We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, Amazing people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place, Amazing people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just got back from a two week holiday, and have to say don't know what all the negative reviews are about. On checking in we had a minor issue about room allocation, we needed rooms side by side because our daughter is disabled when we got there we were on the top floor and bottom floor.This was the travel agents fault not the hotels, they sorted it out quickly but had to move us to the lady Hamilton side. This wasn't a problem as it is all one resort and facilities are shared.
First we'll start with the rooms, very big and well furnished if a little dated, air con and a fridge stocked daily with beer soft drinks and water. the bath rooms were large with a massive Jacuzzi bath and a large shower. The rooms were very clean and well kept.
The pool is unbelievably large, we were told the largest in the carribean. There is no shortage of beds and there are two poolside bars and a swim up bar ( keep a look out for Martin, Alex and Jonathon in the swim up bar).
The food is fantastic our daughter is very fussy but never failed to find something to eat in the buffet. We only did three of the Al a carte restraunts the Itallian, Indian and steakhouse all three were fantastic but the steakhouse was the best. P.s you gotta try the Jerk hut the chicken is out of this world.
The bars are great as well, lots of cocktails to try,Ask for a Dirty banana, Hummingbird or a purple rain. The sports bar is great pool tables and ping pong for the kids or big kids, and you can get something to eat 22 hrs a day.
The infinity bar is the main bar with bands on and a premium bar on one side called miss Lou's(although you can get Jim beam and Smirnoff in all the bars) lookout for John in the Infinity bar he's the best bar man ever.
The entertainment team are great as well but if you don't want to join in they don't hassle you.
The watersports are great as well at sunset cove a great little beach near the jerk hut with a little coral reef close to shore loads of weird and wonderful creatures to see so pack your snorkels.
we didn't visit the other beaches to be honest so can't really comment.
All in all if you've booked this hotel your in for a great time, we heard a few people complaining about trivial little things but they were petty to say the least.
We will definitely be back to Jamaica and this resort, Thanks for an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: We stopped in block 37 close to pretty much everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,208
    1,121
    571
    365
    307
See reviews for
971
1588
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (939)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aston, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This past October I traveled to grand palladium Jamaica for the 5th time. The resort has amaxing views of deep blue waters. The food is fantastic with a wide variety of dining options. What brings me back to this particular resort is the entertainment team. They add a personal touch to your vacation experience. They involve guest in many activities allowing guests to meet one another. The nightly shows are fantastic with the very talented dance team. My favorite entertainment people would have to be Honey, Buttercup, Cecil, and Mr.Go. There are very good at their jobs and are always involving guests creating memories for your vacation experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Katie0784,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff. We will be sure to pass your kind words to those which you have outlined.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Anyone that complains about this resort are just not happy people in general!!!!! Nothing would please them!! This was my 8th trip to the Caribbean.Quick check in. The place is huge .Call Donald if your to drunk to walk or forget where your room is!!! What can I say? It happens! All of the staff are friendly, happy, and helpful!!!! They speak English. Onar is the best bartender. Food was Spectacular no matter where you ate!! You can drink the water.No food issues!! The room was GREAT!! 2 rms. 2tv's. AC could have been a little cooler, but ok. Closing the curtains help. I have NO CLUE why people say not to leave the resort!!! If you want to take any trips I highly recommend that you go to the beach by the jerk hut, and look for a guy in a kayak out by the rope. His name is Michael. He will take you on any trip for a lot less than the hotel. It is so much nicer going on a trip with a few people instead of 20! He makes a living by helping you have the best time on your vacation. He is a big asset to the resort.Drawbacks..... ( things that i am use to on vacation when paying $3000 a couple) I was very disappointed that you could only get top shelf alcohol at 1 bar , and it was limited. I'm used to getting anything I want at any bar. No room service. It is nice to have this in case you want it. No servers on beach taking drink orders. It's all stuff you can live with !! And as on any vacation .... The French Canadians are always mean, rude, ignorant, and cheap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You do get more bang for your buck in the DR, but I will go back to Jamaica next year!!

