We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way off the grid!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cabito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cabito
Save Saved
You added El Cabito to your Saves list
La Caleta, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Way off the grid!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Long dirt road to get there sets the tone right away. The locals said don't try to walk it, but it's not that bad to walk there from town. Although, El Cabito has no beach we did lots of hikes on mysterious jungle paths to secluded beaches that appeared to be from a pirate movie. Beautiful views across the open ocean from the bar/restaurant deck far above the waves crashing into the rocks. I would recommend making reservations if you want a table. We saw plenty of unprepared people turned away because it's a small place.
After 4 days we walked back to town where we saw a wonderful contrast in the experience that the other tourists in the Las Galeras area were having in their all inclusive resort stay.
A few photos here: http://www.fretwater.net/2012/03/dr.html

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenaa, Arhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

El Cabito is a must if you visit Las Galeras, the view and atmosphere are extraordinarily and the food is also good, big portions and well done. All in all a nice experience. You must have a car / taxi for going there as it is quit far from the town and they charge 150 RD per person going there and back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

El Cabito was one of the highlights of an altogether amazing trip. No need to be wordy: the food was delicious, the drinks were delightful, strong and cheap, the view was unbelievable and the owners were a pleasure to speak with. Give yourself at least a few hours here: eat, drink, play some checkers and take in the amazing surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Manitoba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Where to start?? El Cabito is a phenomenal unplugged getaway. The setting is pristine and stunning. The accomodations are made to complement the environment, not to shelter you from it. If you want max pampering and creature comforts, this is not your kind of place. There's no TV, no A/C but the breeze off the ocean keeps you cool - which all make for a very relaxing stay. My wife and I would start off our day by heading to the Restaurant that is right on the cliff, we would read our books there for a few hours and had breakfast when we were ready. They have a hamock there also if you really want to relax and listen to the ocean hit the cliff side. The one morning we even saw whales in the distance.

The staff vibe is "laid back professional". Helpful, courteous, and friendly, they deliver top-notch service with a genuine smile. From the check in, to the bar and restaurant, I could not offer a single point of improvement. This is the Dominican where you get away to relax and not rush. If you have to wait a few extra minutes for something big deal you could be back at home working, enjoy the moment and the the views from El Cabito.

Excellent food, all made from scratch. The breakfast is to die for and dinner menu is very reasonable and tasty. Be sure to call ahead and reserve if you want to stay for supper as they can get very busy. They also have a great variety of drinks to choose from and are all made in a blender, not a frozen drink machine.

We stayed in the Cabana, it is very comfortable and has a upper deck you can sit on and see the ocean. The bed was comfortable and the place was clean. Again this is not a five star but for the price and views you cant go wrong. This is a place to stay if you want to get away from everything and recharge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went there for a romantic dinner and to watch sunrise. We were so bored from the all inclusive resort and this was just amazing experience! Location of this restaurant is very special - on a cliff above the ocean! The atmosphere is really breath taking, I loved the views, music, restaurant owners, everything! The food is a bit expensive but is worth it. I had very a fresh prawns with coco sauce and a lot of tasty pina coladas and red wine. Do not expect fancy gastronomy but just fresh, tasty and normal cousine. I would love to come back one day, it is the most romantic place I have ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

El Cabito is a little piece of heaven right here on earth! The location is idyllic, perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The views are simply breathtaking! We even saw humpback whales playing while we were there. We came for a sunset dinner and it was truly magnificent. The food was fresh and delicious and the service was accommodating and very friendly. John, the owner and Lela, the manager were especially lovely. We spent 2 nights in the hammocks which were, surprisingly comfortable and very affordable. Our 5 year old daughter had a blast! It's a little far from town without a car but if you're not traveling with children, it's totally doable. We hiked to Playa Madama, which is a stunning beach nearby but a tough hike with a little one. My husband ended up carrying my daughter a good deal of the way. (Bring food and water, there are no provisions at the beach.) We had a fantastic time and I HIGHLY recommend El Cabito both for dinner and as a place to stay.

Room Tip: The hammocks are cheap and cheerful and SUPRISINGLY comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just returned from a week in the DR, and landed at El Cabito twice... it was a highlight.
Food was amazing, but the atmosphere is what really made it become one of our favorite spots. We didn't stay here, but after hiking all day, we landed here for some cold beer, and made reservations for dinner for the following night. There are only a few tables, so it's low key.
Can't wait to go again...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cabito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cabito

Address: La Caleta, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Las Galeras
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation, Camping and Restaurant ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cabito Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cabito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.