We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SEYMOURSONIA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Global Villa

Global Villa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lucea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Global Villa
Save
You added Global Villa to your Saves list
PO BOX 4719 | LUCEA, HANOVER, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“SEYMOURSONIA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

we stayed for five weeks at Global Villa and quite enjoyed our experience.our room was spacious and clean fully air conditioned the beds were comfortable though the pillows could have been firmer the kitchen could have been a little bigger and a kettle and functioning microwave would have been useful the room had an adjoining balcony with stunning sea views and delightful sea breeze The staff were all very friendly and accommodating nothing was too much trouble overall we enjoyed our stay the breakfast and evening meals we had were always presented well and ravourshing also the jerk chicken prepared on the front porch a culinary delight We would stay there again as they made us feel most welcome it was like being amongst loving family we would recommend this guest house to anyone wanting a good time and experiencing the real Jamaica even the security guys were nice and the surrounding neighbours Thank You to the Manager Angie and all the wonderful staff for making our stay an all together pleasant experience see you all next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Couple months ago my sisters and I went to visit family/ friends in JA we decided to stay at the Global villa in Esher, Lucea, Hanover we had a nice time. Good location overlooking the sea you need no aircondition enjoying the fresh breeze, the room we stayed in was very big, well clean, good food, staffs very helpful and friendly. I even went to church service with one of the staff. I will recommend it to anyone who wants to relax and have peace of mind. We will be going back soon. Check out the manager Angella, also Ms Robinson, Purcel, Brown, Woolery, Icilda.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Global Villa recently on our way to Couples Swept Away. It is a really good base to see the real Jamaica.The rooms are clean and large if a little dated. The air conditioning worked fine.The staff are wonderful and friendly. The jerk chicken cooked on the porch of the villa is beautiful as were the cooked breakfasts. It would be nice to have a few comfortable chairs outside to sit on however we did not spend much time at the Villa in the daytime. Bulls Bay within 10 minutes walk is a lovely safe beach and we were the only ones on there. We also had Jamaican friends close by who enjoyed meals with us at the Villa and showed us the local area which is beautiful. You would need to hire a car if you did not have transport- we were lucky that friends took us everywhere. We would definitely stay here again for a short stopover and it was really good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Small family run villa. We stayed at the beginning of September for 1 week so it was quiet, for most of the week we were the only guest. The rooms were cleaned daily and bed linen changed every other day. The maid Icy was very helpful and always made sure we were well looked after. There was a Jamaican breakfast on offer to purchase and the chef would also make an english breakfast if we requested one, no request was too big! Other meals were served throughout the day but we only ate at the villa a couple of times, we usually ate out. The chef was always willing to make something different to eat if requested as long as he was given enough notice!The girls on reception were helpful and always willing to have a chat. The villa is in need of updating, although it is clean it is very old fashioned looking and shabby. There are also spaces within the villa that could be better used. The reception/bar/gift shop really needs some work doing to it because it is quite difficult to see what it is. The villa is situated about a 10 minute walk to Bulls Bay Beach which is a lovely quiet beach off the beaten track. Lucea town is about a 10 minute taxi drive away. Taxi's are easily accessible from outside the villa. Negril is only a 30 min drive away. Whilst staying at the villa we went horse back riding and swimming with dolphins both these activities are easily reached by taxi in less than 30mins. The stay felt more like staying at a relatives house than a villa. It is in a quiet location so you will have to travel out to have some fun. Staff were really friendly and accommodating even with the kids (two 6yr olds!)

Room Tip: Room 8 is very big and has a small kitchenette and fridge. Also has a balcony with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have just returned from JA spending the majority of the time at Global Villa. It was home from home, as a pervious reviewer stated if you want to experience the real Jamaica this is the place for you. All the staffs were very helpful particularly in catering for my sister who has a food intolerance condition. The rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday.
The beach at Bulls Bay is a beautiful spot we swam there every morning it’s a 15 minutes walk from Global Villa.

Room Tip: Room 8 has self catering facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I often travel to the Lucea area and this is my regular residence while there. It's a nice guesthouse on the main highway with an ocean view. The owner and her staff are first-rate and they treat you like family (in the good way). The food is very reasonably priced and is cooked to order. All the rooms have A/C and it's like staying in a large house. Plus, you don't have to pay resort hotel prices. If you want to experience real Jamaican living and hospitality I highly recommend Global Villa.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more airflow and nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is not the most modern property, however, it was better than we expected and worth the price.
When making the reservation, I had lots of questions and from what we experienced, the questions were truthfully answered. Please ask questions and pay attention to posts regarding meal times. Make sure the hotel knows whether you will be arriving after 7pm and would like dinner.
The issue regarding the dogs was resolved. We never saw or heard the noisy dogs that were referred to in a previous post. Although this is a small property, a security guard was present until very late so, we felt safe.
Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and appeared to be concerned about us having a pleasurable stay. The room and bathroom were clean. We opted for a room with 2 beds but we also had the opportunity to view a room with 1 bed and that room was just as clean. Air condition - took a little while to cool but once it did, it was excellent.
We stayed for one night so we only had the chance to enjoy breakfast. Breakfast was really a delightful, delicious, and palate-pleasing meal served on the veranda. It was obvious that the kitchen staff took the time to make an appetizing meal.
Suggestions to staff - 1) turn on air condition before guests arrive 2) Continue smiling while taking care of the guests.
All in all, we would definitely recommend this property and will stay there on my next trip to Lucea.

Room Tip: Room just at the top of the stairs on the right with 2 beds was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Global Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Villa

Address: PO BOX 4719 | LUCEA, HANOVER, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Global Villa Hotel Lucea
Global Villa Jamaica/Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Global Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.