Room Tip: We were in building 34, and it was a long way to restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear MissyKeiperUnkle,

Thank you for sharing your review based off your last vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica and also your recommendations. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer, from the luxurious accommodations to the delicious meals which were had. We welcome your return in the future as it was our pleasure hosting you on your last stay. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Went to this resort for a few days and I did not want to leave. First time my wife and I went to Jamaica and this place was beautiful. The food was excellent and plenty of restaurants to choose from. Drinks were plentiful and staff was friendly. Make sure you bring a lot of dollar bills for tips. There were shows every night and stores in the property. The stores in the property are very expensive. Bring snorkeling equipment with you if you enjoy seeing the beautiful reef and sea life. Be careful of the water sports staff as they will try to scam you. They would ask for $30 US to give a five minute lesson for sailboat. I offered only five and they accepted. Most of the staff were very friendly and service with a smile. Would love to go again in this resort. Would not recommend night shows for children as some of them were adult oriented.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean view. They gladly moved us to a ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Took us 2 hours to get checked in. Our room's AC wasn't working properly, the a la carte restaurants only have first come first serve policy, which is really dumb.

The resort is huge, well kept. But it was too big for me, gigantic.

The food tasted fine, but my friend found a bug in her paella the first night. We paid so much money, they should have room service.

Next time I'm sticking to the RIU chains.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Room Division Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your last vacation at the Grand Palladium Jamaica.

All reports help us to understand what our guests need or want from their vacation. I will take note about the issues that you mentioned in your report.

In reference to your check in experience, I would like to apologize for that. We will take action to improve our service in that area.

Our air conditioning supply to the guests’ rooms are usually sufficient enough to cool the room with a maximum of four adults. Any variations in temperature were usually attributed to doors being left open or keys being removed from the slot which keeps the in-room electricity going. As it relates to this particular case however, we will take the necessary steps to address this issue in a timely manner.

Concerning our restaurants a la carte, we have the system “first come first served” with no reservations, to offer more possibilities to our guests, when the restaurant is full, we offer a pager and we call as soon as a table is liberated, so the costumer is free to be at the bar, lobby or other places until a table is ready.

For Palladium, hygiene and food quality are taken seriously; we follow strict procedures while handling our food products to prevent and avoid any kind of alimentary risks and hazards. We are sorry that your friend had a poor experience with our food and I can assure the necessary measures have been taken not to have a repeat of such incident.

The Grand Palladium is an exclusive family oriented hotel which aims to ensure exclusivity and relaxation, so all guests can enjoy a relaxed and pleasant stay. We appreciate your nice words about our well kept property.

We regret profoundly the failure to meet your expectations and I remain personally at your entire disposition for whatever you may require of our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a great time on my Honeymoon. Activities were cool to participate and they had an awards ceremony at the end of each night with a show as well which was entertaining. The jerk chicken shack was awesome and the location on the beach was great. It was a little far away from the airport - so I would rent a car the next time I would visit. I would recommend staying to anyone. The big pool is awesome but I stayed at the adult pool most of the time. Everyone was very friendly and there was red stripe in the fridge everyday!!

Room Tip: ANy room is good - just call the front desk and they send a shuttle to pick you up at anytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Greetings Baxheadcase,

