We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastehaus Gratzerhof

Gastehaus Gratzerhof
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Finkenberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gastehaus Gratzerhof
Save
You added Gastehaus Gratzerhof to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Finkenberg, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Finkenberg B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is a nice guest house with large comfortable rooms and friendly hosts. Usual Austrian style breakfasts which kept us going until lunch on the slopes. Its in a great location for getting to the Finkenberg lift where you can access many many runs. Buses run up and down the valley from close by so getting to the Hintertux or Mayrhofen is easy and free with your ski pass. Eating out options for dinner are limited but there are two very nice restaurants within a minutes walk. Its worth taking a walk up the hill the see the Devils Bridge and have a beer in the Finkenest - not the busiest pub ever but the decor is worth a look. We were happy with our stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

On arrival we were greeted with local schnapps, nothing fancy but lovely clean hotel, beds made daily, rooms comfy, good choice of breakfast, good location for ski bus, eating out limited however, excellant food and friendly atmosphere. Great idea to stay in Finkenberg because of easy ascent of lifts into massive ski area of Mayrhofen, skiing fantastic, would stay again at Hotel Gratzerhof,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

I stayed at Gratzerhof guest house with my boyfriend during Feb 2011 for the purposes of a ski trip. The guest house is extremely clean and run by a very friendly and welcoming family. Having struggled to find affordable accomadation in Austria it was a relief to find this place. It is basic but well worth the money. Having paid extra to have an ensuite room it was nice to have a well sized bedroom and seperate bathroom with toilet, shower and sink. The room was always warm and included a comfortable bed, good size cupboard, table and chairs and a tv. The location is perfect for getting to the Finkenberg lift station as a mini bus runs from right outside the hotel door. The guest house provides and good breakfast consisting of a range of cereals, toast, crossiants, eggs and yoghurts. Ski equipment and boots are asked to be kept downstairs which was never a problem and allowed them to dry off between uses. I would defiently return to Gratzerhof again if I go back to Austria.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Stayed at the gratzerhof guesthouse, finkenberg austria, march 2008 with another adult. We booked this as a late deal with crystal. On arrival our first impressions were not great. It is very basic accommodation but very clean. The accommodation provides bed and breakfast only. Andrew who was running the accommodation was very friendly and helpfull. It definatley grew on us. We only wanted a place to lay our heads down so we could ski all day. The ski was excellent.

The room: Consists of a large bed, cupboard and bedside cupboards. The toliet is seperate (within the room) but the sink and shower are actually in the room. This was disappointing as we had payed extra for en-suite facilities. Hairdryer was provided. Towels were provided one small and one large each. Beds were made every day. Towels and bedding changed mid week.

Breakfast: Served in cosy room between 7-10 am. Was a choice of two cereals with milk. Fresh breadcakes or bread for toast. Meat and cheese slices. Yoghurt, jams and butter. Fresh orange juice and tea and coffee. Eggs. You can eat as much as you like. You also help yourself.

Ski room: The owners like you to keep skis/boots in the basement. The exit of the ski room is open all day but locked during the night. We locked our skis up but seemed pretty safe. No boot heater.

Location: Set in the dorf area of finkenberg on a hill. The gratzerhof is a short walk to the gondola 5-10mins. Ok to walk but impossible to walk in ski boots.

Finkenberg: Very small resort on a winding hill. Could only find two pubs, finkenest and laterndle (laterndle was based at the gondala base and very noisey). Found a really nice cafe called senhutten. The food was excellent and not badly priced. We ate two courses with a bottle of wine for 40 euro's. Would recommend this place and especially the pizza's!! We also ate at the krystal hotel which was also very nice. You can go and eat/drink in any of the hotels, they are all welcoming. There is a spar shop located within the resort. Mayerhofen (nearest resort, much more lively) is 5-10mins away in a taxi, cost about 12 euros. You can walk but it would take approx 1hour 30 mins. It is a very low key resort.

Ski: The bus that takes you to the gonola is located to the side of the property. It gets very busy. The gondola is roughly in the middle of the resort. There were no lockers at the bottom of the gondola. No major que's in finkenberg. Great ski area. The buses run only at certain times but a taxi was provided free of charge from the gondola to your property for a few hours when the bus didnt run.

  • Liked — cheap deal to ski
  • Disliked — bathing facilities
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gastehaus Gratzerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Gratzerhof

Address: Finkenberg, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Finkenberg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Finkenberg
Hotel Class:2 star — Gastehaus Gratzerhof 2*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastehaus Gratzerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.