We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Serendipity Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Dalchreichart, Glenmoriston IV63 7YJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Glenmoriston B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Martin & Ken, the B&B-runners are both great guys: friendly, helpful, neat, great to talk to and both blessed with a good sense of humor :)
Rooms are beautifully decorated with style and warm colours, very clean and do look almost new.
Also great breakfast with several delicious homemade marmalades from their own garden.
Sadly we only had the pleasure of staying one night as we were heading for The Isle of Skye.
Next time Scotland will definitely include a longer stay at Serendipity B&B.
Wishing you both the best !
Sifke & Pierre from "county" Limburg (The Netherlands)

Room Tip: Every choice is a perfect choice over there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello Sifke & Pierre,
Thank you for taking a few moments to enter a review for us. We both appreciate your lovely feedback. It is really nice when our guests notice and comment on the hard work & effort that we put into presenting each bedroom, dining area and our B&B overall. We try to create a relaxing friendly atmosphere with a bit of humour added in and that obviously came across well, thank you. It was a pleasure meeting you both & hope you can return for a longer stay next time.
Our best wishes are sent back to you ;-)
Martin & Ken @ Serendipity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
261
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just had two night stay and couldn't find a fault anywhere. Martin and Ken were great hosts who had time to talk and offer any advice on sightseeing around the area. Will return definitely. Home made jams are amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Ian & Sharon, We're really pleased to receive your review, thank you for the lovely comments. Glad we were able to help you celebrate your birthday break. Hope you are both able to return one day as we have plenty more suggestions for exploring across the west Highlands.
All the best to you both,
Ken & Martin @ Serendipity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We called them in evening for a last minute booking and even though they didn't have a room at that time, Martin still offered several pieces of suggestion for place to stay near where we were. Ten minutes later he called us and said a booking was cancelled and offered us the room. Based on all the review s on trip advisor, we decide to cancel another booking we just made and our experience was great.Martin and Ben were extremely helpful with travel planning. We had the top room with a sky window that looked out to the mountains and the view at sunset was amazing. For breakfast, we had a private room facing the garden where we watched birds fighting each other for food in the yard.it was fun. Ben had some of best home made plum jam I've had.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Alex & Ji,
Thank you for taking the time to review your overnight stay at Serendipity. It was fortunate that we were finally able to offer you accommodation as you had tried to book with us before. Thank you for the lovely comments and we're pleased you enjoyed our B&B facilities. We have recently reorganised the upstairs bedroom, this is our largest double room which now encorporates a relaxing private lounge area overlooking the mountains & countryside, making the most of the panoramic views.
Best wishes to you both and hope you are able to return.
Martin & Ken @ Serendipity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed 2 nights as a birthday treat. We had a gorgeous room with fantastic mountain views. It was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was lovely and those jams! Hard to stay on a diet with delicious home-made jam on the menu :-) What can I say - perfect! Martin and Ken made us feel very welcome from the minute we arrived. We took their advice on places to eat and loved each one. We felt really at home and with Serendipity being in such a peaceful and tranquil location, we slept very well. We'll definitely be back. This was one of the best B&Bs we have every stayed at! Thanks Martin and Ken for making Pat's birthday so memorable. xx

Room Tip: The mountain view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Shona & Pat,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Serendipity and such fantastic comments, very kind. It's always nice to share a birthday celebration, a good excuse for homebaking!
Really pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us & glad we were able to assist with some recommendations. Hope you get the chance to return for more wildlife spotting!

Best wishes
Ken & Martin @ Serendipity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

An amazing location and the perfect place to stay, so good we are already planning a return!! The rooms are very clean & tidy, the food is wonderful, especially the 'gardeners home made jams'. But the best part is Ken & Martin!! We were made to feel so welcome. They were so friendly, helpful and lots of tips with things to do and places to visit in the area. Even with a long journey home ahead of us we just chatted with Ken & Martin for ages, not wanting to leave. It was just like staying with some good friends on holiday!! Thank you for a great stay Jen & Andy x

Room Tip: such a quiet area, didn't hear a thing during our stay, not even a passing car!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jen & Andy,
Thank you for your glowing review, appreciate you taking the time so soon after your stay.
Glad you enjoyed the relaxed friendly atmosphere here and the quiet location away from the main roads. It was lovely to meet you both, enjoyed the interesting chats.
"The Gardener" is getting great feedback about his breakfast jam making and will endeavour to increase the current selection of 6 different flavours in time for your next visit!

Our best wishes to you both
Ken & Martin @ Serendipity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at Serendipity to begin our Scotland trip and spent the rest of the week talking about Ken & Martin and following their advice and recommendations! They are so welcoming and wonderful, the property is beautiful and immaculate and the location is tranquil and gorgeous... We cannot thank them enough for their kindness and attention, from homemade cakes to celebrate our anniversary to a fantastic homemade breakfast. They took the time to gives us ideas for our visit and share maps and photos... we truly feel as if we left with two new friends! We will be back!

Room Tip: Gorgeous mountain views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Jen & Bob, Thank you for choosing Serendipity B&B as part of your anniversary celebrations, glad you enjoyed the homebaked cupcakes :-)
It was lovely to meet you both, we are always pleased to get feedback on the places locally & further afield that we have visited ourselves & recommend to others, glad you enjoyed some of the 'hidden gems' around the Highlands that could so easily be missed. Your very kind review & words are much appreciated, until next time,
All the best to you both
Ken & Martin @ Serendipity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My girlfriend stayed here for one night and thought it was fantastic. We got such a friendly welcome, even a mini cup cake on arrival. Martin gave us lots of advice on places to visit on our trip. The breakfast was great and the home made jam topped it off. It was so good to have such a nice quiet peaceful spot to have a good nights sleep and the rooms were spotless.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerendipityHighlands, Owner at Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear James & Hayley,
Thank you for a lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us over the easter weekend,including the easter cupcakes!
Although we are rural away from the main villages, that has huge benefits of peace & quiet and pleased you had a restful nights sleep.
Safe journeys once you leave London and heard home across the globe.
Best wishes
Martin & Ken @ Serendipity
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed and Breakfast

Address: Dalchreichart, Glenmoriston IV63 7YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Glenmoriston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenmoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serendipity B&B provides spacious, warm and comfortable accommodation presented to a high standard with a friendly welcome and relaxing homely atmosphere. A choice of three modern well equipped bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities. Centrally located in a 'picturesque rural highland setting' in Dalchreichart, Glenmoriston with magnificent views to the surrounding mountains and forest and just 8 miles from Loch Ness. An ideal base to enjoy touring, walking, climbing, cycling or relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Serendipity Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity Bed And Breakfast Scotland/Glenmoriston, Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendipity Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.