We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless desperate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Maya to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Wales
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Avoid unless desperate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We only chose this hotel because of its location and proximity to Pisa airport. We found it no problem with the help of sat nav and thats about as good as it gets unfortunately. We were met by a pleasant member of staff who spoke good English. As it was a lovely day we thought we would have a bottle of wine outside in the garden. We were shown to a slightly neglected seating area which had various fallen leaves and tree debris covering them. We moved to a slightly better table and chairs. We asked for a bottle of the house wine, hoping it would be a Chianti as all other house wines we had tried during our holiday had been first class. We were brought a bottle of 'own label' rosso. It was quite awful. The worst wine we had tried in our time in Tuscany. We forced ourselves to drink half of it.
The villa itself is in an agricultural area about 30 minutes from Pisa and been renovated fairly recently by the look of it. They clearly cater for a lot of weddings as the garden areas were scattered with white plastic furniture - maybe this is the trend in Italy?
Our room was situated on the ground floor of the main building right next to reception. The room itself was a good size, bed comfortable enough. Furnished in a period style, we were cautious of using the bed side tables as these could so easily have been knocked over causing a glass shattering catastrophe. There was free wifi in the hotel but regrettably we had to stand/ sit in reception to get a signal despite hotel literature indicating that wifi was available in rooms in the main building. No English language tv channels either.
In terms of the bathroom - it really needs to be renovated and brought up to date. One broken wrought iron style shelf unit which proved to be practically unusable and no hooks, even behind the door. Toilet seat had a crack in it and the shower base had black 'stuff' in the corners. Not very inviting. Towels were a selection of napkins and tablecloths.
At about 630am we were woken by what sounded like gun fire in the distance. Not sure what this was about but we were keen to make a sharp exit.
Finally, breakfast. Was served from 730am every morning. Nobody told us that it was served in a separate building outside. First time I have ever needed to wear a coat to have breakfast. There were 2 members of staff attending this - they were more interested in talking amoungst themselves that serving coffee. There wasn't so much as any table service even for the coffee - you had to go to a bar and they handed it to you. Smallest coffee which was whisked away as soon as we had finished it. The breakfast selection was pretty much all out of a packet. Even the cheese was the cheapest nastiest individually wrapped cheese slices that you get in the budget ranges at Tesco. If you want a sugar rush of pre-packaged cakes, this is the place for you. We watched many of the other guests enter the building (all with coats on), take one look at the offering and pretty much walk straight back out. This was also the worst breakfast selection we have experienced in Tuscany, coupled with the lack of service.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirettoreY, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are obliged to answer your review: if you visit Tuscany it is very likely to find fallen Leaves and hear "gun fire" as it is hunting season. The garden is Always very well kept, in fact, as you may remember that day there was our gardener working outside. We don't think that TripAdvisor's useres may find a mocking comment on our design garden pieces usefull, to be honest. Most of our guests like it.
Your comment about the breakfast buffet left us slightly speachless: expecially that mornig we had prepared several homemade cakes for our guests and most of them complimented on the variety of choices offered.
There is no booking website where we state we have satellite television and italian channels don't broadcast any english programme and, furthermore, that day wifi worked very well in all rooms as we had some clients who were here for work and used it in their own rooms.
We must therefore suggest to be more carefull when choosing a hotel or villa for your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    35
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
32
1
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Me and my wife choosed Villa Maya after a long selection of locations. None of these rappresented our style of life, simple but elegant, not show off but wellcoming... Then we met Yuri Diolati its manager and owner. Since the very beginning he was possible to make us happy and satisfy all the needs we intended to fullfill in the planning of our Jewish wedding. He, together with Luca, his chef, and Susy his wedding planner managed to have a team of professionals capable of making a dream come true. Kosher, celiac free, vegetarian all in his wonderfull garden in a very pleasant night of august. We cannot find words to express our gratitude to the staff.
Thanks a lot everybody for us it will be for sure unforgettable.

Room Tip: just ask for it and Yuri will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirettoreY, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Max,
It was a great honour for us to realise your dream wedding!
The whole staff and I would like to thank you for posting such a beautiful review about our work at Villa Maya.
Sending you our best wishes again to you and your beautiful family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hello, my name is Jose and live in Montreal, Canada.

On July 2nd 2014 me and my wife (Eugenia) got married in Tuscany and having our wedding reception at Villa Maya. I must say that it was a pleasure to realize how right we were on choosing them to hold our little party.

