We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and tranquil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Serena Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Las Galeras, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Las Galeras
Swindon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Decided to have a long weekend here following a recommendation.
As soon as we arrived we were met by the most breathtaking view of the ocean and a tiny island. As a fellow reviewer said, it was like something from a movie!
Our bedroom was very clean, spacious and at every opportunity we were just gazing at the beautiful view.
The hotel was so peaceful and tranquil but the downside was that it took ages to be served a cocktail around the pool or simply to get a staff member's attention.
The only other criticism was the food offered by the hotel.
We never ate in the hotel for dinner as the menu did not look very inviting and there was not enough breakfast nor much variety.
If the food is sorted and the service improved - this place would be perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I absolutely loved this place. I could wake up and open my porch door and see what looked like a scene from a movie...gorgeous ocean behind a great pool and pretty garden. I felt at home the whole wee walking around without shoes on from my room to breakfast, to the beach, to the pool, to the deck. The staff is great and helpful for figuring out acceptable rates or coordinating trustworthy guides since we knew little spanish.
the views look exactly like the pics on the site. most relaxing trip in years. cant wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Villa Serena is a magical place. Completely relaxing and rejuvenating. The view from the hotel is like a painting.. absolutely breathtaking and the grounds are kept up meticulously at all times.

The hotel is right on the beach and surrounded by other gorgeous beaches that you can either hike too or take a boat. There's also a pool right on the grounds if you feel like just staying by the hotel for the day or switching it up. The staff are friendly and warm and always going out of their way to make sure your comfortable and have everything you need. The rooms are spacious and welcoming and the food at the restaurant is top notch and reasonably priced.

This is a very special place. I can't recommend it enough

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Villa Serena offers everything a traveler can dream of: luscious, beautifully landscaped and perfectly kept garden, a quaint little beach right in front of the property and a very nice swimming pool, very spacious and welcoming rooms, attentive and very professional personnel, relaxed and elegant colonial-inspired decor.
The view is great from every room, the food at the restaurant is excellent and the closest beach, La Playita, is a little paradise. The hotel manager, Rosalba, is absolutely exquisite and manages to effortlessly make everybody feel at home.
Unfortunately, we could only stay there two days - but now that we know how beautiful it is there we will make sure to spend at least a week the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Room 17, there is no question about it! Enormous corner room with king bed and two very spacious ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pachino, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed a Villa Serena for 2 nights , it has been a really and great colonial place to be!!
Lovely Swimming pool, top and natural breakfast, nice staff and great ocean wiew around with lots of flawours in the Villa!!!!!!!!
We did'nt expect such wonderfoul place, it was our honey moon Holiday, and we had a nice bottle of Champagne in our fantastic room!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Villa Serena is something out of a time-warp -- what I imagine top-flight Caribbean hotels were like in the Caribbean 30 years ago. This does not mean that the VS is at all run-down; the grounds are meticulously maintained, everything is pristine, and the overall experience is delightful. Most rooms have a view of the sea and are very spacious. There is a pool, and access to the sea (to call the few steps that lead to a patch of sand a beach would be stretching the truth), bicycles, kayaks, and pleasant grounds. The breakfasts include fresh fruit, juice, stale bread, and omelets/eggs. Dinner was quite pedestrian -- the kitchen definitely needs some livening up. The hotel is a five minute walk from downtown (such as it is!) Las Galeras and within walking distance to several beaches. The hotel is also very reasonably priced. Overall impression: if you want an ultra-modern resort with cable TV, AC in every room, gourmet restaurants, a large sandy beach on the premises, an air-conditioned lobby and tons of gift shops and organized activities, VS is not for you. If you want a pleasant, gracious stay in a Caribbean time warp for a bargain price, in a spot not yet flooded with tourists, this is the place for you! Final observation: the employees are uniformly polite and helpful; the owners/administration less so.

Room Tip: There is a $10 price differential between AC and non-AC rooms; despite the ocean breezes, it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My BF and I stayed at Villa Serena for three days in May 2013 as part of a 10 Day trip in DR. We had originally planned to stay two but as soon as we arrived and looked out to the ocean, we knew that two nights would not be enough. When we arrived the front desk staff was welcoming in a quiet manner. May is low season and there was only one other guest at the hotel when we arrived so everything was very low key. The staff did seem to warm up and became a little friendlier each day. I think by American standards, they just seemed a little shy, especially the housekeepers and wait staff in the restaurant. I think some of them were not very confident in their English skills. We also tried our best in Spanish.

Our first night we had a delicious dinner at the restaurant. I remember my BF enjoying a Caribbean shrimp dish. The menu is fairly limited and a little pricey for DR, but American wines are cheap. We enjoyed omelets every day for breakfast and the delicious fresh juices

The grounds and gardens are absolutely breathtaking. Everyday the housekeepers would put fresh flowers in our room. Our room was on the second floor with a lovely queen size bed and a balcony with an amazing view of the grounds and the ocean. The room was very clean as well. We also enjoyed the pool everyday as the sun was setting. It was very refreshing after the beach.

To complain about the beach at Villa Serena is ridiculous because there are so many incredible beaches nearby. To make the most of a trip to Las Galeras, everyone needs to take a boat out to Playa Ricon, which is an amazing and pristine beach. It is a short boat trip which the front desk can arrange for you. We checked and the price was about the same if a boat captain picks you up at the hotel or you get a boat at the main beach in town. There are also great little restaurants run by locals who will cook you freshly caught fish for a great beach lunch. Take a boat, not an ATV so you can see the amazing cliffs and shoreline. We didn't visit Fronton on this trip (we will next time), but we heard that it is an even more spectacular and remote beach. Also Playita is a wonderful little beach which is just a short walk from Villa Serena.

Overall, we can't wait to go back and we would definitely stay at Villa Serena again. As it was low season many of the area restaurants were closed, but we did find some really memorable places. Make sure you check out El Cabito for cocktails and dinner at sunset. The views of the ocean and the cliffs are stunning. We also had an incredible lunch of freshly caught shrimp with a lovely fresh mushroom sauce at Yoni and Yes Papa! Yoni the chef is very talented. He made the best frites that I have ever had. Michele the proprietor is quite a character. We had a lively conversation in English, Spanish and French about Michele's former occupation as a stuntman. He will break out his scrapbook. The gelato at Plaza Lusitania is also a real treat. Get chocolate and coconut.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the second floor. The corner rooms with hammocks also looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Serena Hotel

Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Serena Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Serena Hotel Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.