We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stock Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stock Resort to your Saves list
Stock Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorf 142, Finkenberg 6292, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Stock)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Finkenberg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Highly Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We had a very nice stay from Feb 10-16 2011 where we rented two adjacent rooms on the 2nd floor, went skiing, visited the SPA and siriously dipped into the fine hotel cuisine.

Hotel: Well run hotel with a friendly typical Austrian atmosphere. Very cozy, but still with lots of amenities. The SPA is huge with lots of different treatments but it seems to be very popular so you best book in advance. We did not, but still managed to get a couple of regular massages squeezed in. The SPA amenities seams complete with different kinds of sauna, swimming pool (nicely heated both in-door and out-door), whirlpool and lots of other offerings. As it is custom in Austria, Germany and several other countries folks at not shy in the SPA, so you will find naked people walking around…

The rooms were rather big with a nice bathroom, a separate toilet and a nice big balcony facing the mountains. Beautiful views! The rooms are quiet except the noise from the outdoor pool that can be a bit annoying in the afternoon. It does however stop at 7PM. The shower works very well – lots of water that can be regulated to your liking - nice and warm (no water savers here).

There is a cozy bar where you can enjoy a private setting for a family card game or sit around the bar and enjoy other folks. Live music seems to be arranged every day. Not intrusive, just nice. At the bottom of the hotel is an indoor garage with amble parking space free of charge.

The hotel has lots of computers with free internet and there is wireless at the reception and wired connections in the rooms. But the Internet connection is very slow and we often experienced inability to connect from within the room. Not the perfect setting if you need to work and depend on a fast Internet connection. If you just need to check your web-mail it works okay. (This seems to apply to many hotels in Austria).

The hotel is equipped with excellent gym facilities with lots of Technogym equipment and you’re for sure not in a crowded space. We used the gym several times but never with more than one other guest present. I guess most folks think they got enough exercise at the slopes!

The hotel is situated in the small city of Finkenberg so unless you want to drive to Mayrhofen (6km) to dine you’re best off dining at the hotel. Upon arrival, you are shown “your” table which will remain your table for the rest of the stay. This is common in Austrian hotels and quite charming, but you better make sure you get a nice table, because you will be “stuck” with it for the entire length of your stay.

Food: Excellent breakfast with a vast selection of bread, fruit, freshly made eggs to your liking, fresh juice and all sorts of yoghurt, tea, coffee and so forth. Really enjoyable! The lunch was not especially interesting but the dinner menu was included in the price (as was the breakfast). The dinner is deliciously prepared as a 5-choice menu with lots of options, and you can opt out for the a-la-carte menu with steaks, wiener schnitzel and several other options. All in all we looked forward to dinner every evening. The hotel has an extensive wine menu with lots of Italian, French and Austrian wines. Quite expensive though.

Staff: Friendly, polite and with some language skills. They all speak German and they all seem to understand English, but their ability to speak with you in English is somewhat limited. The waiters in the restaurant varied a little bit in their skill level but all in all a good experience. The maid service ensured a flawlessly clean room each morning when we left the room.

Surroundings: Beautiful Mountains, and a 6km drive to Mayrhofen (down the valley) and a 16km drive to Hintertux with the great glacier up the valley (at the valley end). We visited during the “Winter” but there were no snow in the valley except at the end by Hintertux.

However once you take the first lift which is just 200m from the hotel (fine little morning walk or you can let the hotel shuttle you for free) there were nice snow conditions. If you visit during the warm winter be sure to ski the south facing slopes in the morning before the snow turns to slush ice. The slopes at “Rastkoghl” were especially nice with a fine mix of blue and red slopes. If you want the wild stuff you can try the “Kamikaze” slope or opt for a paragliding adventure. The hotel will gladly help you with both ski rentals and lift passes – just say the word at the reception. The ski pass is valid for the entire Ziller Tall (Valley). We skied the Hintertux glacier the last day. Great conditions, but considerably colder, more windy and with a lot more people on ski than the other slopes.

The conclusion is a nice hotel in a beautiful setting with a friendly staff and enjoyable cuisine. Good for a weeks stay. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    22
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
107
96
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
MUC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This Sports- and Wellness Hotel is making it so easy to relax and forget about real life.
Once you've checked in it gives so much variety in entertainment, activity and relaxation.
The choice is yours:
- Gym
- Sauna(s)
-Swimming Pools
-Whirlpools
- Bikes
- daily activities from hiking, bike tours, rafting, canyoning, etc.

We went there as a couple and were surprised how the hotels keeps kids, etc. busy so that they won't bother the grown ups.
Therefore I can recommend this place to couples with and without kids.

Rooms are fantastic and the restaurant is excellent. Huge breakfast buffet and a nice buffet for the hungry ones during the day (13:00-17:00).
Dinner has different themes everyday. Usually a four course dinner, but sometimes also buffet.
High quality food!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

This is my fourth time there and the hotel is always fantastic both in summer and winter time!!! The SPA is superlative, never seen another one like this; the same adjective could be used for the room which can be chosen from a spectacular variety...each time I go there I change room...

