We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal inN. Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Maya to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Deal inN. Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

This hidden gem(difficult to find,too) is between Pisa and Florence. The staff was very helpful in assisting two gringo's on their first trip to N. Italy. The Villa is beautiful and the rooms very private and nicely decorated. The gardens and breakfast buildings were lovely.

A great way to be introduced to other vacationers from all parts of Europe. I think we were the only US.

  • Liked — Quiet and private
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a map from Yahoo or Google before you arrive in Italy
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
30
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

We arrived at the Villa Maya late one night in November - our first time in Italy and had found driving from the Airport a challenge!! Hard enough to find on a dark foggy night, so we were really glad when we got there..no food anywhere to be found, however we did manage to order a bottle of wine which we drank in our room and thoroughly enjoyed!!
We felt the breakfast wasn't up to much, but the rooms and surroundings made up for it - we thought it was good value for money, but then coming from Ireland most places things seem like a bargain!

J & D

  • Liked — old style, charm. lovel surroundings, quiet location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — travel during daylight hours
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

What does this hotel have in its favour.. well, the rooms are simple but OKAY, it has a nice garden, and it's close to Pisa airport.

I booked it because I had read some reasonable reviews, and indeed there were positive reviews in the visitors book, however,

The service was non-existent. (Neither good, nor bad, just not there!) At breakfast we were shown to our table where everything was do-it-yourself (including one of those automatic drinks dispensers that dispenses everything from coffee, teak, hot milk, hot chocolate etc) .. in Italy.. the home of good coffee?

Upon arrival we were handed the remote controls to the TVs (who steals a remote from a hotel these days?) and read the clauses ( to avoid nasty suprises, we remind you that eating in the common areas is forbidden, .. you are asked to cehck out by 11::00, failure to do so will incurr a penalty of 10 euros per half hour... etc) This is real, not an exageration!

A huge dissapointment, and not cheap either given the hotel we had just left in Venice. I felt more like the place was a youth hostel than a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

You can tell I never was a boy scout, could not find this place in the fog! Basically in the middle of nowhere, rooms very dark, moved from one room in what seemed to be a converted stable the the main block, not much better. No restaurant, The nearest place to eat is @ 25 mins away! Breakfast really no good, tried it only once on our three night stay. The coffee is like dish water. Bread like rubber !

One of the most depressing hotels I have ever stayed in.

Don't do it Chuck!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

Our stay at Hotel Villa Maya was a last minute
decision and we picked it because it was close to the
airport. The rooms on our floor were very strange;
the ceilings were very high and above the door and
bathroom there was a clear sheet of glass separating
our room from the hallway. Initially, this seemed like
an oddity. However in the middle of the night - it
became a huge pain. The hallway light was on motion
detection. Anytime another guest went through the
hall, we had bright light streaming into our room. In
the middle of the night there was much rowdiness in
the hall which we could hear everything (probably
because of the glass again).
The breakfast setting was cafeteria style. We were
asssigned seats, even though not everyone was there
at the same time. The breads were stale. A cat
wandered into the breakfast hall, which started up my allergies.

Overall, the grounds were beautiful and location
quite accessible to the airport and Pisa city
central, but the hotel did not meet our other needs.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U K
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

The instructions to get to the hotel are clear but the map is not accurate.Very difficult to find in the dark unless arriving from the pisa florence dual carriageway.No restaurant facilities mid October.No cafes or restaurants within walking distance. Recommended restaurant 10 miles away on an unpleasant badly lit road with occasional heavy lorries.In the opposite direction is Cascina blighted with heavy traffic & urban sprawl.Finding somewhere to eat in the dark was a nightmare.That said:
1.The hotel is charming...a log fire greeted us.Peacefully situated in open countryside.
2.Convenient for Pisa airport 20 mins during busy morning traffic.
3.Very comfortable rooms & spotlessly clean.Warm central heating on a chilly autumn evening.
4.Gardens were very attractive.
5.If only the restaurant had been open............

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley AZ
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2005

This is a fully restored Farm & Villa. Family Run Hotel, 15 minute drive from Pisa & Leaning Tower. You must rent a car or taxi will be expensive going in and out. VERY easy to find, 5 minutes from main HWY. Great place to use if staying a few days to see LUCCA (20 mins), PISA, CHIANTI vineyards (1.5 hrs dive), Florence (1 hr), San Giamano, (1.5 hr), ect. Breakfast was very nice, in their breakfast hall, rooms were clean and cozy, new bathrooms, lovely well manicured lawns, gardens & grounds. We loved having wine & snacks every night on our balcony!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.