We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for an over nighter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Maya to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good for an over nighter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We booked this hotel because we needed to make an early getaway to Pisa Airport on the following morning and for that purpose it was fine. Based on our experience, though, I would not recommend a longer stay. I cannot comment on the breakfast as it was not available at the time we had to leave. The room was clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. There seemed to be just one member of staff who acted as receptionist and who would also get you a drink on request. Maybe it was slightly out of season when we went, but it did not really feel like a hotel somehow - just somewhere to sleep. That said, I would select it again in preference to a soulless chain hotel nearer the airport. The journey to the airport took 10-15 minutes.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Did not feel very welcoming
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    11
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
31
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

We landed in Pisa at 8.00pm and it was already dark! However with the help of google maps it was very easy to reach the Hotel!
The Staff was very helpful and being that we were hungry we ordered a bottle of wine, a cheese platter and meat platter !! it was great ! We stayed at the hotel for five nights ! the room was nicly furnshed and the bed sheets were changes every 2 days ! It was also equipped with an aircondition/central heating. Breakfast was great too! the Italian Style ! We also asked the reception to suggest us some places to eat in Cascina! we found a really great pizzeria ! in the town centre ! Nonno Umberto ( on mondays it is colosed) the was also a small restaurant ! we had a really good 'Bistecca Fiorentia' Bocca del Bocco is also a great restaurant ! If you intend to go relaxing it's the ideal locations! Latigniano is a small village and you will hear the village church's bell form the hotel! is amazing ! Well done to all at the Hotel !

  • Liked — It was very quite in the open air
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

We had to scramble after getting kicked out of somewhere else. Expedia found this place on 4 hours' notice. US$113 for two twin beds; hard to complain.
I'd have been angry if I'd planned a long-distance trip for multiple nights or paid more! Our room reeked of vinegar - a cleaning solution i last remember from a Saskatchewan nursing home in 1988. tv tiny and mounted high on the wall, fuzzy and basically impossible to see. Very interesting property with huge garden and high ceilings in the main old villa.. underused potential. Generally the place feels like it's being run on the cheap. Maybe the surrounding area is so unpicturesque that they can't charge more...

Breakfast was amongst the most ghetto i've experienced in italy, with nasty processed ham and cheese slices worthy of a Seven Eleven. Dont let the free breakfast influence your decision to stay there. Hard to find, on an obscure back road outside the humdrum industrial town of Cascina. The restaurant was closed in the Villa Maya and they specifically recommended something called L'Apostoleta in Cascina and made us a booking. The utter lack of enthusiasm or commitment in the desk woman's voice should have tipped us off but we were too Canadian not to honour the reservation. The restaurant was empty and forced us into a smelly plastic canopy.

Most memorable thing was in the hotel's guest book a child wrote in big shaky letters `THE BEDS WERE VERY NICE BUT YOUR CATS NEED FEEDING.' It was true and they were starving and wandering the place! Creepy. other reviewers have also mentioned all the DONT DO THIS. Dont do that. This is closed. There will be a fine if you show up late.. etc etc.. Hostile attitude in some ways!

From the pics on here, looks like some of the other rooms are a lot nicer than ours and probably more expensive too.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

Great Hotel very quiet, beautiful gardens.

You need a car as its in the back of beyond but there are quite a few restaurants nearby - had a great meal at 'the art gallery'.

We stayed only one night as we had an early flight from Pisa and it was only 15 mins by car away.

  • Liked — Peaceful location
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

I booked this hotel for its proximity to Pisa Airport as the following morning I had a 6AM departure. It worked out well. The hotel is charming and the staff very pleasant. The room was well appointed and warm. On the down side, it's a little off the beaten track, therefore not very easy to find, especially with fog, there is no elevator and the reception is closed during the night. Nevertheless I would recommend this hotel except to those who have problems and require an elevator

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

This hidden gem(difficult to find,too) is between Pisa and Florence. The staff was very helpful in assisting two gringo's on their first trip to N. Italy. The Villa is beautiful and the rooms very private and nicely decorated. The gardens and breakfast buildings were lovely.

A great way to be introduced to other vacationers from all parts of Europe. I think we were the only US.

  • Liked — Quiet and private
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a map from Yahoo or Google before you arrive in Italy
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2006

We arrived at the Villa Maya late one night in November - our first time in Italy and had found driving from the Airport a challenge!! Hard enough to find on a dark foggy night, so we were really glad when we got there..no food anywhere to be found, however we did manage to order a bottle of wine which we drank in our room and thoroughly enjoyed!!
We felt the breakfast wasn't up to much, but the rooms and surroundings made up for it - we thought it was good value for money, but then coming from Ireland most places things seem like a bargain!

J & D

  • Liked — old style, charm. lovel surroundings, quiet location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — travel during daylight hours
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maya

Address: Via Piccina, 12 | Latignano, 56021 Cascina, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Cascina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cascina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the lush natural landscape of the Pisan hillsides, encircled by authentically ancient towns and characteristically medieval villages, the 18th-century Villa Maya and its adjacent parkland have been lovingly restored to their original glory. The light, spacious rooms of the Villa feature beautiful period furnishings, vaulted timber-beamed ceilings, rustic cotto floor tiles, decorative murals and hand-crafted ceramics. Your stay at the Villa will be personally overseen by the owners themselves, ensuring a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Hotel Cascina
Hotel Villa Maya Province Of Pisa, Italy - Cascina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.