We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transport Yourself to a More Ideal Time and Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Serena Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Serena Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Serena Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Las Galeras, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Las Galeras
sf/dc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Transport Yourself to a More Ideal Time and Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Absolutely the most stunning hotel I have ever stayed in: the endless ocean view, the generous and thoughtfully decorated rooms, the expansive private decks with hammocks or loungers, the beautifully cultivated garden, the vaulted European architecture of the main "lobby" spilling out onto the terra cotta patio. Every artistic, refined detail of VS is a testament to the care taken by the management here.

Service was excellent with crisp white towels and linens generously replenished, fresh-cut flowers adorning every surface, delicious food and drink readily available. The hotel was absolutely sparkling-CLEAN and well-maintained. I'll concede that the staff is not overly "friendly" (but always pleasant!) but I'm not sure that should really bother anyone, assuming you bring your own friends/ family on vacation with you.

Other thoughts:

-Men: if you need to light (or reignite) the spark of romance, this is the place to do it!! Your woman will absolutely swoon when she sees/ experiences this place.

-We actually preferred the lawn to the beach. The ocean is totally swimmable right in front of VS -- just down a couple stairs. You don't have to worry about getting sand in every crack and crevice and it's almost completely private. Besides, big white-sand beaches are a short walk/ boat ride away if you want to change it up.

-This is an EXCELLENT value for the money -- this place would easily cost $400-500/ night in Europe or US.

-The location is excellent. 5 minute walk into "downtown" Cabarete and yet totally remote and serene. 10 minute walk to Playita beach.

-Lastly, if you want a party scene with loud music and crazy-fun or the latest big-screen TV with a million channels or a high-tech hot tub with jets, this place is definitely NOT for you. Stay away. If you loved "A Room with a View" then you will love this place!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure you can really go wrong, but we had Room #1 and loved it. Huge deck with hammock a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    18
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Villas Serena has wonderful architecture and landscape gardening. The whole setting is so nice sometimes you would want to stay and relax, looking at the sea and the hummingbirds flying around the flowers there, and not bother go to all the wonderful beaches around. Of course you should because there are many really exceptional to which you can go usually better by boat. The food in the beautiful dining room is good and the management and staff very professional and willing to help in everyway possible. I have been thre more than once and will do so again.

Room Tip: The rooms with a terrace at the ground floor I prefer, so as to sit and watch the garden and sea fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed four night in Villa Serena with our two daughters and shared two connecting rooms. The rooms were very large with decent, although not luxurious bathrooms and big balconies. The beach is not swimmable, but it's fun to play in the waves as well as jump off the dock. The breakfast is limited and pretty small and the restaurant staff does not speak any English. The reception staff is very friendly and willing to accommodate all your needs. I wish the internet was actually working in the rooms. There was almost no connectivity except right in front of the main desk. Nice grassy area with beach loungers and small, but very clean pool. We had a great stay and would love to be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent the first week of our honeymoon there and loved it! We had room 17 and highly recommend that suite in particular. The hotel was quiet, very well taken care of, a nice tranquil getaway. The service was EXCELLENT and breakfast was great every morning. It was a great value at only $150 USD per night during peak season and compared to other beachfront hotels, it was great. You feel removed from the rest of the world here and get an excellent vacation.
A word of advice: brush up on your Spanish if you're rusty; it is super helpful, and don't take out the kayak at low tide. There is a lot of sharp rock/coral on the back of the island off the beach and we got caught up in it. Not a bad reflection on the property, just be wise :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A marvellous place to stay, really nice rooms, fantastic views, immaculate gardens and a nice pool! Really good breakfast as well (great service!), but at USD 140 PLUS tax per night, it is also the most expensive place in Las Galeras, by a long stretch...so, in terms of value for money, you are likely to find a somewhat better deal elsewhere. But the place itself is great, and very, very romantic -- a picture-perfect honeymoon place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just got back from Villa Serena. It's in a quaint town of Las Galeras, Samana. From the moment we step into the hotel, overlooking a beautiful island, we felt the tranquaility they offered. The staff, our beautiful room and furnishings were unsurpassed. The restaraunt served an amazing breakfast and our waitress was very attentive. Highly recommend Villa Serena!

Room Tip: We were in the President Suite. I asked Fernandez or Obama?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

For this trip I was looking for a peaceful getaway, somewhere to sit with my husband and gaze at the ocean, do some yoga, swim and slow down. Villa Serena turned out to be the perfect location for this. We really appreciated the free kayak, bicycle and snorkel gear available. There is a small beach and a little island that you can kayak to. The pool and grounds are lovely. I enjoyed the high ceilings in our spotless room, the refrigerator stocked with bottled water, and the balcony with rocking chairs. The leisurely breakfasts looking at the view were a highlight, too. The staff was friendly, helpful, and not intrusive. It was so relaxing that we didn't want to leave for a day and go to Playa Rincon - we just took the short walk to La Playita.

We jogged down through the big resort on the other side of the town and I was so glad that we were not crammed in there. We usually walked into town for dinner and had great seafood at the Comedor Rossy (tables with a tarp over them).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Serena Hotel

Address: Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Las Galeras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Serena Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Villa Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Serena Hotel Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Serena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.