We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask Leroy for a Miami Vice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Massachusetts
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ask Leroy for a Miami Vice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

First of all the Misses and I had a great time and recommend it for just about any age group. People looking for a lot of action or who have a hard time walking aound should avoid it, otherwise...

Second, except for one meal at one restaurant one night, the food and service were excellent. People very friendly, especially Leroy at the swim up pool bar and Chilli & Kasey in the Sports Bar.

Third, if you are going, go soon. Only about 1/3 full. Asthetically pleasing, but only open since July and while still clean, the general contractor who built it let the subcontractors get away with murder. The pool is clean, but it is going to need major attention before long. Many, many roof leaks, our shower faucet dripped. 99% of people won't notice these things.

Fourth, access to computers, but they are slower than dial up.

Fifth, Verizon is our cell carrier and it took a day or two to actually work. Two calls back to the States though the room phone were $12 US.

Finally, had a minor health issue, ran out of blood pressure medicine and a bout of gout and went to the nurses station. Very courteous and professional. Called a doctor from a local clinic, who arrived promptly, also very courteous and professional. Charged $120 US and took MasterCard. Had my pills delivered within an hour by pharmacy for $30 US cash only. Not saying I'd want to have a heart attack down there, but care I received was good.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    1,219
    640
    395
    350
See reviews for
1,070
1,693
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ont
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Well we arrived home yesterday morning, and I wanted to let people know what to expect from the GRAND Palladium.

The resort itself is beautiful. The rooms are nice (and spacious), and the people of Jamaica are always smiling.

However, the resort lacks in entertainment. Their shows are on the amateur side. However, they do have a lounge upstairs with live entertainment nightly (most of which is really good)

The food is decent (above average). We prefered the Indian restaurant best. Don't both going to Bubba's Steak House.

The beaches are spectacular. Especially the adult beach which offers silky water, a spectacular view, and privacy. One downside are the rocks. The Sunset Cove is also beautiful (although there is a lot of seaweed at the bottom)

We feel that although this resort is new, and has improvements to make, it is a beautiful resort (especially considering the great value right now) and will be worthwhile visiting in 6 months to a year (when they should be completely operational, and work out their quirks).

All things said, I would have to say Grand Palladium is GRAND, and definately worth the trip to Jamaica!!!

  • Liked — the beauty of the resort (it's surroundings)
  • Disliked — the entertainment; or lack of
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

The Resort Is Quite Large And Spread Out But Most Of The Places To Eat And Drink Are In The Center Area. For Picky Eaters Best To Stick With The Buffet As Some Sit Down Meals Are Spicy, Slow To Receive, Requires Pants / Casual Dress Up No Shorts. The Casino Was Still Not Open And We Were Told It Would Be By The Resort. Be Nice If They Had Somewhere Other Than The Sports Bar To Get Snacks Later In The Night. Bars Offer No Snacks Not Even Pretzels. The Music Was Not On In The Bars When No Band Etc Was Playing And The Staff Had A Hard Time Figuring Out How To Get Some Music On. Be Nice If The Upper Bar Above The Main Pool Had Tv"S For News, Sports Etc Especially When No Band Etc Going On. Beds Are A Bit Firm But Overall The Rooms Are Nice And Everything Worked. The Bathtub Would Take An Hour To Fill If Not More But The Jacuzzi Did Not Work Anyway. Some Units The Ice Machines Did Not Work And Not All Maid Service Is The Same. We Were Lucky To Have A Good One. The Beach Needs Much Work And Can't Walk In The Main Ones Due To Rocks. The Cove Area Beach Was Nice. Tour Prices At The Resort Vary Too Much And Can Bargain Down. They Need To Provide The Best Pricing. They Rotate What Resteraunt Is Open But Not Evenly I Don't Think. We Wanted A Steak And Waited 2 Days To Get A Decent One. All In All For Saving About $800 Less Than Sandals It Was Great But They Need Improvements. The Place Appears To Have Been Built Rather Fast And Work Is Sloppy In Areas. The Pools Have Numerous Tiles Coming Off. The Ride Is About 45min From The Airport Not 30min And Will Be An Hour If In Traffic. Not All Units Are Open Either. There Is Nothing Nearby So Better Have It With You Or Get It There. The Closest Town Of Lucea About 10min Away Has Nothing Really.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — No snacks at bar, beaches
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We went to Jamaica for our honeymoon between September 6th to September 13th 2008. Being one of THE favourable honeymoon spots of the world, we decided to take the chance and book with the new Grand Palladium Jamaica.

