We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British view of the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“British view of the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Here is my review from a British perspective!

Food
Good variety. Steak restaurant is the best with a delicious fillet mignon! Asian was also pretty good.
Buffet had good variety and service was good. Jerk chicken on the beach is also worth a visit. The sports bar opens 24hrs and serves food til early hours. Ok to grab some quick food and not bad quality but what you'd expect... Burgers, nuggets, pizza style food.
TIP:
Take lots of 1 dollar bills for tipping! Return visitors can reserve otherwise you have to wait BUT if you ask for a buzzer, you can sit in the smoking part of the top bar (it's not smoky!) and you can have a drink while you wait - it's cooler than the restaurant waiting area!

Drinks
The cocktails are fab and everything is properly 'all inclusive' including premium spirits such as jack Daniels, baileys, tanqueray to name just a few. These can be found in the air conditioned bar upstairs called miss lous? I think! Purple rain was a favourite cocktail of mine but the bob marleys went down well too! Ask and they will make you variations from the menu.

TIP:
Bring an insulated thermos type cup... Everyone buys them at the hotel but they are 13 dollars + each.

Rooms
We had the basic junior suite: king size bed, sofa, jacuzzi bath and shower. It was very clean and a good size. We were in Villa (block) no. 25 which was near reception.
NOTE
Some blocks are quite a walk so if you struggle, email and request one near reception, receptions to both sides of the hotel are fairly central and then the accommodation blocks span outwards from there.
TIP:
If you leave a note and a tip inside the fridge, the mini bar man gives you an extra beer!

Excursions
We did the Montego Bay shopping, which ended up as 4 of us Brits in a mini bus as not enough ppl for a coach, but we went with another couple in a taxi and had a safe, informative day.
TIP:
barter as much as you can, the shop keepers will budge more than you think on price!

We also went on the Thomson's 'Southern Adventure with a tipple' trip. It was a trip up the mangroves with crocodiles, a trip to the Appleton's distillery and a visit to YS falls. It was a nice varied trip with a great tour guide and worth the 112 dollars each.

Pools
We loved the main pool as it had lots of atmosphere. Nb the swim up bar was often closed early due to weddings which was a pain, but plenty of bars nearby! There were quieter pools which were apparently nice, but we didn't seek them out.
TIP
Adults are not allowed on the children's slides lol

In summary, I loved every minute. It was worth the money we paid and I'd love to go back. It was very clean... I'm a bit OCD... And people with complaints, I might suggest, could be the rude, demanding, clicky finger type, which we are not. Don't be put off!!

Final tip...ask reception for a site map if you don't get one...spend 5 mins getting your bearings as the site is huge! There are buggies which are useful as some restaurants / bars / beaches are on the 'Lady Hamilton' side of the complex and can be quite a walk!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    1,315
    684
    417
    368
See reviews for
1,161
1,808
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

She is one of the employees at the resort for the Grand Palladium. She showed our group around and was very personable. I helped us enjoy our time and make the best of our vacation. She was AWESOME!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just came back from a week long trip with my husband and 21 year old daughter. We had a wonderful time. The resort is gorgeous and very well laid out. Even though it is large it is easy to get around. The staff were extraordinary and everyone went out of their way to be helpful. We arrived at 10am in the morning, long before our room was supposed to be ready but the front desk put a rush on it and we were in before noon. For 10 dollars a night we were able to upgrade to an ocean view and it was well worth it. We stayed in villa 1424 and the sunset views over the ocean were spectacular. There is a good variety of restaurants and we were very impressed with the fresh juices and smoothies that were available at the breakfast buffet. The pools and beaches are beautiful, especially sunset cove beach. The main pool is lively but it is so large that it never felt crowded. We also liked the pool closer to our villa as it was a little quieter. We would definitely go back to this resort. Our daughter is already thinking she would love to have a destination wedding here someday!

Room Tip: Ocean view is well worth the 10 dollar a night upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Director General at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Joy,

Greetings and thank you for sharing with us your wonderful comments about your family vacation at our Resort. We are elated knowing that you all enjoyed your stay and what our property has to offer.

We are happy to know you enjoyed the pools and the Sunset Cove beach. Exceeding our guest’s expectations and offer truly memorable experiences is our commitment and we are proud to learn that we have achieved our goal. We are glad to know you enjoyed our fresh juices and smoothies.

We are so glad to know that you felt great with the staff; We will be happy to share your compliments with our great team. Thank you very much for all your compliments on our facilities and special services our team provides. Have shared all your remarks with them, it is always our pleasure telling our team how positive their right doing influence on all our customers holiday enjoyment

It is amazing to read you had such a good time that your daughter wants to be her destination wedding. We would be very happy to host her special day when the time arrives. Until then, We would be happy hosting you all again in the near future for another vacations nothing short of Grand.

