We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“September Visit for anniversary celebration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“September Visit for anniversary celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Jamaica side sept 13-19. We stayed in villa 22 and was on the main floor. the rooms are beautiful. No need for an upgrade as we are hardly in our rooms at all. The only thing i would definitely do is stay on the Lady Hamilton side next time as it is much closer to the nice beaches. Shower leaks some water but no big deal. Fridge stocked with soda and red stripe. It never got very cold. Also it is very very very humid. The sheets feel damp when sleeping at night. make sure and turn the fan on when you get there it should help. room never really cools down enough but still feels good to walk into.

Ammenities: Gym- we planned to use but ran out of time. Spa: got the featured massage at b1g1 free. it was 80 min and very nice!

Pools: 3 pools. 2 small and a large pool. bars at both small pools which never had lines and had great service. The large pool had a swim up bar which was fun.

Beaches: best beach hands down is sunset cove followed by coral beach. the others are to rocky to not have water shoes on. Sunset cove has water sports which is super fun! kayak, snorkel, paddle boat, paddle board all free! they also had other things but i don't remember what the prices were.

Catamaran ride from sunset cove. TOTALLY WORTH IT!!! the staff was great the boat wasn't packed. on wednesday and saturdays the boat sails to ricks cafe which is a nice long cruise and perfect! definitely put this in your budget to do! favorite part of our trip!

Restaurants: Service was pretty good considering they were waiting so many tables! Our favorite was the chez bubbas and the chez bubbas el marchiato (mexican) night. I wasn't a big fan of the lotus restaurant or the xamyica. The jerk hut by the beach is great! we didn't get to try posidens as its only open friday and saturday night right now. Breakfast was good and standard for an all inclusive with the buffet. The blue lagoon served good ole american favs like cheeseburgers 24/7. Drinks were as strong as you would like them. They had no problem dumping extra liquor in our drinks. Try the bob marley shot. White rum always instead of gold to prevent hang overs!!

All in all the resort was very nice but it was quiet and seemed to be great or an older crowd. I would probably choose somewhere more adventurous next time or maybe a different resort if we return to Jamaica. The staff was amazing and are what make you want to return. The beaches weren't to my liking and thats why i go on a beach vacation! Of note i was offered to buy weed more times than i can remember. From staff. Frustrating. The kids services looked small and i don't think its a place i would travel with my children.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    1,158
    599
    375
    327
See reviews for
1021
1624
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dyer, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was there August 2014. Beautiful property. Clean. Very large pool. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are adequate. Entertainment in theater good. Large resort so be prepared for a lot of walking. They do have little trams but do not run on a regular routine basis. We did not find the food outstanding, but good. Food service very slow. Best restaurant was Italian. Steak house had long wait. Found out it only seats 120 people. Steak ok but nothing to get excited about. Seafood and Asian restaurant good but again not outstanding. Selection of foods excellent at breakfast. Buffet Lunch selection average. For a resort this large, we found it pathetic that the resort is so big yet the specialty restaurants were so small resulting in way too long of a wait every night, every restaurant. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was incredible i stayed with my whole family in 2010. Happy feet the entertainer washilarious beautiful hotel, amazing scenes swimming pool was huge and incredible. Internet cafe and shops cost efficient

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have traveled to the Caribbean several times and this resort is by far the worse! Upon checkin the supervisor was extremely rude and hateful. After checking into our room we have no A/C! We called the front desk and spoke with a supervisor, she informed us that she would have someone right up to fix it. That never happened. The next morning we spoke with the cleaning lady she said she would report it. That afternoon we came back to our room and it still has not been fixed! We go to the front desk again he promised someone would be there to fix it that evening, didn't happen! Finally after three days of sweating, sleepless nights, numerous phone calls and visits to the front desk we talked to a very nice supervisor she changed our room.

The food was below average. The best restaurants are the Indian, Jamaican and Mexican. The Steak House was okay, we got there early, I wouldn't wait in line for very long to eat there.

The best part of this resort is the activities. If it weren't for those in charge of the activities this resort would have absolutely nothing going for it! They kept numerous activities going all day. They work very hard and are wonderful at what they do!! Very good at entertaining and knowing what the crowd likes. Foxy was exceptional! The main pool bar was awesome as well, excellent bartenders!!

This resort is not close to anything! You are stuck at the resort unless you do an excursion or take a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is not what it seems ,grounds not keep up .Workers hiding in bushes in stead of working,saw one yard worker go to bar ,as I watched to see what the bartender would gave him and not to my surprise the worker got a styrofoam cup the bartender filled it with alcohol.Food was always cold,servers took forever to bring coffee,water. Power outage all the time ,roaches in our room,the room were never cold always damp &musty.We were there for a wedding big mistake for the wedding party, the bride had to walk to get hair done there forgot her no power in room for4hrs wedding not what I thought a beach wedding should be.the dinner took 2 1/2hrs the food 30 minutes between dishes, never got to cutting of cake,oh ya bride got ill because so hot in restaurant.i could go onnnnnnnn.WORSE PLACE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!STAY. CLEAR

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I have been going to JA for 15+yrs. This is our 2nd time to this resort and will be our last. Too many other great resorts on the island. The resort was a bit run down a couple years ago when we went and sadly no improvements or up keep has been done since then. Check in was long but not too bad because we paid for our own transportation which allowed us to get their prior the bus full of people all checking in at the same time. Our air conditioner in our room made a terrible loud noise the entire time and barely cooled the room. Air didn't work in numerous restaurants. Service was great to a terrible 2 1/2 hr long dinner. Basically hit or miss-dependent on your server or the night. Never saw management and many of the staff seemed unhappy-complete opposite of what we have grown accustom to in JA. If money was reinvested in the resort and management was a presence, I think this was be a good family resort. It has potential but as I stated there are too many other great resorts in JA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Chrissy L:

We appreciate the time which you have taken to share with us your review in regards to your last vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. You being a return it saddens us to read about your experiences while here with your family. We would love to further discuss you stay and ask kindly for you to email us at assistdtor1.jamaica@palladiumhotelgroup.com.

We would love to be given the opportunity of hosting you again in the future so that you may have a vacation nothing short of Grand as we are currently working to improve our facilities to give our guests a greater experience. We look forward to your email.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Grand Pallidium from July 26-Aug 2 2014.Check in was good I walked I was greeted by a greeter with two cocktails for me and my husband. We went up our room everything was good it was hot but soon cooled down once we turned on the a\c.Evreything was good exept the food We r in Jamaica so you exspect some carribean food not at this place
Everything was nasty I has a hard time finding stuff for my kids to eat finally me and my decided to go to a resturant to eat the drinks was watered down it was just terrible It was a shame that we paid so much money and got food like that. But the taht everything else was good including the service. They need to tighten up on their food service fire all their chefs and get new ones cause they cant cook the rice was raw peas was tough as a rock. If you looking to have good time and not this the place they have a nice pool and a ok beach
one more thing they said it is 15 min from airport no it acutualy 45 min away in lucea

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear deter w:

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations and the competent service received from our staff. We do regret that our meals were not to your liking as we do have a wide variety of delicious menu items for our guests to choose from.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.