We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I just recently visited this resort and I must say I was not happy with a lot of things that occurred during my visit. Before I was even able to check into my room, I heard other guest complaining about their rooms. Saying that the rooms smelled like mildew due to some flooding, bugs in their room and the lack of compassion from the staff at the resort. This really put me in a bad place. Finally got to my room and had to wait because they maid just got there to clean the room. Took her about 30 minutes or so but it was clean but still had a smell to it. Sheets were clean but still had an uneasy feeling sleeping in the bed. My sister who stayed in the same villa as I, she had blood stains on her sheets, Went to the sports bar one day for lunch, there was a roach crawling on a cup that was on or table. The buffet food was okay to me. Think they need to out source some chefs from other countries. Overall, the outside part of the resort is nice. Loved the pool area. If I return to Jamaica, I will NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Candace W:

First we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review about your vacation here. We welcome the feedback of our guests as it will better allow us to pay attention to the key areas that are not meeting our guests' expectations.

While you loved the overall look of our property we would like to apologize for the overall experience you had and those areas that fell short of meeting your expectations. We will work on these areas outlined and would love if you would give us the opportunity of hosting you again in the future to experience the changes that will be made. Feel free to contact us if there is anything further we can assist with from this end.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,415
    1,317
    684
    417
    368
See reviews for
1,162
1,809
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

travelled with my teenage daughter - both had a great time and looking to return next summer!! food - fantastic choice and excellent quality/efficient and friendly service. 'First come first served' system at restaurants didn't always work to plan for us - sometimes we were given a 2 hour wait time!! we tried going earlier/later - you could just not tell how it was going to be. However, if you were not particularly bothered about which restaurant you ate at , and they all were very good - you could always get in to one of them. The room was a bit smelly (drains?) upon arrival but it was cleaned thoroughly each day. air conditioning was very very effective and we actually got really cold duirng the night, so turned it right down to sleep. we loved the fact that there were lots of different pool areas/beach areas to go to. it was like going to a different resort each day depending on whether you wanted quiet/fun/music...? beach shoes are recommended for some of the beaches (coral was sharp) but Sunset Beach was beatifully sandy and good for swimming. great choice of water sports here too - very well organised. the bar service was absolutely fantastic!!! some people had their own big drinking cups with them (or you could buy them at the shop) which they could get filled up with water/soft drinks/rum punch etc !!! great selection of alcoholic drinks and lovely cocktails. we particularly liked the 'Infinity Bar' in the late afternoon. it was relaxing, cool and quiet at the end of a hot day sunbathing - stay to watch the sun setting - beautiful. we went on two trips organised by Thomsons - Dunn's River Falls/Bamboo Rafting and 'Seven Mile Beach/Rick's Cafe. both fantastic (although a long time on the bus to Dunn's - about 5 hours in total). Rick' Cafe was our favourite place - cliff divers, lively atmoshpere and fantastic cocktails while watching the sun setting. we can't wait to go back!! over all a great holiday - loads to do, fantastically friendly people, great food, beautiful setting. **don't forget to take something white to wear for the 'White Party'. not to be missed!!!! an amazing night!!!

Room Tip: not swanky posh!!! rooms were in need of a update to make them more appealing - but they have every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Greetings susan !

We have read your reviews and was very happy to know that you had such a great time while you were on vacation with us at Grand Palladium Resort & Spa. Most of all we are happy that you enjoyed the overall facility.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your reviews as this will help us to improve our product and services.

We look forward to your return visit on your next vacation.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Springs, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Fraud! Not a 4 or a 5 star hotel by any means! Customer service was the absolute worst and check in is a night mare! Went on all girls getaway. Arrived at the property a few hours earlier than check in. We were told the room would not be ready till 3:00pm we didn’t receive keys to our room until after 4:30pm! Upon entering in the room there was a foul smell of mold & mildew. Curtains were dirty & hanging off the rod. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. There was even a MOUSE HOLE! Needless to say I was not going to be staying in this room. Went back to the front desk to address the issue, the "manager" claimed there were no more rooms available. We demanded our money back! Another "manager" finally came out after an hour of going back and forth. She explained there was a cancellation and another room was available. The room which we were relocated was subpar! Nothing spectacular. Housekeeping was awful! Didn’t supply us with washcloths, we had to request them and then it took over 2 hours to receive them. The buffets are HORRIBLE! Nothing is appealing or fresh looking. The dinner restaurants are impossible to get in. Wait times up 2 hours or more! The only thing positive I can about this property is that they pool is great! Other than that please don’t waste your time staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Demeshia P,

Thank you for sharing your review. We must start by apologizing for the inconveniences which you have outlined in your review. While we strive for a perfect vacation we sincerely regret any mishap and rest assured that your concerns were not taken lightly.

We welcome your feedback as it will better assist us to improve the present product that we have. We would love for you to email us at assistdtor1.jamaica@palladiumhotelgroup.com to further discuss the happenings of your stay. We look forward to your email.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had a party of 10 (5 rooms) there for 1 week for our July wedding.

Currency- No need to exchange, everyone prefers USD and prices on resort property are all in USD.

Check in- There was no early check in option for anyone (prior to 3 pm). However they give you your wristband and full access to the resort and will hold your bags.