Best wishes from our Palladium family.

Jose Morgan - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I first stayed at Grand Palladium in 2011 and had a wonderful experience per my review at that time. Our youngest daughter was celebrating her 52nd BD this April 21 and the three of us decided to go again and see if we could recapture some of the fun and atmosphere of our first trip. We were not disappointed. Everything, the food, the drink, and the people, were as good and the place was as clean as trip #1. The only downside was getting through customs at the airport. This 2½ hour ordeal was a real disappointment. After that, however, things improved considerably. We can't say enough good about the friendliness and courtesy of the staff - warm and helpful. Initially, our room keys wouldn't trigger the electricity and the lights and AC were non-functional. A phone call to the front desk brought out a maintenance person within ten minutes and the problem was fixed within another twenty minutes. We'll consider going there again.

Room Tip: The upgrade to a suite was well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, Director General at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear BobT721,

Receive a warm greeting from Grand Palladium Jamaica Resorts & Spa. It is a pleasure for us to read your experience about your recent stay at our hotel, to know how satisfied you and your family felt with our services, accommodations and treatment encourage us to keep giving the best of us, since it is proof that we are achieving our main goal which is to make the best of all our guests vacations.

We certainly know that our marvelous team plays a key role on the satisfaction of our guests. Please, send us your booking details and preferences for your next year stay, we will be very glad to look after your third time with us. We will be waiting for you at this paradise.

With warmest regards,

Jose Morgan - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

1st. impression Awesome! Easy check in. shuttle provided to Villa / Suites and someone to assist you with your luggage. Spacious hotel room with balcony. Ours had a ocean view! Room had excellent air conditioning, Also tv with cable, wifi (limited service in room, better in lobby / restaurants), bar frig. stocked daily with 2 beers, water and soft drinks. You can request more water. Rooms cleaned and fresh towels daily if needed. The food was great, no complaints. Buffets had good varieties but we enjoyed the a la carte restaurants since you tended to eat less than the all you can eat buffets! The Jerk Hut had the best jerk chicken. Miss Lou Bar had the best selection of coffee and liquors. I enjoyed their Espresso with Sambuca. The grounds are well maintained, fresh paint on going thorough out resort. Awesome view of the Sunset at the beach or main pool. Several kids or adult only pools to chose from, including bars. Main pool was most popular with the walk/swim up to Pool Bar. Several beaches to chose from including an Adult only beach. Nightly entertainment / shows were good. This resort is very popular for weddings, photo shoots, girls vacation, etc...I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to enjoy a quiet, relaxing vacation, great for both couples and families. Daily Excursions leave daily from resort. We did the Appleton Rum, YS Falls tour which was good. Also booked Antsman Private Tours for the day and went to Rick's Cafe and Seven Mile Beach. (a must for everyone)

Room Tip: Oceanview, 3rd. floor, Room with a King Bed more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, General Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear steturr,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent vacation here with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to read about the wonderful time you have had and the memorable experiences.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the overall facilities and we will share your comments with our team. Exceeding our guest’s expectations and offer truly memorable experiences is our commitment and we are proud to learn that we have achieved our goal.We really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your reviews as this will help us to improve our product and services.

We would love to be given the opportunity of hosting you again in the future so that you may have a vacation nothing short of Grand. Feel free to contact us if there is anything further we can assist with from this end.

Jose Morgan - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Headed to Jamaica last week and was blown away at first sight from my view on the plane. What a beautiful island. Upon arrival to the resort we were offered Rum Punch, cold facecloths, cookies and a speedy check-in!! There are a ton of reviews on here so instead I am going to write all my tips for the resort of things I really enjoyed or would recommend. We had a wonderful vacation and can't wait to come back :)

ROOM: Bring your own pillow if you are pillow picky or prefer something soft, extra pillows are in the closet if you need more.

ROOM SAFE: To reset the safe- Hold down the R button, put in a 6 digit code, wait for a beep, put it in again.

FOOD: A-la-carte Italian and Xmaica are AMAZING and a must to try. You don't need a reservation which is great! The smoked gouda sticks (looks like a mozza stick) are to die for and usually found at Breakfast in the Mo-Bay or Negril Buffett.

BARS: Miss Lou's Piano/Dessert/Coffee Bar is located on the top floor of the main pool restaurant. It is AMAZING, the Cappuccino Frappe (is a cold coffee milkshake double YUM) and the Baileys Coffee WOW! Desserts are so yummy so save room after dinner for here! If you need to escape the heat head to the Sports Bar they have a buffet and a menu to order from. They are also 24 hour!!