First of all I must say that organizing a wedding overseas is a titanic task (my wife took good care of it :-)) and you NEED to work with people that is professional, crafty and responsible; all the Villa Maya staff excelled on these qualifications (special thanks to Sussy and Yury); basically Sussy organized the event serving as wedding planner for the reception (she took care of decoration, pace of the party and making sure that everybody was happy. AMAZING JOB!!!) and Yury altogether with the rest of the staff took care of the financial part, food, the stay on this beautiful villa and all the other contractual issues. I have no words to thank them for making our experience so magical and smooth.

Now speaking of the accommodations, the villa offers a beautiful and quite stay in the middle of the country, surrounded by wheat crops (which look incredibly beautiful) and some vineyards, including a very carefully maintained garden that we use for our party; it gives you a wonderful look of the Tuscany landscapes and it will allow you to have nice and romantic walks or bike rides between the different plantations.

Rooms are comfortable and are decorated in the traditional way, which gives that special touch that you want to find when you visit Tuscany. Do not expect a lot of modernity on them since that is not the idea, but they give you all the basic amenities required to insure an agreeable stay.

Due to its location I have to recommend having a car to get there and/or to visit the different landmarks of the area, since it is fairly close to must of them, but I wont trust public transportation in the area.

The food is STELLAR!!! absolutely delicious, cooked by a very nice and friendly chef (I forgot his name and I'm so sorry for it). Considering that in our party we had a whole mix of religious food restrictions and some people with alimentary allergies, I must admit that the common adjective use for the food was SPECTACULAR, so I guess it speaks by its own.

When it comes to the price, I found it extremely fair and appropriate in all senses without holding anything inside.

I would like to finish by thanking all the Villa Maya staff and recommending (both thumbs up) this place for anyone who wants to have a lovely experience in this wonderful site of the world.

Room Tip: Try to have a car if you are going to stay here, since moving by taxi could be heavy for your pocket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirettoreY, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Jose,
It is lovely to read such a beautiful feedback about your wedding here at Villa Maya!
We are all very happy to know that for you both it has been an unforgettable day and that you will keep with you a pleasant memory!
We hope to see you soon again here in Tuscany!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you're looking for a Hotel Budapest experience, this is the place!
Don't trust the pretty pictures. They're 'shop Extreme. In particular the restaurant... And, if there might be other guests around: They have all the privileges, you have none. Not even the grounds are free to walk about.

Room Tip: The best room is elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirettoreY, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Mr Jurgen,
We are sorry to read your comments. First of all, pictures on Tripadvisor are uploaded both by us and by guests. So they can’t be “extreme” as you define them. Secondly, we remember there was a First Communion lunch on the day you came, that is why there were other guests having lunch outside, but we still don’t understand what privileges you refer to. Anyway, hotel guests, on these occasions, can freely walk in the park. All common areas are accessible, but, of course, there are private rooms (like in all hotels or any other shops), like the one next to the kitchen, which are not accessible to all kind of guests.
We really hope to have you back one day and that you will enjoy your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Villa Maya for 3 beautiful days in May of 2011. It was one of the best vacations we've ever had.
We had a room with balcony - you can paint pictures enjoying the tuscan sunsets.
The room was very spacious and clean. The service is excellent.
The breakfast is typical italian - sweet. Enjoy the pies and the awesome coffee. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirettoreY, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mr Igor,
it was really kind of you to write a review abour our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here,a hotel surrounded by a beautiful garden where to relax in any season. We too hope to have you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I spent two days at Villa Maya with my family and I found it very good. The Villa is located in the quite countryside which offers a relaxing and peaceful environment still remaining 10 minutes drive away from Pisa. The room was nicely furnished and clean. We best appreciated the menu offered by the restaurant, a great combination of excellent cooking, local products and elegant service. A negative point is the lack of a kind of common/activity room to read or spend some time outside the private room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
we are happy to read you enjoyed your stay here in Villa Maya. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated our plates and service.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We picked this place without having any recommendations or knowledge of the area outside of Pisa. We just wanted a B&B for one evening, which marked the start of a week-long trip around Tuscany. We were very happy with the service and the room. The room is very simple and basic, but we have our own bathroom, and everything was clean. It is a quiet area, so we could relax easily. We did a short walk around the grounds and it was lovely and well kept. We enjoyed the included breakfast the following morning, which had an assortment of toast, cheese, meats, tarts/cakes, yogurt, fruit and drinks. The BEST part of the stay was at the end, we were given a bottle of wine from the area. It was a very hospitable gesture, which we appreciated and brought back to London with us. We'd recommend this B&B to anyone who has a car and is staying looking to stay around Pisa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at Hotel Villa Maya and for recommending our hotel. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location and our buffet breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards from Pisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.