Upgrades- Prices vary but in general expect $10 USD per night for ocean view, $75 USD for bungalow. WORTH IT!! Our family that had the basic junior suites all wished they had done an upgrade.

AC- No issues. As others have mentioned we left a key card in the slot, kept fan on and shades drawn.

Food- Restaurants don't take reservations. Cuisine was good for an all inclusive resort!! Something for everybody. Our family particularly enjoyed Bubba's steakhouse and the Poseidon seafood restaurant. First week of July and resort was not full (probably at 60% capacity) and we never waited long for a table.

Drinks- Again very good for an all inclusive! Bartenders are not shy about their pours and will give you as much or as little as you want. Bring your own travel mug with you if you want a larger portion.

Water- Potable, safe to drink straight from the tap. However it was inconsistent, sometimes you got great pressure/heat sometimes you didn't departing upon the time of day.

Golf carts- THE WORST. Never on time. This was the worst part of our trip- the stress of waiting for them, having them never show up etc. It is a long walk from one end of resort to the other!

Housekeeping- Don't clean your rooms until VERY late in the day, in our case it was after 5 pm! We called on certain days to ask them to come & they never did. Were very stingy with the soaps.

Rooms- We stayed in a bungalow on the Lady Hamilton side. These are considered the best rooms at the resort. They include a very large jacuzzi as well as an outdoor shower. Other rooms were nice as well. I would compare all rooms to a 3-4 star resort, definitely not a 5 but nice enough.

Coconut water- Ask a groundskeeper, give them a few $, Tip- put in fridge for a few hours before drinking and it will taste SO much better!

Mini bar- Free and they will give u extra if you're in the room when someone comes to service.

Tipping in Jamaica- My husband and I have traveled the whole world but never experienced the type of insistent tip grabbing we found in Jamaica. Resort staff excluded (they were very polite)! However off resort, on excursions, at airport, etc. once they hear your American accent be prepared for them to straight up ask for a tip, or ask for a BIGGER tip. My parents even met local children in the resort pool asking them for money! It is interesting to note that we didn't see the locals doing this with people from other countries, they know how Americans tip and are not shy about demanding money. This is a common complaint I've also heard from other Americans who stopped at the cruise port.

Shopping at resort- Limited, beware 16.5% tax!!

Beaches- The best beach on the property is in the adults only area.

Water sports- Must wait your turn and everything not always available.

Weddings- Everything went well. Wedding coordinator was awesome, reception was great. Tip- order the Jamaican fruit cake, super yummy! I used offsite hair and makeup artist which is a ridiculous $300 extra charge to not use "their" spa. I still highly recommend going that route and using Rashel Edwards since she is well known as the best on the island!

Photography- I did use their on-site True Colors photography. This was not the best decision as the price was outrageous, we were given 2 photographers that looked about 16 years old and had difficulty communicating with each other (both seemed confused about what the other wanted us to do), and their customer service after the wedding has been horrendous. It took MANY emails to finally get our pictures 5 weeks later, however we are still waiting on the other things promised to us as part of the package.

Excursions- Check exactly how far a drive things are before booking! Dolphin Cove is right next door. However we did the Luminous Lagoon (Glistening Waters) and it was a 1.5+ hour drive EACH WAY. If you like hummingbirds I highly recommend the Rocklands Bird Sanctuary which is only 40 minutes away.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade! You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear FlyGirlHeather:

We have reviewed your comments and was very delighted to hear about the wonderful time you had while you were and most importantly you wedding went very well.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the overall facilities and we will share your comments with our team and work to improve on those areas that fell short of meeting your expectations. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your reviews as this will help us to improve our product and services.

We were extremely happy to have served you and we look forward to your return visit.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I went for a mini vacation with female cousins. We had a great time. There was something to do at all times. The "swim up" bar was great and the drinks just keep coming. The staff was wonderful. The Asian restaurant on site was not the best but all other eateries were great. The breakfast buffet will leave you stuffed. I am looking forward to visiting other sites within the Grand Palladium Family.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. Ask for extra towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear MizzDeelicious:

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews with us. We were delighted to hear about the wonderful time you had and we were very pleased to know that all went well. However, while we strive for a perfect vacation we regret that the Asian cuisine was not to your liking. We are however pleased that you enjoyed all the other exquisite cuisines.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write to us and share your reviews as this will help us to improve our product and services.

We are pleased that you will visit our other properties and we look forward to your return visit so that we can make it another grand vacation experience.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had a great time at this resort in august, blessed with great weather! The beach and views were beautiful and hanging in the pool all day never got old with the great service at the pool bar! Enjoyed being able to have a place to night swim! The POP crew always had something for both adaults and kids to do and the bartenders at the smaller pools were awesome! Only negative was the food was not that good

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your recent vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one in which you were satisfied and enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer to our valued guests, from our entertainment to lounging by our pools.

We welcome you to visit in the near future for another memorable vacation, nothing short of Grand.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Lots to see and do. Beautiful scenic views. Great food. Good service. I stayed on tower 21.My teen kids enjoyed the freedom and the amenities. My retired parents enjoyed the nightly shows. A total vacation package and well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Greetings michelle b!

Thank you for sharing your review based off your last vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer, from the entertaining nightly shows to the delicious meals which were had and the beautiful views and service received. We welcome your return in the future as it was our pleasure hosting you on your last stay. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.