We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horseback Riding to Playa Madama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Rancheta

La Rancheta
La Loma, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 restaurants in Las Galeras
Cuisines: Belgian, Caribbean
Restaurant details
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding to Playa Madama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Karin took us on an exciting ride through the jungle to Playa Madama. The horses were easy to ride and the ride was very informational. Once we got to the beach Karin took us through an old cave and explained some of the history of the beach. We also got to hike up to the top of a cliff and look over the beautiful ocean. Gorgeous view! Once we were done exploring we were able drink coconut water straight from the coconut--I loved this part! Karin was a great host and I would highly recommend her for horseback riding!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place. good people.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

nice place up the hills a bit. road to it is good. directions should get you there easy. a bit more away from the town, so a nice place to relax or base yourself.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ron's Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We enjoyed a big meal together with all the folks who happened to be staying at La Hacienda together that week - Ron served us like we were one family, the freshest fish with interesting appetizers and nice drinks. A great place for personal service.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Wonderful food and friendly atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We were blown away by the amazing food that Ronald and his lovely wife served up! WE had both breakfast and dinner at La Rancheta and were in awe of all meals. Breakfast is enough food to keep you going all day- delicious crepes, local cheese, eggs and great coffee. For dinner we had a feast with Ronald making a coconut soup out of the fresh fish that the guys caught (message me if you want fishing info) and he was even able to accommodate me being the only vegetarian in the group. I would highly recommend eating here.

Be sure to call ahead to let him know you are coming - Ronald is an artist, but it takes some prep to get these great meals ready!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Some of the best meals of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Ate here twice - first time we had one of the house specialities: Belgian chicken with homemade meatballs, and chips to die for! Second time round we couldn't decide so Ronald (the host) very kindly cooked us a selection of dishes - tapas style, but not the dodgy faux-tapas you get in so many places - this was a mixture of Dominican and possibly Belgian mini-dishes including fried bananas, sauteed pork in spicy sauce, stuffed eggs, salads, and many other things I can't remember now (oh, and more of the legendary chips). Beautiful fresh food, perfect setting, unbeatable value, and Ronald and his wife are both very welcoming, likeable hosts - it felt just like going round to your friends' place for dinner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rancheta also viewed

Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 
Las Galeras, Samana Province
Las Galeras, Samana Province
 

Been to La Rancheta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rancheta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.