We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ROMANTIC PARADISE - I want to be proposed there:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cabito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Galeras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Cabito
Save Saved
You added El Cabito to your Saves list
La Caleta, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
prague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“ROMANTIC PARADISE - I want to be proposed there:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went there for a romantic dinner and to watch sunrise. We were so bored from the all inclusive resort and this was just amazing experience! Location of this restaurant is very special - on a cliff above the ocean! The atmosphere is really breath taking, I loved the views, music, restaurant owners, everything! The food is a bit expensive but is worth it. I had very a fresh prawns with coco sauce and a lot of tasty pina coladas and red wine. Do not expect fancy gastronomy but just fresh, tasty and normal cousine. I would love to come back one day, it is the most romantic place I have ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

El Cabito is a little piece of heaven right here on earth! The location is idyllic, perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The views are simply breathtaking! We even saw humpback whales playing while we were there. We came for a sunset dinner and it was truly magnificent. The food was fresh and delicious and the service was accommodating and very friendly. John, the owner and Lela, the manager were especially lovely. We spent 2 nights in the hammocks which were, surprisingly comfortable and very affordable. Our 5 year old daughter had a blast! It's a little far from town without a car but if you're not traveling with children, it's totally doable. We hiked to Playa Madama, which is a stunning beach nearby but a tough hike with a little one. My husband ended up carrying my daughter a good deal of the way. (Bring food and water, there are no provisions at the beach.) We had a fantastic time and I HIGHLY recommend El Cabito both for dinner and as a place to stay.

Room Tip: The hammocks are cheap and cheerful and SUPRISINGLY comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Just returned from a week in the DR, and landed at El Cabito twice... it was a highlight.
Food was amazing, but the atmosphere is what really made it become one of our favorite spots. We didn't stay here, but after hiking all day, we landed here for some cold beer, and made reservations for dinner for the following night. There are only a few tables, so it's low key.
Can't wait to go again...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margreid
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a really nice place, beautiful location, great food, and very gentle and cool owners. The center of Las Galeras is a 35/40 minutes walk (a nice walk) away. The view is spectacular from the restaurant. I've stayed in the cabana. It's a really nice place to stay there, open, without windows in the upper floor, it's nice to sit there and chill. El cabito is neer the jungle, so frogs and spiders can very possibly pass a night in the cabana, but there is nothing you should be afraid of. In the night you are proceted also by a moskito net.

El cabito gets its energy from a generator. If you are tired and want to go sleeping early, maybe the generator can disturb you, because it's neer the cabanas. But i slept anyway, even with the generator on. When all clients are at bed, and no energy is needed, the generator is turned off. So, if you want to go downstairs to the toilet at night, better you take a torch with you in the bed, so you can make your own light and see where you go. Because of this i took away a star. But in fact i felt here a five star nature and human experience, and the generator noise at night is surely better than the noise of the discos in town, wich you cannot switch off!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We didn't stay here, but came out for dinner. I have to say the atmosphere, drinks, food. location and service were all amazing. I would highly recommend coming here to eat. John was super friendly and directed us to a short cut that saved us a long walk in the dark up a big hill.

Room Tip: This isn't a room tip, but if you are coming for dinner make sure you arrive just before sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Went here earlier this year. The Catrin was friendly when I arrived and made sure the taxi didn't rip me off. They charged me next to nothing to sleep in a hammock in one of the straw huts. I slept like a baby surrounded by the sounds of crashing waves. Breakfast the next morning was delicious and they were happy to oblige to my dietary restrictions. The bathroom is a bit of a walk from the room though. Had a great time, there is a beautiful beach within walking distance and even walking to town didn't take that long. Can't wait to go back. I was told that if I wanted I could bring my tent and stay for even less. Definitely a place to go if you're travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

El Cabito has a beautiful location, at the very end of the Samana peninsula. Most people are drawn to the restaurant, which is situated right on top of a cliff. In theory you can (in season) see humpback whales breeding out in the bay, but we didn't; mind you, we went on a full-on whale-watching expedition on the open sea, and only saw one, so we're clearly unlucky in that department.

The two 'cabanas' that they rent out, with their palm leaf-topped roofs, are romantic and remarkably cheap. Netting keeps out the mosquitos, so the whole upper floor is open to the sea breeze. There's also a small balcony where you can sit out and dry your clothes. Basically, the cabanas are perfect if you like the 'rustic' life. But if you're the type of traveller who likes your creature comforts, a word of warning: the bathroom is really basic (a cold shower and a concrete floor), and you should not expect new towels and sheets every day. This is a place to call your own for a few days, not a luxury resort.

The hosts, John and Catrin, are great - helpful with any request, flexible, but also unobtrusive and expectant that to some extent you will look after yourselves as independent travellers. The bar and restaurant staff are also excellent, particularly Emilio the chef (who does a mean breakfast). There are even a couple of friendly dogs into the bargain.

El Cabito is about 20 minutes' walk from a small local beach, and 45 minutes from the nearest town, Las Galeras. The area is fantastic for people who want the romantic side of the Dominican Republic - i.e. beaches, clear blue sea and fantastic seafood - without the all-inclusive resort type service (although there is one such resort on the way to the town).

Two final tips: firstly, if it's too dark to walk back and you need to take a motoconcho (motorbike taxi), make sure you ask how much it will cost first (rates vary from 100 to 500 pesos!) and also whether they definitely know where El Cabito is. Secondly, if you want to stick to local beaches, walk the 20 extra minutes from Las Galeras to Playita (look out for the sign pointing down a dirt track, opposite the main back in the town). It's a stunning beach with a good restaurant and friendly locals; better than Playa Rincon, which might be beautiful but is significantly more commercial.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Cabito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cabito

Address: La Caleta, Las Galeras, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Galeras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty lodging in Las Galeras
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accomodation, Camping and Restaurant ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Cabito Samana, Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cabito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.