Thank you for sharing with us your review based off your wonderful honeymoon vacation spent here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer and that your expectations were met. We hope that in the future we will be your Resort of choice for another vacation nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I just returned from a 3 night 4 day birthday get away with 8 women. We booked with Cheap Caribbean . We arrived at the Jamaican side of resort and were greeted with a drink. There was no wait at desk, but it took girls quite awhile to get us in rooms together in same building. That was our only request and we were willing to take a king if no doubles were available . We were sent to two rooms , the other two were not ready. When we opened the door of one of the rooms , the smell of mold was unbearable. The other room , the air did not work. Not wanting to miss a second of time enjoying our get away , we quickly changed into suits and set out to see the resort. It was beautiful. The pools, beaches and the setting.
When it got dark we stopped by the desk to find the room we were waiting to be cleaned was not available and we were put in room 1609. My room mate and I quickly moved our suitcases to our room and unpacked. The room also had a strong mold odor, but we figured they all do and decided to shower quickly and get out of there. After coming out of the shower the floor was flooded all the way out to the hallway. This was crazy. The water was pouring out of the ceiling of the bathroom. All of our clothes and makeup got soaked. We called for help. No one ever came. We called again and said it was urgent again no one came. We quickly dressed threw all our towels on floor and moved all our things back to the other moldy room. We were worried the ceiling was going to fall on us.
We went to front desk to get another room, since no one showed up we asked for the manager. Our friends went to let the Steak restaurant know that we were on our way and were delayed because of the trouble with our room. Ingrid at the desk came , said she would find us another room. She also went over to Steak restaurant and asked them to get us in sooner. We had lost our table while two of our party of 8 were still trying to find a safe room to sleep in. Which at this point we figured we could triple up with our friends and sleep on couch. You see we all just wanted have fun and celebrate together, not waste time at check-in.
Well, Darnell (name she told me on oct 31) , hostess at Steak Restaurant got annoyed. So after making us wait an hour for our table ,she told us there were no tables available and seated us on two four tops away from each other. The problem was there were empty table all around us. She could of easily sat us together. So when the meals came and the medium well steaks were RAW, we did not complain or eat them for fear of spit in our food. And that is honest and sad to say. Ingrid found us a room right next 1609, the flooded room. 1607. Ingrid also offered to launder our clothes, but we declined, only having packed a few outfits. Ingrid asked that we let her made it right. My room mate suggested a spa treatment for all the stress that day.
In spite of all the chaos , we laughed and enjoyed ourselves. We reminded ourselves how lucky were to be together and grateful for our friendships. So we laughed at the poor service and moldy, hot rooms.
Day two we found the sunset beach. 8 chairs together in the water with kayaking, paddle boats and jerk chicken on the beach. Great day. We also found the staff at the Poseidon, sunset cove were great fun loving people, that smiled whether you tipped or not. When Stacy Anne , manager asked us the next day what we thought as she stopped by our table we said: Dave, Michael Flether, Yanique, Shani, Damian B, Kenneil, Verona and Tashahia were fabulous . We are grateful Stacy actually cared and asked. Thank you Posedon for giving our two birthday girls a night to remember!
So Saturday rolls around and we have never heard from Ingrid again about Spa treatments after calling , paging and leaving notes for Ingrid. We joke and say they will probably come right before we are leaving. Which they did. But we got the two first appointments on Sunday . My 30 minute complimentary massage was from Doreen. Wonderful. And my room mates , was by the man working nov 3. She said her gave her best massage ever.
Ingrid , thank you . Better late than never. If we knew how great the Spa was all 8 of us would of spent our last day there when it was raining.
PROs
House keeping brought towels promptly
Beautiful resort and gardens
Food mostly good,
Jamaican - classy
Poseidon -friendliest
Piano bar- mellow , great coffee and martini
Water sports a blast
Some staff friendly , all at Poseidon
And Jamaican restaurant

CONS
Slippery floors (marble)
Plan to walk or wait a long long time for shuttle
No one comes to room when there are problems
Front desk have attitude and play games
Rooms are moldy
Hair dryers broke and cord too short, bring your own.
Some rooms air does not work
Fridges warm 2 out of 4
Ants in some rooms, still crawling on suitcases at checkout.
Watered booze (this could be a pro for some)

After talking with other guests at resort, many complained about same things. Moldy rooms with no air, had to upgrade to find acceptable room. poor resort transpotation. Ceiling leaking, repairs never happen or take several days.

So I can not recommend this resort and will not come back again because vacations are too short and can not be spent dealing with flooded moldy rooms. Hopefully Ingrid and Jose will listen and give this information to someone who can fix these problems . Most people had same problems when you read reviews. Good luck!

Room Tip: Not building 16. Moldy, air not working. Very far from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Accommodations Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your negative impression of our property and our offerings. Your feedback is very helpful to us in evaluating our service and we will certainly be looking into the observations which you have made with a view to taking corrective action.

We appreciated your kind comments in relation to Housekeeping, our beautiful resort, gardens and restaurants. It is pertinent for us to point out that as a five star resort, the comfort and satisfaction of our guests takes very high priority. While my team and I had put out the best effort in addressing your matter in a timely manner; we might have experienced some challenges, for which we would like to profoundly apologize.

Regarding your comment “moldy room with no air”, our air conditioning supply to the guests’ rooms are usually sufficient enough to cool the room with a maximum of four adults. Any variations in temperature were usually attributed to doors being left open or keys being removed from the slot which keeps the in-room electricity going. As it relates to this particular case however, we have taken due notice and are delighted to inform you that the necessary steps have been taken to address the matter.

We regret to hear about your dissatisfaction with our transportation system, please be mindful though that the carts are presently for arriving and departing guests, sorry for the misunderstanding regarding this service.

As it relates to the leaking issue in your room, we are happy our Maintenance team and I responded quickly and adequately when you reported it.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again and assist you in forming the correct impression of our property.


Best regards

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.