We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Cove Negril

Dolphin Cove Negril
Lucea, Lucea, Jamaica
+1 876-974-5335
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #5 of 7 Attractions in Lucea
Type: Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: In a natural lagoon, set in the warm waters of the Caribbean Sea, surrounded by the lush beauty of Jamaica's flora, Humans, Dolphins, and sharks become friends at Jamaica's # 1 attraction, Dolphin Cove. We offer snorkelling with stingrays, a jungle trek, Tropical birds at our own aviary and many more things to help you enjoy your entire day.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although the price might make some shy away, I can assure you that if you've ever wanted to swim with dolphins, you won't be disappointed. We did the dolphin encounter and got the time in the water with the dolphin where you touch, sing and dance with, and get a ride from one dolphin. Afterwards you are given the opportunity to watch the humorous shark show, touch a sting ray, and ride a camel.
Prices in the gift shop are reasonably priced unless you want the pictures or DVD of your swim. One 5x7 picture costs $20.
Overall, the experience of a life time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    42
    27
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with a Dolphin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Unforgettable experience. We did the "Swim" package, which allowed us to swim with the dolphin. We got up close and personal with the dolphin...warning, he has fish breath. The location was very well kept and clean. It is expensive though, as others have mentioned, but definitely worth it, best part of my vacation. Only gripe was they messed up our DVD (which we purchased), they had burned another group's video, so make sure you check any CDs or DVDs when you purchase them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This was the best experience !
It may be pricey but worth every penny !!!
Little tip when buying the photo/
If your in a group ask for the disc it's so much cheaper and you get all the photos plus extras .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tourist trap, but a good one !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place delivers what it promises. You get a really nice dolphin experience. But it is really geared to generating money for whoever invested in it. There is no nice educational part about the dolphins. The trainers are nice, but you cannot avoid the feeling that they are just doing a routine just like the safety instructions in a plane.
If you are going to watch someone else, bring a camera with a zoom lens. You cannot take pics from up close. They make those and sell them for 13$ or package price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun but $$$$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a fun trip and thankfully we came across an "upgrade coupon" from our resort. It seemed like most resorts had this which was an upgrade from one package to another, thus instead of the encounter we did the swim. This made it worth the $140 we spent on this package. Some things to know about the encounter that we didn't plan for since this was a last minute decision:

-no cameras while during the swim
-$15 per print or like $100 for a dvd of pictures
-shark show is good for children but costs money to pet the shark
-sting ray show is fun and would be nice to have brought a water camera

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Cove Negril also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Westmoreland Parish, Jamaica
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Dolphin Cove Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Cove Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.