We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place you want to return to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McKinnon's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherstburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKinnon's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast
389 Lakeside Drive, Amherstburg, Ontario N0R 1G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Amherstburg B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“A Place you want to return to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We found ourselves in another Country for our 48th anniversary. Four hours away from Columbus, Ohio we were greeted by hosts Bill & Louise McKinnon. We've stayed in many B&B's over the decades; this is one we will remember. Their lovely home was inviting and relaxing. The Hawk's Nest room was spacious including hot tub, along with a small baloney overlooking the lake. To see the water and hear the waves from windows, screened porch and our room was relaxing on so many levels ,

We enjoy learning about culture wherever we visit. Our surprise was the wine festival that included jazz, food, wine from over 10 different wineries in the area and lots of wonderful people. Yes, the wines were quite nice. We brought several bottles home. Each day was delightful. Bill & Louise are truly special hosts. They could sit and chat yet know innately when to have us enjoy our privacy in their beautiful setting.

Louise is an awesome cook. Breakfast was often a surprise, after asking us what we liked, with such items as egg in a basket, waffles and their Canadian bacon (much better than ours in the states). Home made zucchini bread was even sent with us as a snack for the trip home. Four days in Amherstburg, Canada created many more memories than we ever imagined!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Hi Louise & Bill

Just a quick note to say thank-you for your wonderful hospitality in your beautiful lakeside home. While our stay was short, we thoroughly enjoyed it! We have stayed in many B&Bs and yours is by far among the nicest! Thanks again - wishing you health and happiness – until our next visit. As we discussed I will share your info with my friends.



Thanks again



Scott

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

The house is large and beautiful with a gorgeous view and features a beautiful screened-in sun-room very close to the water with an expansive and stunning view. We stayed in the Hawks Nest which is a generously sized bedroom with a great view of Lake Erie and your own little balcony. The hosts are wonderful, conversational, genuine, and welcoming and the breakfast is delicious- we had frittata the first day and waffles the next. They served breakfast with fresh fruit and homemade croissants and portions were generous and well-presented. Great location very close to the water. Listening to the waves is extremely relaxing especially during the night. A very relaxing place to have a getaway. Interesting for nature lovers. We were offered a choice of breakfast time and given many knowledgeable recommendations. We were asked several times if we would like a glass of wine or other choices to drink which was so kind. Short drive to downtown Amherstberg. Bed and pillows were quite comfortable. Highly recommended and we hope to stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We had a truly wonderful time here. Louise and Bill's hospitality was so comfortable and genuine that we felt immediately at home. Louise recommended a great place for dinner (The Meadows by the Lake) and also gave us walking directions to a nice beach we had all to ourselves on a warm June evening, followed by drinks and conversation back at the house in the sun room overlooking the lake. The marsh on the other side of the street would have been a great place to watch the sunrise and spot herons, egrets and other shore birds wading in the shallow water among the water lilies, but unfortunately (fortunately??) it was raining and there was nothing to do but stay in bed a little longer and listen to the waves hitting the break-wall and the wonderful sound of a summer thunderstorm. :-) Of course it was easy to get up once we smelled the delicious breakfast cooking and came down to a HUGE meal that was so beautifully presented I'm now kicking myself for not getting a photo of it to post here. We would definitely stay here again if we get the change and would recommend it to anyone looking for a B&B in Ontario!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We recently had the pleasure of staying with Louise and Bill McKinnon of McKinnon's Lakeside B&B in Amherstburg, Ontario. We were there on a reconaissance mission, if you will, to re-settle in Ontario after living in Victoria, BC. We could not have picked a more perfect spot to spend our 2.5 days. Their home is spacious and inviting, the location convenient for visiting neighbouring towns and it is perfectly situated close to downtown Amherstburg, all with stunning views of Lake Erie at our doorstep. Louise and Bill are a wealth of knowledge on the area and the most welcoming of hosts. There was even a glass of wine for us after returning from sighseeing! Our double room with ensuite was clean, comfortable and atttractive, with only the shores of Lake Erie to lull us to sleep. We'd heard the breakfasts were amazing but nothing prepared us for the frittatas, croissants, fresh fruit, waffles and pancakes all prepared freshly by Louise. No order was too much for the lively Louise! We would not hesitate in recommending McKinnon's to anyone looking for a welcoming and delicious stay in Essex County.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

McKinnon's offers lovely accommodations, especially the sun room facing the lake where our breakfasts were served. Louise and Bill really made us feel right at home, almost like visiting relatives or friends. We liked that we got to choose what time we could have breakfast each morning, and the breakfasts were delicious. We stayed in the Lake Erie View Room and enjoyed falling asleep to the sound of the waves on the lake.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Classy & Comfortable is the way we would describe McKinnon's B & B and the owners Louise & Bill. All three bedrooms have views of Lake Erie and are so close to the water that you can hear the waves. Breakfast is served to order in a wonderful sun room 20 feet from the shore.This is a great place to get grounded with nature, read a book and do a little wine tasting. Across the road is Big Creek Marsh- a wetland and wildlife preserve. The McKinnon's have lawn chairs and a small pier there for use in bird watching. We spent a delightful week here and were truly made to feel like members of the family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McKinnon's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinnon's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 389 Lakeside Drive, Amherstburg, Ontario N0R 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Amherstburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Amherstburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on shore of Lake Erie in the heart of the Lake Erie North Shore wine region, next to Holiday Beach and the Hawk Tower. The B&B is just minutes from Sprucewood Shores & Viewepoint Wineries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McKinnon's Lakeside Bed And Breakfast Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinnon's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added McKinnon's Lakeside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list