we will is Zapata with his Michael Jackson dances, great fun.
If we were able to thank every one personally, it will be grea, but we only remember some names of people who made our stay enjoyable for example, Sandy Almonte the captain of the AYB, Leocalina who was there for all our breakfast and lunches and Elvio who was allways ready to help and Yudiza who was also very nice. Thank You to all of you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just returned (mid 30’s couple) from a 1 week stay at Grand Paradise Samana and it was amazing!! Is it a 4 Star hotel? Definitely not but only because the rooms are a bit dated. When we got there we did have a few minor problems with our room (safe not working, shower and toilet problems) but all issues have been addressed within the first day. Otherwise the hotel is very clean, grounds well maintained, food is good and staff very friendly and helpful.

The beach is amazing, plenty of beach chairs and yes there is some sea weed close to the shore at certain spots but nothing major. What we enjoyed the most is the surroundings and of course some of the great people we meet!!! Being the only major hotel in the area makes it amazing since you can explore some amazing beaches, waterfalls, mountains, restaurants, discos and much more without the big tourist crowds….

The hotel is located 5 minutes from a lovely little village “Las Galerias” that you should definitely visit even if tour operators from the hotel advise against (reason being is that they don’t want you to buy tours for cheaper in the village).

If you are looking to explore the amazing beaches, waterfalls, and mountains in the surrounding areas you will need to find Rudy a local ranch owner. Very friendly guy speaks English, French and German fluently and he can take you anywhere you would like on his horses, 4X4 or ATV. To find him just ask around for Rudy around the dive and snorkeling center or you can find him on the right side of the beach (facing the ocean) with his beautiful horses. He really made our stay amazing!!

As for the bad reviews just ignore them as long as you are an easy going person. It’s funny to see people expecting luxury without the high price tag!! If you’re looking for luxury than this place is not for you, rather open your wallet and try a luxury hotel in the Barbados, Bermuda or perhaps the Virgin Islands.

Will be back since there is so much more to see!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

First of all I’d like to say that anyone who’s writing that you should not expect any comfort or service in DR is simply wrong or didn’t get to compare to. There are beautiful hotels and restaurants competitive even to Manhattan’s ones. Grand Paradise Sanama is not in the list, but its prices are comparable. We stayed at GP Bavaro: at least, they have “guests services”. The hotel chain belongs to Dominican Republic: it sets all the standards. You can clearly see two opposite categories of employees: hardworking auxiliary low grade and managerial VIP ones, who won’t notice you. From very first moments you start to understand that they don’t care about vacationers, they simply don’t want you to come back. Only “friends & family” get good treatment. The beach is miserable comparing to any in Punta Cana: there is no “white powder sand”, a sign says “Do not swim close to the rocks”. Someone has complained that no one cleans sea grass - you’re lucky if they cleaned up the horse manure. All negative reviews are true: just one key for a room; local people, horses, dogs go thru the beach; no bacon; we arrived on Saturday and got yogurt only on Tuesday; long lines in the buffet – they do not serve tea or coffee (DIY); the only respond to your basic needs – “tomorrow” day after day; water sports – deposit $50; there are two local liquor brands: “Classic” and “Royale”, so they use the worst one “Classic”; out of 78 TV channels 72 in Spanish; etc. The receptionist Geury when you're asking about some basic needs besides usual "maniana" or "no" says something in Spanish to your back, making his collegues to laugh: this is a top of hospitality & service. Did I mention that food is horrible?
Just read the review "Second visit, still pleased": We stayed 01/26/13 - 02/02/13 and out of 8 days have only two last days sunny: every day of rains (even our driver told us that he's sorry about everyday rain: January is a rain season???). Just wondering: what did JeenM49 mean "real rain"?

Room Tip: Don't take first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Paradise Samana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Samana

Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Hotel
Casa Marina Bay
Grand Paradise Samana Las Galeras
Grand Paradise Samana Dominican Republic
Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic (Formerly Casa Marina Bay)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Paradise Samana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Paradise Samana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Samana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.