We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had wonderful time but there were issues!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
“Had wonderful time but there were issues!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I and 22 other people arrived Oct 31, 2013 for a wedding. we were greeted with a complimentary drink and check in was a breeze. Initially we noticed a mildew smell about the room, later we found out that the room (bldg 34 ) ended up flooding from the shower. ( now we know why it smelled the way it did) We were promptly moved to another room. The wedding was that Sat. and it rained,the bride's room was flooded, the first,second and third floor hallways were flooded, the only thing the staff was willing to do was provide everyone in the wedding party with a towel to dry their feet. walking on the wet floors in high heels was very dangerous and the wedding planner only replied "it's just water". For a wedding planner this was the most coldest woman who didn't seem to care about the nervous bride. The resturants, buffet, pool all great, Staff was fantastic and it pleased us to see them uniformed and dressed really nice every single day. The entertainment was great. Stay away from the food at the sports bar,....dry dry dry. My camera was stolen the first day I arrived so any memories I had on my memory card are gone forever. Again beautiful place, the spa was A1!!!...get yourself a more caring and friendly wedding planner...not sure I will be back to this resort again?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear denicen4053,

Thank you for sharing this review with us based off your stay here at our Resort. We welcome your feedback as it will better assist us to improve the present product that we have and also to prevent the stated mishaps from recurring.

We must extend our apologies for the inconveniences mentioned and would have loved for them to be brought to our attention while you were here for corrective action to be taken.

We are however pleased that you had a wonderful experience overall and that you enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer. We would love to be given the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future for you experience all the changes that will be made. until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,223
    1,141
    588
    370
    319
See reviews for
996
1604
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We (3 couples) stayed from 11/3-11/8 and enjoyed every minute.
I will start with Check-In, we arrived well before 3:00pm and were greeted with a rum punch and mostly smiles. The reason I say "mostly" is because arriving at the front desk the gentlemen who was checking us in was not very pleasant. I do wish I had gotten his name. Since all 3 couples booked together we stated to Bookit.com that we wanted rooms close to each other. The gentlemen checking us in did not seem to care and basically didn't offer a solution. Shortly after a very pleasant woman walked over and almost shoved him out of the way to take care of all of us. We were promptly taken care of and all placed in the same Villa (#13). In their words "No Problem Mon"!
We went about to tour the massive complex. It was beautiful! Based on experience we packed our bathing suits in our carry-on bags to quickly change and get into that huge pool. We spent the next few hours (because we really didn't keep track for a 3pm check in) getting drinks and enjoying all that the resort had to offer.
On to our rooms. As I stated we were in Villa 13 which was perfect! The rooms were what we needed, clean, spacious and as others had stated had a large jacuzzi tub with separate shower. We were lucky enough to have an ocean view. Being in Villa 13 was a plus as it was close to everything.
Here's a list of Pros and Cons:

Pros:
Beautiful location
Wonderful Staff (with a very few exceptions) expecially Heather (our housekeeper) Carrie (at the pool bar) Jimmy (our shuttle driver)
Food was amazing, something for everyone. (Even gluten free for those that need it)
Sunset Cove
Entertainment Team

Cons:
The pillows are somewhat stiff
The size of the resort (but this could also be a pro as it's never overcrowded and you get plenty of exercise)
The lack of elevators

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Loves2Travel1026,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent vacation here with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to read about the wonderful time and experiences that you have had.