DRINKS: Some drinks to try that are good: Banana Colada, Miami Vice with Coconut Rum, Bob Marley Frostie, Mojito, and Strawberry Colada. All very good...especially with Sky Vodka or Coconut Rum.

POOL: If you are an early riser (say before 9am) you will get a beach chair/hut. We only went out 2 mornings to "save" our seats. Then realized there were lots left so all other times we were there by 9am and had no problem. Unless you have a specific spot you want.
There are 2 small adult pools that are open until midnight and bars are open until 9-10pm.

BEACHS: Sunset Cove is a MUST to see, snorkelling awesome. **They have a catamaran that leaves daily at 11am and 1pm. Cost is $20US and they will take you out to a really cool spot to snorkel with sting rays!! We talked to a fisherman and he said this cove is netted so nothing big can get in. It's a breeding ground now. You should bring water shoes or flippers if you want swim out past your waist. This is because the ocean floor is littered with urchins and if you step on one someone will have to pee on your foot to ease the pain. The spikes are huge!! OUCH!

THINGS TO PACK: Your own towel if you like to save your seat so you know for sure it is yours. Hair Oil (Argon Oil or Moroccan Oil), Neck pillow for your beach chair, Snorkel Set!!

WEDDINGS: I would recommend this place for a wedding. We went for a family wedding and it was beautiful. There were wedding going on all week while we were there. From small intimate weddings to huge elaborate ones. Wedding cake was delicious!!

THE PEOPLE: This was the best part of the trip-the workers. Everyone wanted to know where you were from, how your day was going and was actually interested in getting to know you without wanting something in return. Our faves were Steve Smith (gardener) and Andre Bartender and the ladies serving drinks from the Kool and Shady Bar. So sweet!! Tips were not expected but greatly appreciated :)

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor if you have trouble with stairs-no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, General Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Receive a warm greeting from Grand Palladium Jamaica Resorts & Spa. It is a pleasure for us to read your experience about your recent stay at our hotel, to know how satisfied you felt with our services, accommodations and treatment encourage us to keep giving the best of us, since it is proof that we are achieving our main goal which is to make the best of all our guests vacations. We are so glad to know that you felt great with staff; We will be happy to share your compliments with our great team.

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback about you dining experience at the Jamaican Restaurant Xamayca. We are glad to know you enjoyed and had a nice Wedding with your family.Our big wish for the bride and grrom is happiness forever.We are glad they shared their love with us at ‪‎Grand Palladium‬ Jamaica Resort & Spa.

We will be waiting for you to come back soon.

Kind regards,

Jose Mprgan - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stay at the Palladium for 4 days for a friends wedding.

I tend to read a lot of reviews and take each one in consideration. When we first arrived.. our room was not ready until after 3pm which was kind of a drag as the hold up was due to our towels. But never mind that Shemicia was so........helpful she made our wait a little more patient along with the rum punch. & to find out because of the person I am- she was the Manager or Supervisor on duty (Thumbs up- I am a Support Coordinator and the qualities she displayed was very professional and GREAT Customer Service)

The rooms were nice and the view omg (Villa 15) is so quiet and relaxing. Our room was close to most activities at Hamilton and to mention they have shuttles and the most of the guys were nice but, some acted as if work was not really relevant. But, I won't let the bad apple spoil the rest. Back on the room topic, It was a bit moldy when we first arrived- "which my only suggestion is to provide a light mist room freshener. But overall very nice."

Most of the staff were helpful, I would like to recognize Sean and John and the guy who was our main bartender at the reception and when we first got in (the only guy) 18/04/15 (the girl in the yellow dress who stole the show haha) Goldbortine- please forgive my grammar was a very nice waiter

My only issue was the wifi omg...intermittent but in the main lobby was working fine(side note the place is so...huge I kinda do understand)

We loved here a lot that my wedding might just end up here in style and we are returning in August this time with our Kids.

Thank you Grand Palladium...see you in August

Room Tip: Villa 1503
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose M, General Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Merissa,

Greetings and thank you for sharing with us your wonderful comments about your vacation at our Resort. We are elated knowing that you all enjoyed your stay and what our property has to offer and you are already plannig to visit us again with your kids. Most of all your children had a memorable stay with our Kids Cove team.

Exceeding our guest’s expectations and offer truly memorable experiences is our commitment and we are proud to learn that we have achieved our goal.

We are so glad to know that you felt great with the staff; We will be happy to share your compliments with our great team, especially with Shemica, John and Seab. Thank you very much for all your compliments on our facilities and special services our team provides. Have shared all your remarks with them, it is always our pleasure telling our team how positive their right doing influence on all our customers holiday enjoyment.

Please, send us your booking details and preferences for your next stay, we will be very glad to look after your second time with us.

With warmest regards,

Jose Morgan - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.