We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Highland B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Serendipity Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Dalchreichart, Glenmoriston IV63 7YJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Glenmoriston B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Highland B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We needed a good location for exploring Loch Ness and the surrounding areas and happened on Serendipity B&B after reading all the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor. The B&B is really welcoming and so comfortable we felt right at home as soon as we arrived. Our room was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed, especially with the addition of the sitting area under the sky light. The owners, as others have noted, cannot do enough for you and go to whatever lengths to ensure your stay is perfect. The breakfast was lovely and yes, the homemade Jams are fantastic! The B&B is located in fantastic scenery and if you are there for longer plenty of opportunities to explore the area around the B&B itself and the hosts have great ideas for walks in the area. Sadly we were only there for one night but would not hesitate to return and would encourage anyone thinking of stopping in this part of Scotland to stay at Serendipity.

Room Tip: Go for the room with the sitting area - wonderful to look out the sky light at the great scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
263
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in the Serendipity B&B! We only spent one night, next time we will stay longuer!The owners made us feel like in home! The house was very clean and the bedroom big an comfortable! The breakfast was very good specially the home made jam! Best spanish pudding ever tasted :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We cannot recommend this place enough. It's well located for travelling around the Highlands; the rooms are spotlessly clean, cosy and convenient; and the breakfast is first class, with the homemade jams being a highlight.

But the main reason to stay here is the wonderful hosts, who will simply stop at nothing to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They are both very familiar with the region and are full of great ideas for how to spend your holiday. They are simply the ultimate hosts and we're really glad we chose to stay with them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Guys,
Thank you so much for adding a review for us & the extremely lovely comments. It was a delight to have you stay with us as our last guests of 2013 and has topped off a great year for us.
Glad you had a safe journey back home & we hope you get the chance to return.
All the very best to you both for 2014!
Martin & Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We absolutely recommend this place for a number of reasons: Fantastic scenery just in front of your window, lovely, cosy, very tidy and clean rooms that make you feel comfortable straight away. We have only had good hotels on this trip, but we both found that this one was special.
The breakfast was lovely, we had everything we needed.

The hosts were very helpful, we had a few good chats, they made us feel at ease and almost at home straight away. We would definitely come back and advice everyone to spend at least one night here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Franziska & Rob,
We're delighted at your lovely comments, thank you for entering a review for us. We enjoyed meeting you both and likewise the chats were great! Hope you got the chance to divert to the Glenfinnan 'Harry Potter' Viaduct and finally enjoyed Robs birthday in Glasgow.
Hope you are able to return, you would be more than welcome on your next tour of Scotland.
Best wishes
Martin & Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunedin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stayed here. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our view from the window was lovely. The hosts are extremely helpfull and friendly, very easy to chat with. There was homemade jam to sample at breakfast that was a nice touch. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Phil & Kirsten,
Thank you both very much for taking the time to enter a review for us, your comments & top score are really appreciated, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you were able to see the badgers & pine marten and enjoyed the rest of your trip across to Speyside and further on to The Lake District & Wales. (hope the tips for further south came in handy!)
All the best to you both,
Martin & Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved our stay at Serendipity very much, it was pretty hard for us to leave such nice hosts like Martin and Ken. We really much enjoyed every single minute there, chatting and laughing with them was a great time for us. Their contribution in all matters of making our stay as comfortable as possible was outstanding - valuable info on trips you can make in that area, special request breakfast dishes (try Kens outstanding porridge and jams) and just making you feel like being part of the family - awesome!
Last but not least: it was truly the cleanest accomodation in which I ever stayed overnight - and I was travelling a lot the last years.
Thank you for everything Ken & Martin, we will for sure come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Guest Relations Manager at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Torsten & Sabrina,
Thank you both for choosing Serendipity B&B and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday touring this part of the Highlands. Your comments are really appreciated & thank you for taking a few moments to write your review. You are a lovely couple & we gelled really well during your 3 days with us with so many of the same interests. Take care & we look forward to you returning when you can, there's plenty more to explore.
All the very best to you both
Martin & Ken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a 4 day stay at Serendipity B&B and cannot sing its praises high enough. It was our first experience staying at B&B's and I can honestly say that it was a truly positive one. From the moment we walked in Ken and Martin, our hosts, made us feel welcomed and at home, as if we were family. They are fantastic hosts, full of knowledge about the area and more than willing to share it, as well as make recommendations/suggestions as to places for us to go and explore. The room was beautiful, spacious and spotless as was our en suite. The views from our window were simply breathtaking and peaceful, and breakfast everyday was a treat complete with homemade jams. We loved meeting and getting to know Ken and Martin and cannot recommend their B&B enough. It is truly an amazing place.

Ken and Irene Cadman

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Guest Relations Manager at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ken & Irene,
Thank you both for the fantastic review & kind words. Delighted you enjoyed your 1st B&B experience and hopefully it will not be the last. We try and offer a friendly relaxed atmosphere here & that obviously came across, we are approachable to help all guests with queries and advice and enjoy sharing our knowledge of the region, you really made the most of your 4 day tour of the Highlands.
We recall you chose our back double bedroom which has some of the best views along the glen to the countryside & mountains beyond, although this is our smallest guest room, it is the most popular and we're pleased you still found it spacious and your lovely comments are appreciated.
Our best wishes to you both.
Martin & Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Address: Dalchreichart, Glenmoriston IV63 7YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Glenmoriston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenmoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity B&B provides spacious, warm and comfortable accommodation presented to a high standard with a friendly welcome and relaxing homely atmosphere. A choice of three modern well equipped bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities. Centrally located in a 'picturesque rural highland setting' in Dalchreichart, Glenmoriston with magnificent views to the surrounding mountains and forest and just 8 miles from Loch Ness. An ideal base to enjoy touring, walking, climbing, cycling or relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Serendipity Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Bed And Breakfast Scotland/Glenmoriston, Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.