Service is very nice and each detail is groomed to the small details and all the staff is very polite and friendly!!! Superb! and more over is all-inclusive....the breakfast buffet is something you've to see!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

Just returned from a fantastic week at the Sport Hotel Stock. It was the last week of the season but the snow was superb considering the resort is fairly low (840M).

It is very hard to fault this hotel if you are looking for a luxury ski trip slightly off the beaten track. We flew into Munich which is 2 hours by car but Innsbruck is an hour away. The closest resort known to the UK is Mayrhofen which is only 3km away, but Finkenberg is a more traditional, quieter village. We were the only British in the hotel.

The hotel has a real family atmosphere, with the Stock family present in the evenings, greeting guests and generally ensuring everyone is being attended to. The quality of the food was superb throughout.

Breakfast is a buffet with breads, yoghurt, lots of fruit, meats and cheeses. You can also order omelettes, eggs or pancakes. Breakfast starts at 8pm and finishes at a very civilised 10.30. The breakfast area also has a couple of juicers with loads of fruit.

We did not take advantage of the lunch buffet (1pm to 5pm) as we were on the slopes but it looked good with soups and few hot dishes plus pastries, cakes etc. Incidentally, mineral water and soft drinks are included in the room rate, as are all meals.

Dinner was more formal, with 5 courses. This is usually a mixture between a buffet and served food. The salad bar was great and the quality of the food in general superb.

We stayed in one of the larger suites and it was without doubt the largest hotel room we have stayed in. Our balcony was the size of a typical room. The kids had their own bunk beds.

I imagine the reason most people visit the hotel is for the Spa, which is huge with a wide variety of treatments. We did not have any treatments but used the family spa, and the indoor and outdoor pools which was a very pleasant temperature. Children are not allowed in the main Spa area as this is a nude area but if you are too British to join in with the Austrians and Germans, the pool area has a steam room, sauna and the family sauna has a Jacuzzi. Kids are well looked after with a Crèche, games room, billiard table and video games room.

Little touches make the difference, like the mini-bus which takes you to and from the lift which is 300M away. Despite the facilities the best aspect of the hotel was the staff, they could not do more for you. This hotel really is as good as it looks on the Web site.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

This spa and hotel in Austria was a complete gamble for me since there were no previous reviews written on tripadvisor. Now that I have visited and spent four days there, I can say that it was a fantastic stay!

I traveled from New York City to Innsbruck, Austria and then took an hour and a half train to Mayrhofen. From there, the hotel van picked me up and took me into the mountains to the hotel. I was immediately greeted with a warm lunch/buffet and a glass of champagne. My room was small, but cozy and had an amazing view of the mountains. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had heated floors.

Since I was really looking to relax on this trip, I booked several spa treatments. I would highly recommend the Ayurvedic Hot Oil Massage and the Basic Facial. After each treatment, I would spend time in The Quiet Room which had heated water beds, lounge chairs, and a fire place. The spa also offers many different saunas, steam rooms, etc. There is also an outdoor whirlpool as well as two tanning beds (€6 for 8 minutes). Americans should remember that the Europeans are sometimes more comfortable without their clothing in the spa.

The hotel also has an amazing indoor/outdoor heated pool. There is nothing like swimming outdoors in the Alps in Austria in the snow!

The food at the hotel is the most amazing food I have ever had on a vacation! The meals are all included in the price of your room. The choices are endless and the lunch buffet is served from 1-5. Everyday, I made sure to try something new. My favorite was to have a mug of hot chocolate and read by one of the fireplaces. The food alone made the trip worthwhile!

The surrounding scenery is almost too much for the eyes to take in. You aren't too far from Hinder Tux, a popular ski resort built on a glacier. I do not ski, but I took the cable car up to the top (as do many people) just to see the expanse of the Austrian Alps.

The hotel visitors are mostly families and couples. The hotel offers an amazing program for children so that their parents can relax all day in the spa. I was there by myself and there maybe one or two other people there alone.

The staff was friendly and gracious. English is not their first language, but I had no problem understanding directions to the glacier. I speak no German but found no problems on my entire trip to Austria.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough! I had an amazing time and will definitely return.

  • Liked — the views and the food
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

This is a difficult one, since there is nothing fundamentally wrong with the Stock hotel; in fact it is in a very nice setting, with lovely scenic mountain walks. It also offers nice large spotlessly clean bedrooms, (though hard uncomfortable beds), as well as a warm, almost overly friendly service.

