We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fee payer rather than guest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Maya to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fee payer rather than guest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

What we liked:
Location - wonderfully quiet
Bathroom - very clean
Bed - comfortable
Complimentary guide to Pisa

What we didn't like:
Room was well furnished but very dark and the lighting was extremely poor, but most of all we disliked the written warnings to prevent bad behaviour of 'guests'. It starts in your room, where you are informed in the leaflet that if you overstay your welcome in the breakfast room you get fined the cost of another breakfast on your bill. Then when you get to the breakfast room there's a notice on the drinks counter that you are allowed ONE coffee/tea only. We don't usually have more than one anyway but how much would it cost them to give a guest the occasional extra? Also that you are not allowed to take food away - not much of a temptation because it's not a brilliant breakfast anyway, but that's par for the course in Italy. The Italians aren't great at breakfasts, but the two other hotels we stayed at in Tuscany were much better at breakfast than this one.

Then on the wall in the breakfast room there's another notice telling guests "to avoid any nasty misunderstanding" (!) that they are not allowed to eat food brought in from outside (there's no restaurant) anywhere except their rooms, that they can hire a corkscrew but if they break it they will have to pay for it.

The girl who served breakfast was delightfully friendly but this didn't make up for the bad atmosphere created by the notices.

All in all what comes across loud and clear is that you as the guest are there on sufferance to pay them money. They expect guests to behave badly and are not concerned about whether they have a nice relaxing stay, but rather that they pay up and leave without wrecking the place.

Perhaps they've had bad experiences in the past but that's no excuse for expecting the worst of future guests. If there was somewhere on the hotel website to leave comments I would have done that before 'going public' on Tripadvisor, but there isn't. Perhaps they're not interested in what we think anyway!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
29
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We booked this hotel because we needed to make an early getaway to Pisa Airport on the following morning and for that purpose it was fine. Based on our experience, though, I would not recommend a longer stay. I cannot comment on the breakfast as it was not available at the time we had to leave. The room was clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. There seemed to be just one member of staff who acted as receptionist and who would also get you a drink on request. Maybe it was slightly out of season when we went, but it did not really feel like a hotel somehow - just somewhere to sleep. That said, I would select it again in preference to a soulless chain hotel nearer the airport. The journey to the airport took 10-15 minutes.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Did not feel very welcoming
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

We landed in Pisa at 8.00pm and it was already dark! However with the help of google maps it was very easy to reach the Hotel!
The Staff was very helpful and being that we were hungry we ordered a bottle of wine, a cheese platter and meat platter !! it was great ! We stayed at the hotel for five nights ! the room was nicly furnshed and the bed sheets were changes every 2 days ! It was also equipped with an aircondition/central heating. Breakfast was great too! the Italian Style ! We also asked the reception to suggest us some places to eat in Cascina! we found a really great pizzeria ! in the town centre ! Nonno Umberto ( on mondays it is colosed) the was also a small restaurant ! we had a really good 'Bistecca Fiorentia' Bocca del Bocco is also a great restaurant ! If you intend to go relaxing it's the ideal locations! Latigniano is a small village and you will hear the village church's bell form the hotel! is amazing ! Well done to all at the Hotel !

  • Liked — It was very quite in the open air
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

We had to scramble after getting kicked out of somewhere else. Expedia found this place on 4 hours' notice. US$113 for two twin beds; hard to complain.
I'd have been angry if I'd planned a long-distance trip for multiple nights or paid more! Our room reeked of vinegar - a cleaning solution i last remember from a Saskatchewan nursing home in 1988. tv tiny and mounted high on the wall, fuzzy and basically impossible to see. Very interesting property with huge garden and high ceilings in the main old villa.. underused potential. Generally the place feels like it's being run on the cheap. Maybe the surrounding area is so unpicturesque that they can't charge more...

Breakfast was amongst the most ghetto i've experienced in italy, with nasty processed ham and cheese slices worthy of a Seven Eleven. Dont let the free breakfast influence your decision to stay there. Hard to find, on an obscure back road outside the humdrum industrial town of Cascina. The restaurant was closed in the Villa Maya and they specifically recommended something called L'Apostoleta in Cascina and made us a booking. The utter lack of enthusiasm or commitment in the desk woman's voice should have tipped us off but we were too Canadian not to honour the reservation. The restaurant was empty and forced us into a smelly plastic canopy.

Most memorable thing was in the hotel's guest book a child wrote in big shaky letters `THE BEDS WERE VERY NICE BUT YOUR CATS NEED FEEDING.' It was true and they were starving and wandering the place! Creepy. other reviewers have also mentioned all the DONT DO THIS. Dont do that. This is closed. There will be a fine if you show up late.. etc etc.. Hostile attitude in some ways!

From the pics on here, looks like some of the other rooms are a lot nicer than ours and probably more expensive too.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Great Hotel very quiet, beautiful gardens.

You need a car as its in the back of beyond but there are quite a few restaurants nearby - had a great meal at 'the art gallery'.

We stayed only one night as we had an early flight from Pisa and it was only 15 mins by car away.

  • Liked — Peaceful location
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

I booked this hotel for its proximity to Pisa Airport as the following morning I had a 6AM departure. It worked out well. The hotel is charming and the staff very pleasant. The room was well appointed and warm. On the down side, it's a little off the beaten track, therefore not very easy to find, especially with fog, there is no elevator and the reception is closed during the night. Nevertheless I would recommend this hotel except to those who have problems and require an elevator

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

This hidden gem(difficult to find,too) is between Pisa and Florence. The staff was very helpful in assisting two gringo's on their first trip to N. Italy. The Villa is beautiful and the rooms very private and nicely decorated. The gardens and breakfast buildings were lovely.

A great way to be introduced to other vacationers from all parts of Europe. I think we were the only US.

  • Liked — Quiet and private
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a map from Yahoo or Google before you arrive in Italy
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.