We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value I Guess but Serious Fawlty Towers Issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Maya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cascina
london UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Value I Guess but Serious Fawlty Towers Issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

We had to scramble after getting kicked out of somewhere else. Expedia found this place on 4 hours' notice. US$113 for two twin beds; hard to complain.
I'd have been angry if I'd planned a long-distance trip for multiple nights or paid more! Our room reeked of vinegar - a cleaning solution i last remember from a Saskatchewan nursing home in 1988. tv tiny and mounted high on the wall, fuzzy and basically impossible to see. Very interesting property with huge garden and high ceilings in the main old villa.. underused potential. Generally the place feels like it's being run on the cheap. Maybe the surrounding area is so unpicturesque that they can't charge more...

Breakfast was amongst the most ghetto i've experienced in italy, with nasty processed ham and cheese slices worthy of a Seven Eleven. Dont let the free breakfast influence your decision to stay there. Hard to find, on an obscure back road outside the humdrum industrial town of Cascina. The restaurant was closed in the Villa Maya and they specifically recommended something called L'Apostoleta in Cascina and made us a booking. The utter lack of enthusiasm or commitment in the desk woman's voice should have tipped us off but we were too Canadian not to honour the reservation. The restaurant was empty and forced us into a smelly plastic canopy.

Most memorable thing was in the hotel's guest book a child wrote in big shaky letters `THE BEDS WERE VERY NICE BUT YOUR CATS NEED FEEDING.' It was true and they were starving and wandering the place! Creepy. other reviewers have also mentioned all the DONT DO THIS. Dont do that. This is closed. There will be a fine if you show up late.. etc etc.. Hostile attitude in some ways!

From the pics on here, looks like some of the other rooms are a lot nicer than ours and probably more expensive too.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
29
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Great Hotel very quiet, beautiful gardens.

You need a car as its in the back of beyond but there are quite a few restaurants nearby - had a great meal at 'the art gallery'.

We stayed only one night as we had an early flight from Pisa and it was only 15 mins by car away.

  • Liked — Peaceful location
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

I booked this hotel for its proximity to Pisa Airport as the following morning I had a 6AM departure. It worked out well. The hotel is charming and the staff very pleasant. The room was well appointed and warm. On the down side, it's a little off the beaten track, therefore not very easy to find, especially with fog, there is no elevator and the reception is closed during the night. Nevertheless I would recommend this hotel except to those who have problems and require an elevator

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

This hidden gem(difficult to find,too) is between Pisa and Florence. The staff was very helpful in assisting two gringo's on their first trip to N. Italy. The Villa is beautiful and the rooms very private and nicely decorated. The gardens and breakfast buildings were lovely.

A great way to be introduced to other vacationers from all parts of Europe. I think we were the only US.

  • Liked — Quiet and private
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a map from Yahoo or Google before you arrive in Italy
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

We arrived at the Villa Maya late one night in November - our first time in Italy and had found driving from the Airport a challenge!! Hard enough to find on a dark foggy night, so we were really glad when we got there..no food anywhere to be found, however we did manage to order a bottle of wine which we drank in our room and thoroughly enjoyed!!
We felt the breakfast wasn't up to much, but the rooms and surroundings made up for it - we thought it was good value for money, but then coming from Ireland most places things seem like a bargain!

J & D

  • Liked — old style, charm. lovel surroundings, quiet location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — travel during daylight hours
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

What does this hotel have in its favour.. well, the rooms are simple but OKAY, it has a nice garden, and it's close to Pisa airport.

I booked it because I had read some reasonable reviews, and indeed there were positive reviews in the visitors book, however,

The service was non-existent. (Neither good, nor bad, just not there!) At breakfast we were shown to our table where everything was do-it-yourself (including one of those automatic drinks dispensers that dispenses everything from coffee, teak, hot milk, hot chocolate etc) .. in Italy.. the home of good coffee?

Upon arrival we were handed the remote controls to the TVs (who steals a remote from a hotel these days?) and read the clauses ( to avoid nasty suprises, we remind you that eating in the common areas is forbidden, .. you are asked to cehck out by 11::00, failure to do so will incurr a penalty of 10 euros per half hour... etc) This is real, not an exageration!

A huge dissapointment, and not cheap either given the hotel we had just left in Venice. I felt more like the place was a youth hostel than a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

You can tell I never was a boy scout, could not find this place in the fog! Basically in the middle of nowhere, rooms very dark, moved from one room in what seemed to be a converted stable the the main block, not much better. No restaurant, The nearest place to eat is @ 25 mins away! Breakfast really no good, tried it only once on our three night stay. The coffee is like dish water. Bread like rubber !

One of the most depressing hotels I have ever stayed in.

Don't do it Chuck!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.