However, if you are thinking of staying there, allow me a word of warning, which I wish I got before going.
This place is, at best, one big permanent party. Some people may enjoy that, and indeed most guests seemed very happy there; but my wife and I were hoping for a quiet retreat in the mountains for a week in summer, during a tour of Germany and Austria by car. Their brochure and website looked inviting enough. But quiet was simply not an option here. We just had to leave the hotel after two days. Incidentally, they refused to give me any refund, charging me for the whole stay.

To start, there was loud, irritating, cheesy music all over the place. ie; in the car park, the foyer, the lifts, the corridors, and yes, the bedrooms! though only there could it be thankfully switched off.
They like their canned music so much, they even let it play when they have some live music going on, creating one big cacophony.

Also, it should be known that this hotel was truly made for big families, and the children had taken over the whole place, giving the public areas an ambience of a school play ground, as they were monopolising the foyers, restaurants, gym, swimming pool, etc...
This, as far as I am concerned is simply not a place for couples.

No intimacy at all is to be found in the vast resaturant; there was little table service, and one had to plough through the chaotic self-service area, at breakfast, lunch, and dinner; a three times daily struggle. Room service did not exist, so you just had to play along. On top of this, It seemed every evening meal had a special theme to it, with the Oriental night, or the smart so called dressy night,etc... how immature is that?

And of course, all the activities on offer were only done in big groups, package style. If you didn't join in the fun, you would feel like some dejected outsider.

So, perhaps, the irritatingly omnipresent Stock Family should call their hotel a holiday camp; therefore giving a more accurate discription, thus informing their potential new customers, what they really are letting themselves in for.

Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2007

We took our two children (7 and 5) as well as my mother to this fantastic hotel just above Mayrhofen. What can I say ? The hosts were omnipresent, helpful and charming. The food abundant and of the highest quality, all facilities superbly appointed and faultlessly clean. We were lucky with the weather, which of course helps, but even on a rainy day, you are in for a special experience. Every day there is a different programme on offer for the youngest kids, older kids and adults alike. My children couldn't get enough, and keep asking to go back (so does my mother). I think the attention to detail and the very personal service are unique, and I have stayed in a good many top quality hotels over the years. The scenery is breathtaking, and it is easily reached from Innsbruck.

  • Liked — Size and quality
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stock Resort

Address: Dorf 142, Finkenberg 6292, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Stock)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Finkenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Finkenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stock Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star Hotel STOCK Resort - An exclusive wellness hotel in Tyrol / Austria - which brings together cordiality, charm & tradition, ensuring relaxation for body & soul The unique STOCK feeling enchants its guests 365 days a year. The 5000 m² SPA & beauty area provides pure relaxation. The STOCK provides an excellent service for singles, couples and families - a place for regeneration and leisure. Stock Diamond SPA & Beauty in the wellness hotel STOCK in Tyrol In the STOCK's beauty area guests can experience exceptional luxury. In 21 individually designed treatment rooms, among them a romantic bath, Ayurveda rooms and a Shiatsu and singing bowl room, exclusive treatments using Stock Diamond products - the only place in the world you'll find them - provide an unforgettable well-being holiday. Experience a wonderfully relaxing time in the luxurious, tranquil water bed rooms and in the heated outdoor 25 metre swimming pool. A visit to the log cabin sauna, the Kelo sauna and the herb and flower blossom steam baths complete an inspiring wellness experience; there are a total of 11 saunas in the STOCK resort. Sport & Vital in one of the most beautiful hotels in Austria In the STOCK Resort wellness hotel, skiing and hiking guides along with qualified fitness trainers provide healthy variety six days a week, whatever the season. In the new 190 m² Panorama Fitness Studio the majestic all-encompassing view, high-end equipment and bespoke personal training provided is impressive. Pleasure & cuisine at its most exclusive in this 5-star hotel in Tyrol Your day begins with a special balanced breakfast, made using fresh produce from the neighbouring farms. In the afternoon there is an extensive wellness buffet for your enjoyment. The first-rate 6-course dinner in the evening transforms the resort into a gourmet hub. Indulge in the hotel's own "Mount Stock" wines, enjoy the selection of the finest wines in our wine cellar, or sit back and relax in the Smokers Lounge. Every day in our Kaminhalle you get to relax and there are weekly highlights and live music. Family holiday in the STOCK wellness hotel in Tyrol / Austria Providing relaxation for parents, while meeting children's requirements - this Tyrolean family hotel, the STOCK resort, has managed to combine both. An educational, supervised programme of events for children and teenagers 7 days a week, the new Aqua Fun Park which has a 70 metre long tyre slide and a spacious family sauna, mean that fun and relaxation for all the family come together. Quality and Alpine lifestyle in the wellness hotel STOCK resort First-class comfort, which is defined by a wonderful combination of Tyrol charm and state-of-the-art facilities, sets the tone in the STOCK resort. All the rooms and suites are a place of calm for singles, couples and families. The new Alpine Lodge suites convey the STOCK feeling, as do the rooms, which are filled with character. Experience this unique well-being realm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Stock Finkenberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.