We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars b&b in the middle of nature. Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graineag Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Graineag Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Graineag Bed and Breakfast
Redburn, Glenmoriston IV63 7YJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Glenmoriston B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“5 stars b&b in the middle of nature. Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I don't have words for thank Barbara and Ian. The bedroom is better than perfect. A lovely bad, an amazing sofa and the barhroom is fantastic with high quality towels, bath products and bath robes. The home made breakfast was very very good, so tasty and fresh. Barbara was a perfect host always helping us with some suggestions to our travel and very kind and concerned about us. We stayed for 2 nights but we certained stay for a week! Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
99
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for one night, wish it could have been for more. Welcoming, exceptionally clean and comfy and a lovely breakfast too.
A large well appointed room with a fabulous view of wildlife in the pretty garden, and such pleasant hosts. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room at the top with a view of the burn was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scherpenheuvel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

From the moment you arrive until you leave, Barbara and Ian succeed in creating a "feeling at home"-experience. Nothing is for sale but everything is available upon simple request. Or even without asking: Barbara and Ian just seem to know what you want.
There are definitely more boutique-type B&B's (that cost twice as much), or B&B's that could earn a designer award (that hopefully match your own taste), or B&B's with bigger lounges (and more rooms of course), or B&B's with even more homemade products for breakfast (where you wonder where they grow the oranges in the homemade orange juice) but I doubt whether there are B&B's where the concept of being a guest is so deeply fulfilled as at Graineag. I'm quite sure that when I return to Graineag (and I certainly will), it will feel like I've only been away for a while, almost as if I came back from a trip instead of beginning one.
The location is also excellent: Loch Ness is 10 minutes away; South Loch Ness 20 minutes; Glen Shiel 30 minutes; Inverness , Affric, Culloden, the Whisky Trail, Skye, Fort William between an hour and an hour and a half, even the Cairngorms, Applecross, Torridon, Glencoe are hardly over 90 minutes away. Doing all of this from Graineag-"home" is easier than changing beds every day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Graineag B&B is a very warm, tidy and clean B&B in the woods. We truly enjoyed our stay there. Ian and Barbara were very warm and did their best to provide us with a lovely stay. The room and bathroom were spotless and well kept. Even though Barbara was not keeping too well, she went out of her way to make our stay special. We had such a wonderful time. Thank you Ian and Barbara.
J & M

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

My first b&b experience and it was the best! Very clean and big rooms, amazing breakfast, beautiful location.
The best part was the owners, Barbara and Ian who were the best hosts and very interesting people to get to know.
I will definetely go again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I booked this place based on the reviews here and we are not disappointed. The room is spacious, clean, nicely decorated, with a big bathroom which has all the amenities you get in any big hotel. It's lovely and warm inside,and a hot bath is just what I need after a long day outdoor. Barbara is such a lovely host and her breakfast is delicious. Its our honeymoon and she went into town to get us some wine, chocolate and a card! Can't thank enough for their hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

There really should be the option of more than 5 stars for this accomodation. We have now moved on to a 'luxury' hotel in central Edinburgh and the room isn't half as nice as the one at Graineag. The welcome was warm and the room was wonderful - everything you coud possibly need including a little fridge. Bathroom was great - shower lovely and hot and the towels big enough to wrap around you. View from the window great and the sound of the burn really relaxing. Breakfast was delicious. I could go on.....and on, but I suspect you get the picture! I am already plotting a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Graineag Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graineag Bed and Breakfast

Address: Redburn, Glenmoriston IV63 7YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Glenmoriston
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenmoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graineag is a delightful detached Highland house set in a peaceful location, with a Scottish burn (stream) tumbling through the garden and an abundance of wildlife. The Graineag is set among hills and woods with an easy walk to the River Moriston. (Fishing permits available locally). The Graineag is ideal for those who love wildlife and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Graineag Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graineag Bed And Breakfast Scotland/Glenmoriston, Loch Ness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graineag Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.