As a 5 Star Resort we pride ourselves in the level of service which we provide to our guests. It is important that our guests have a grand vacation and it is great knowing that you enjoyed all that we have to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future for another vacation nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just got back from a two week holiday, and have to say don't know what all the negative reviews are about. On checking in we had a minor issue about room allocation, we needed rooms side by side because our daughter is disabled when we got there we were on the top floor and bottom floor.This was the travel agents fault not the hotels, they sorted it out quickly but had to move us to the lady Hamilton side. This wasn't a problem as it is all one resort and facilities are shared.
First we'll start with the rooms, very big and well furnished if a little dated, air con and a fridge stocked daily with beer soft drinks and water. the bath rooms were large with a massive Jacuzzi bath and a large shower. The rooms were very clean and well kept.
The pool is unbelievably large, we were told the largest in the carribean. There is no shortage of beds and there are two poolside bars and a swim up bar ( keep a look out for Martin, Alex and Jonathon in the swim up bar).
The food is fantastic our daughter is very fussy but never failed to find something to eat in the buffet. We only did three of the Al a carte restraunts the Itallian, Indian and steakhouse all three were fantastic but the steakhouse was the best. P.s you gotta try the Jerk hut the chicken is out of this world.
The bars are great as well, lots of cocktails to try,Ask for a Dirty banana, Hummingbird or a purple rain. The sports bar is great pool tables and ping pong for the kids or big kids, and you can get something to eat 22 hrs a day.
The infinity bar is the main bar with bands on and a premium bar on one side called miss Lou's(although you can get Jim beam and Smirnoff in all the bars) lookout for John in the Infinity bar he's the best bar man ever.
The entertainment team are great as well but if you don't want to join in they don't hassle you.
The watersports are great as well at sunset cove a great little beach near the jerk hut with a little coral reef close to shore loads of weird and wonderful creatures to see so pack your snorkels.
we didn't visit the other beaches to be honest so can't really comment.
All in all if you've booked this hotel your in for a great time, we heard a few people complaining about trivial little things but they were petty to say the least.
We will definitely be back to Jamaica and this resort, Thanks for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: We stopped in block 37 close to pretty much everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This past October I traveled to grand palladium Jamaica for the 5th time. The resort has amaxing views of deep blue waters. The food is fantastic with a wide variety of dining options. What brings me back to this particular resort is the entertainment team. They add a personal touch to your vacation experience. They involve guest in many activities allowing guests to meet one another. The nightly shows are fantastic with the very talented dance team. My favorite entertainment people would have to be Honey, Buttercup, Cecil, and Mr.Go. There are very good at their jobs and are always involving guests creating memories for your vacation experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Katie0784,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff. We will be sure to pass your kind words to those which you have outlined.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Anyone that complains about this resort are just not happy people in general!!!!! Nothing would please them!! This was my 8th trip to the Caribbean.Quick check in. The place is huge .Call Donald if your to drunk to walk or forget where your room is!!! What can I say? It happens! All of the staff are friendly, happy, and helpful!!!! They speak English. Onar is the best bartender. Food was Spectacular no matter where you ate!! You can drink the water.No food issues!! The room was GREAT!! 2 rms. 2tv's. AC could have been a little cooler, but ok. Closing the curtains help. I have NO CLUE why people say not to leave the resort!!! If you want to take any trips I highly recommend that you go to the beach by the jerk hut, and look for a guy in a kayak out by the rope. His name is Michael. He will take you on any trip for a lot less than the hotel. It is so much nicer going on a trip with a few people instead of 20! He makes a living by helping you have the best time on your vacation. He is a big asset to the resort.Drawbacks..... ( things that i am use to on vacation when paying $3000 a couple) I was very disappointed that you could only get top shelf alcohol at 1 bar , and it was limited. I'm used to getting anything I want at any bar. No room service. It is nice to have this in case you want it. No servers on beach taking drink orders. It's all stuff you can live with !! And as on any vacation .... The French Canadians are always mean, rude, ignorant, and cheap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You do get more bang for your buck in the DR, but I will go back to Jamaica next year!!

Room Tip: We were in building 34, and it was a long way to restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear MissyKeiperUnkle,

Thank you for sharing your review based off your last vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica and also your recommendations. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer, from the luxurious accommodations to the delicious meals which were had. We welcome your return in the future as it was our pleasure hosting you on your last stay. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Went to this resort for a few days and I did not want to leave. First time my wife and I went to Jamaica and this place was beautiful. The food was excellent and plenty of restaurants to choose from. Drinks were plentiful and staff was friendly. Make sure you bring a lot of dollar bills for tips. There were shows every night and stores in the property. The stores in the property are very expensive. Bring snorkeling equipment with you if you enjoy seeing the beautiful reef and sea life. Be careful of the water sports staff as they will try to scam you. They would ask for $30 US to give a five minute lesson for sailboat. I offered only five and they accepted. Most of the staff were very friendly and service with a smile. Would love to go again in this resort. Would not recommend night shows for children as some of them were adult oriented.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view. They gladly moved us to a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Took us 2 hours to get checked in. Our room's AC wasn't working properly, the a la carte restaurants only have first come first serve policy, which is really dumb.

The resort is huge, well kept. But it was too big for me, gigantic.

The food tasted fine, but my friend found a bug in her paella the first night. We paid so much money, they should have room service.

Next time I'm sticking to the RIU chains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Room Division Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your last vacation at the Grand Palladium Jamaica.

All reports help us to understand what our guests need or want from their vacation. I will take note about the issues that you mentioned in your report.

In reference to your check in experience, I would like to apologize for that. We will take action to improve our service in that area.

Our air conditioning supply to the guests’ rooms are usually sufficient enough to cool the room with a maximum of four adults. Any variations in temperature were usually attributed to doors being left open or keys being removed from the slot which keeps the in-room electricity going. As it relates to this particular case however, we will take the necessary steps to address this issue in a timely manner.

Concerning our restaurants a la carte, we have the system “first come first served” with no reservations, to offer more possibilities to our guests, when the restaurant is full, we offer a pager and we call as soon as a table is liberated, so the costumer is free to be at the bar, lobby or other places until a table is ready.

For Palladium, hygiene and food quality are taken seriously; we follow strict procedures while handling our food products to prevent and avoid any kind of alimentary risks and hazards. We are sorry that your friend had a poor experience with our food and I can assure the necessary measures have been taken not to have a repeat of such incident.

The Grand Palladium is an exclusive family oriented hotel which aims to ensure exclusivity and relaxation, so all guests can enjoy a relaxed and pleasant stay. We appreciate your nice words about our well kept property.

We regret profoundly the failure to meet your expectations and I remain personally at your entire disposition for whatever you may require of our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.