Overall, the Resort is very impressive and grand. It is very luxurious as far as looks are concerned. The main POOL is one of the most beautiful I have yet seen. Though the staff is very courteous, service wise, the resort is not a 5 star. Being a new resort, the staff is not experienced and lots of confused faces when asking for something simple. So, be patient because they do try.

One advice: bring lots of change if you wish to tip (which I strongly encourage since Jamaica is a VERY poor country, contrary to many beliefs): there is no way to make change or withdraw money at the lobby desk; a simple service that is usually available in most decent resorts. In the middle of our trip, we were unable to tip the staff because we had no more change left. Why didn’t we go to local resort shops for change you may ask? Well, let’s just say that most of the girls at the shops were never really nice and they never gave change, even though we explained the reason why we wanted some…

FOOD: the food is pretty good. The morning buffets are excellent, but lunch buffets where lacking in choice. The restaurants where also great, but Mexico is still the best in that department. ff you do not like spicy food, beware because Jamaicans love their spices.

BEACHES: the Grand Palladium has 4 small/medium beaches, so if you want a long and grand beach for your morning walks, this is not the place for you. All three are nice, including the main beach, but very rocky, so beware where you step on. However, the last beach of the resort called the Sunset Cove is beautiful and worth the walk. It is hidden and a very discrete beach, so anyone wishing to lay down and read a book, this is the place… plus, you have the Poseidon restaurant open for lunch, and some nights for sea food.

The ROOMS: the rooms are also very impressive and comfortable with a large bed, flat screen TV, controlled air and the staff come everyday to change your sheets. Please tip, the women really work hard…

Other important ADVICE: NEVER leave your hotel or resort with a taxi or without a Tour. Jamaica is pretty dangerous and tourists are not really welcomed outside your resort, to my big surprise. When booking tours, make sure they explain exactly, in detail, where you are going. We got screwed with our tour: they promised a great shopping spree with a brief Negril beach passage and fun time at Rick’s Café. Instead, we got to shop in highways shacks, got hassled at the boring Negril beach for 5 hours and we only got 45 minutes of stay at the FUN Rick’s café. So ask as many questions as possible.

A MUST: you have to visit Rick’s Café and the Appleton Rum distillery if you can. Really fun and interesting. We heard that the Blue Mountain excursion is also nice, but we were too far. We also visited the YS Falls, even though very nice, it is a little dangerous to swim in.

Overall, I loved the Grand Palladium Jamaica. If you do not have high expectations and plan ahead, you will have a wonderful time. The staff is generally very nice and I am sure they are going to get even more confident with time. However, I do not plan to go back to Jamaica because of the reasons explained during my review (tourists being unwelcome). I rather go elsewhere where the people are nice and grateful we are spending our well earned money in their country. Thank God for the Grand Palladium because we would have been quite disappointed of Jamaica, and really frightful.

  • Liked — It was well built and impressive look, the food was pretty good and the pool!
  • Disliked — Unwelcoming jamaicans, no money change service to encourage tipping the staff and low maintenance of the resort. I fear that if the maintenance is not done properly, the resort may lose its brand new look fast!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

Going to make it simple. We went for a quick 3 nighter Oct 3-6 just to make sure the Grand Palladium would be suitable for our wedding after reading some of the not so positive reviews.

POSITIVES: pools, bars, drinks, snorkeling @ adults only beach, food, service, friendliness, immaculate rooms, fitness center, spa

NEGATIVES: main beach needs quite of bit of work-rocks everywhere & I mean HUGE rocks, algae, etc. Not very swimable.
Other beaches are better but need some work as well. They assured us they are focusing on dedicating their time to all the landscaping now. Should be good to go in a few months.

SUMMARY: great place to get married
Since we have a proposed 50+ guests attending, the cost factor for those joining us was a main concern. I assure you, this is the best bang for your buck. You will not find another all inclusive of this standard at this price! However, if you wand top shelf liquor, this is NOT the place to be. If you truly want a fully stocked mini bar in your room, this is NOT the place to be. If you want everyone to have a great time and have a beautiful wedding this IS the place to be.

