We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Budapest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Maya to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
1 review
“Hotel Budapest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you're looking for a Hotel Budapest experience, this is the place!
Don't trust the pretty pictures. They're 'shop Extreme. In particular the restaurant... And, if there might be other guests around: They have all the privileges, you have none. Not even the grounds are free to walk about.

Room Tip: The best room is elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirettoreY, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Mr Jurgen,
We are sorry to read your comments. First of all, pictures on Tripadvisor are uploaded both by us and by guests. So they can’t be “extreme” as you define them. Secondly, we remember there was a First Communion lunch on the day you came, that is why there were other guests having lunch outside, but we still don’t understand what privileges you refer to. Anyway, hotel guests, on these occasions, can freely walk in the park. All common areas are accessible, but, of course, there are private rooms (like in all hotels or any other shops), like the one next to the kitchen, which are not accessible to all kind of guests.
We really hope to have you back one day and that you will enjoy your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
30
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Villa Maya for 3 beautiful days in May of 2011. It was one of the best vacations we've ever had.
We had a room with balcony - you can paint pictures enjoying the tuscan sunsets.
The room was very spacious and clean. The service is excellent.
The breakfast is typical italian - sweet. Enjoy the pies and the awesome coffee. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirettoreY, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mr Igor,
it was really kind of you to write a review abour our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here,a hotel surrounded by a beautiful garden where to relax in any season. We too hope to have you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I spent two days at Villa Maya with my family and I found it very good. The Villa is located in the quite countryside which offers a relaxing and peaceful environment still remaining 10 minutes drive away from Pisa. The room was nicely furnished and clean. We best appreciated the menu offered by the restaurant, a great combination of excellent cooking, local products and elegant service. A negative point is the lack of a kind of common/activity room to read or spend some time outside the private room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
we are happy to read you enjoyed your stay here in Villa Maya. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated our plates and service.
We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We picked this place without having any recommendations or knowledge of the area outside of Pisa. We just wanted a B&B for one evening, which marked the start of a week-long trip around Tuscany. We were very happy with the service and the room. The room is very simple and basic, but we have our own bathroom, and everything was clean. It is a quiet area, so we could relax easily. We did a short walk around the grounds and it was lovely and well kept. We enjoyed the included breakfast the following morning, which had an assortment of toast, cheese, meats, tarts/cakes, yogurt, fruit and drinks. The BEST part of the stay was at the end, we were given a bottle of wine from the area. It was a very hospitable gesture, which we appreciated and brought back to London with us. We'd recommend this B&B to anyone who has a car and is staying looking to stay around Pisa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at Hotel Villa Maya and for recommending our hotel. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location and our buffet breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you soon again.
Best regards from Pisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have visited Hotel Villa Maya for 5days with my wife. It was the best decission ever we have made. It was a beautiful place with friendly english speaker stuff. Only the breakfast was poor and the same 5day long. For dinner choose another place, but if you want to visit the real Toscane this will be your Hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Vivien,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay here in Hotel Villa Maya and that you appreciated the place and the friendliness of the staff. On the contrary, we are really sorry to read you did not like our breakfast as many guests appreciate the home-made cakes and marmelades and fresh fruit. It is a buffet breakfast and we both offer sweet and salted food, like eggs, ham and cheese. We also have a restaurant so next time you will come you will just need to ask and we will be ready to prepare for you anything you would like to have for breakfast even if it is not on the buffet table. As for the restaurant, We cannot understand the reason why you advised other guests to choose some other places; It will be a pleasure if you come to visit us again and have dinner at our nice restaurant so to taste our Traditional Tuscan dishes.
We thank you for your comments and we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heuvelland, België
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Don't expect any luxury or things you don't need when going to Tuscany (swimming pool, sauna, ...), as Tuscany is all about exploring the beautiful region.
What to expect is a young and very friendly couple running this charming hotel like it should. The reception service is great. We had a small problem with the shower and after I reported this in the morning, all worked well when we got back in the evening. We used a small fridge in the car as it might get hot during the day, and the receptionists putted our freeze-elements in the fridge every day with a smile.
Breakfast is at Italian standards : the elementary things and nothing special. But this is Italy.
Almost all staff is very friendly and speaks fluently English, except for a grumpy short haired lady. Maybe it wasn't her week.
Location is perfect to explore nothern Tuscny as Pisa, Luca, Livorno, Firenze, Pistoia, ... are only 15 to 50 minutes away. We also visited Siena, which is only a drive of 1h20 through great landscapes.
Price / quality is perfect.
If we ever go back to Tuscany, we will choose this hotel again.

Henk Debal, Belgium

Room Tip: Seems to me all rooms are ok. And there seems to be 1 room as well for smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dr Mr Debal,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your holiday at Hotel Villa Maya and for your kind comments about our hotel.

As for the lady, it seems strange she looked grumpy to you because, as you can read from old comments, many guests appreciated her nice and polite manners.
As regards breakfast, we think we offer more than standard Italian breakfast as you can find a buffet with homemade cakes, plumcakes, muffins and biscuits; but also salted food. Next time you will come to our hotel, please just ask us and we will be glad to satisfy your needs.
Anyway, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and look forward to having you back here as it .
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Could not have asked for more from this hotel - clean, well appointed, fantastic service, great food and a brilliant location. The building has undergone renovation over the past 10 years, and there is an amazing photo album in the lobby with before and after photographs.

The room was lovely - high ceilings, clean bathroom and air conditioning. There's plenty of parking and a great restaurant. It's a small hotel, but run by a service-orientated team who are passionate about their business, their beautiful building and Tuscany.

I loved it here, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone staying in the area, and looking for good value accommodation outside of Pisa centre. The location is great, far enough from the highway so not to hear the noise, but close enough to make this an excellent location to explore Tuscany from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuri75, Direttore at Hotel Villa Maya, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear guests,
it is so nice to read such beautiful words about us. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at Villa Maya and we hope to have you back one day.
Kind regards
Yuri Diolaiti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.