  • Liked — large pool with swim up bar
  • Disliked — main beach
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Very nice hotel big brand new hotel- sprawling grounds and various buildlings containing lovely hotel rooms. The pool was lots of fun and the food everywhere was wonderful. The people were very friendly and willing to help however they could. The only drawback was that there was really no decent beach other than Sunset Cove for those who like to hang at the beach. Snorkeling was nearly impossible except for a small area they call Coral Beach. There we did see some fish. Most beaches were very rocky and it was difficult difficult getting in and out of the water.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights from Oct 9-Oct 13. Our vacation got off to a bumpy start, which lasted about 1.5 hours. The check in desk claimed not to have gotten our Ocean View room request. They then tried to tell us that an upgrade would be made based on availability, but there were currently none available. This was upsetting being that the hotel is only 20% full (at most), so there is no way that there was not an Oceanview room. They said we could go to our room and they would call us if one became available, in which case we would have to pay $14/pp per night for the room upgrade. This is ridiculous, seeing how the resort was empty & at the Iberostar and Palace hotels we were upgraded for free (without even asking)!!

So we finally get to our room with a view of a path and power lines only to find that THE TOILET DOES NOT FLUSH!!!!! I had read other reviews on here about this happening and knew it would take forever for them to come fix it so we dragged all of our stuff super far back to the lobby and demanded and Ocean View room. They would not give it to us even after my now fiancé (he proposed on the trip) told them he was planning on proposing on our balcony overlooking the ocean. He had to get 2 different managers and SHOW THEM THE RING before they would finally get us our ocean view room!!! This could all have been solved in the first place if they just allowed you to book Oceanview online but that is not an option!!!!

Enough with the complaints, after that 1.5 hours, we got our Oceanview room and from there on out EVERYTHING was GREAT & exceeded our expectations!!!!!!!!!!

Food- So yummy! The breakfast omelets were the best we have ever had. You could pick your toppings and they made them to order. The selection at the breakfast and lunch buffets were really great...salads, pastas, chips and dip, fish, burgers, etc. The best lunch is at the sit down restaurant, Poseidon, on the Lady Hamilton side. The jerk chicken sauce is to die for! The Pastafarian restaurant also had sit down lunch, the lasagna was better than any restaurant at home!! For a snack everyday we went to the sports bar for quesadillas and nachos. As for the dinners, it was some of the best AI food we have had. The Jamaican restaurant was our favorite; the crab cakes and coconut shrimp were to die for!! My finance loved his steak there as well. Poseidon had great seafood dishes, the Jamaican Paella was great and the stuffed crab backs were yummy as well. We ate at the Japanese the night we got engaged and I had butterflies so bad that I could not really eat. The sushi I did pick at was OK, not bad by any means.

Resort Grounds- The pool is awesome just like the pictures, but BETTER!!! There is actually a lot more pretty landscaping than the pictures lead on. There are beautiful colorful plants and flower arrangements all over the resort. Their are 2 rocky "beaches" and 3 awesome sandy beaches. Who cares if 2 are rocky when you have THREE great ones. The best beach is Sunset Cove, on the Lady Hamilton side. It has a jerk shack, water sports, and the waiters at Poseidon will bring you drinks down to the beach. The pictures also do not do the water justice. It is crystal clear!! There are bars all over the place so you never have to worry about being without a drink. I would say to bring a larger cup/mug with you as their drink cups are very very small. The sports bar is just like a Champs sports bar with a large projector TV, a bunch of smaller plasmas, ping-pong, 2 pool tables, a bar and a snack bar where the chef will make you yummy snacks.

Service- The check in was our only poor service. After that it was great! The Jamaican people are so happy and proud of their country and of the hotel. They want to make sure that you are having just as good of a time as they are! Anything you need they are more than happy to do for you. The bartenders were the best of any resort we have been to. The drinks are strong and they keep them flowing. They also have very yummy shots and shooters which they encourage you to drink lots of by chanting "SHOT, SHOT, SHOT!!!" or "DRINK, DRINK, DRINK!!!" so much fun!!!!!!!!!!!!! We are in love with the Jamaican people, they are the biggest asset to the resort and atmosphere.

Everyone that we talked to agrees that this resort is awesome. Just know keep in mind that it is a 3 star maybe 3 1/2 star resort and you get what you pay for. If you want a 5 star go somewhere else. If you want good food, great drinks, great staff, and a beautiful beach (Sunset Cove) this is the place. We will be going back in the next year. I would stay on the Lady Hamilton side as it is the one with the best beaches and the grounds are more lush.

  • Liked — The food, staff, DRINKS!!!!
  • Disliked — check in, room had problems
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.