We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Toronto, ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at this resort, and are returning with several others next march for our daughters wedding at The grand palladium.
We fell in love with the workers and have made many jamaican friends over time. It is a beautiful resort and mngt. Has always gone out of there way to make our anniversaries special. It is a resort that makes you feel as if your in a different place every day..with so many different Secluded spots, beaches, coves and a variety of delious food, and a great place for one that loves taking photos..you will capture some of the most beautiful sunsets ever, along with other scenery shots. The workers of this resort have worked endlessly to create beautiful beaches accented with the natural beauty of coral. When my husband and I read some of the negative reviews about this resort, we are sadened. The jamaican people are kind people trying to make a living catering to all. Everyone can have a bad day at any givin time, so if you are planning to visit jamaica, just remember.....its a beautiful scenic island with kind people working at a no problem pace. Relax and enjoy the culture.





  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,193
    1,106
    562
    353
    300
See reviews for
948
1574
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our family of 4 (two teenagers, 13 and 18) stayed at this resort for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time. Like many other reviewers on here we read all previous reviews and were a little apprehensive about going but we shouldn’t have worried this place was great.

We arrived at the resort at about 4.30pm and while there was a queue for check in it wasn’t too bad as our rep had given us the forms that needed completing on the bus so after about a 15 minute wait (as lots of people were checking in at the same time) and a rum punch or two, the process took no longer than 5 mins. One thing I will note, which is a management issue NOT the reception staff’s fault, is that there were not enough room keys available for us to have 2 for each room (we had 2 rooms) and there was a shortage of towel cards – we were told to come back in the morning to get towels and additional keys which we did – no problem. Surely this minor issue could be sorted by ordering some more keys and cards?!?

The wait for the cart to take us to building 23 was 10 minutes (again – a lot of people arrived at the same time!). The bellboy was polite and chatty and took us to the rooms, carried the cases upstairs and ensured we could get in. The standard tip is $1 per bag but this was not expected.

Our rooms were fine, but to be honest the rooms were where most of the issues lie. The beds were not hard as some people have reported but the pillows were – a good job we had brought our own as we tend to do when travelling because they don’t take up much weight in the case. To get to the top floor of the buildings you need to climb 40 steps (20 to the middle floor) – yes we counted them, just to see what all the fuss was about with people complaining about no lifts. This, for us , was not an issue but if you do have a mobility issue then request a ground floor room. The bedroom was nicely furnished and cool (not overly airconditioned but pleasantly cool) with a huge bed or two double beds in the twin, a TV, sofabed, table and chairs, wardrobe with safe, minibar, and as we struggled to find out on any site a coffee maker. We didn’t have the advertised iPod doc but that was not an issue for us but it would have been nice to have an alarm clock rather than having to rely on phones. Now on to the bathroom – this is where we had a few issues...overall it was badly maintained with paint drips on the tiles, badly done silicone sealant around the bath and limescale marks in the shower also the ceiling looked a bit grimy (it was plastic panels – surely it would have been better to plaster it?) also the plaster work on the walls looked like I had done it (and I have never plastered in my life), overall just a bit uncared for and needing a makeover. The lighting over the shower was not great and the drain didn’t drain quick enough but didn’t smell as some have reported. Yes, the bathrooms needed some work but it didn’t impact on our enjoyment of the holiday.

The maid came in every day and cleaned the room well but did not go the extra mile with things like towel art etc. even when tipped. This could be that the amount of rooms they have to clean means they do not have time but little things like this make the holiday special. The minibar was restocked every day too but the one issue we had was that the coffee for the machine was not replaced even when we left a tip and a note asking for more. We like a coffee in a morning before breakfast and one in the evening when getting ready for dinner but found that we were not always able to do this – until we found the room on the top floor of the building with the box of coffee in :-). Also we have noticed that a lot of people have reported an issue with no towels in the rooms, we did experience this but only once in each room over the two weeks. We would suggest on these occasions that it is not the maids who haven’t bothered to put towels in the room but the fact that they don’t have clean towels to use – again a management issue which could be easily rectified!?! On these occasions we got clean beach towels, used those to shower in an evening and replaced them for clean ones in the morning – no problem.

As for those people who have an issue with wifi – YOU ARE ON HOLIDAY, why is it so important for you to access the internet? Relax and spend time with the people you are there with.
Enough of the issues, now for the praise...don’t know where to start because there was so much to praise. The grounds were immaculate and stunningly landscaped, the gardeners and security staff were friendly – yes we said hello and smiled as we walked past. There were security guards all over the resort and we didn’t have a problem with our 13yr old walking around the resort on his own, day or night.

The food – we must say that we ate in the buffets for every meal, as we are a family with many different dietry requirements, and we all found plenty to eat at each meal. We were greeted by the staff in the buffet pleasantly and always treated them the same way –we saw a lot of people being very rude to the staff, not even using please and thank you and issuing orders like “give me” or “get me”, we were surprised that the staff managed to keep their temper with these people! Politeness costs nothing and goes a long way to making your holiday a pleasant one. We did tip the servers in the restaurant for good and efficient service, which we received most but not all of the time, but it was not expected and not once were we hassled for a tip and we were always thanked. The food in the buffets was the same in each restaurant with the exception of an ice-cream machine in Negril Buffet and not in the MoBay one – management please note that this is why Negril is busier as all families are heading that way – get an ice-cream machine in MoBay and problem solved! We all enjoyed the food and agreed that it was the best All Inclusive food that we have ever had (no this is not our first All Inclusive holiday :-) ), the range was fantastic and the variety each day was great but there was always burgers, pizza etc... available for the less adventurous amongst you along with some great cooked to order pasta. The deserts...the cakes were fantastic, especially the chocolate cake and the variety each day was brilliant, it wasn’t the same stuff every day. Some people have reported loads of flies around the buffet, some flies are unavoidable but there were not many at all and the staff do their best to keep them away by covering up the bread etc.

The pools were great and we could always get sunloungers where we wanted them. The lifeguards were always around and the pool attendants cleaned the pool every day. We did notice that the pool seemed to have a dirty area (on the Lady Hamilton side) where there were loads of drinks spilt in the pool, cups abandoned straws floating in the pool etc... but this wasn’t all the time and spilt drinks are to be expected with a swim up bar. Even though the resort was busy the pool was never too crowded. The area around the Jamaica side of the pool is quieter than Lady Hamilton side as the activities centre is there. We can’t comment on the activities or the evening shows as we didn’t do any of them. The bars around the pool had help yourself soda machines and bar tenders to serve other drinks. Yes, the cups are smallish (half pint) but so what, you have a maximum of 15m to walk from anywhere round the pool to a bar and if the cups were any bigger the drink would go warm before you had managed to drink it.

The Infinity bar in an evening is fantastic, great live bands and brilliant staff. We were here every evening and had the best time, trying lots of different cocktails and chilling out listening to the music and watching the lightning. The staff, especially Marlene, Kevon, Gregory and Junior, here are great and earned their tip with every drink. Although a tip was never requested let alone demanded (as some people have said) we always tipped these guys as they made the holiday for us – dancing behind the bar or making “special” cocktails for our 18yr old daughter who never knew what she wanted to drink! Also they made many different non-alcoholic cocktails for our son. A great team who deserve credit.

There are loads of little beaches around the resort and although these are rocky and not the best for swimming but they provided great places for wandering round and exploring. The main beach at sunset cove is lovely, not a huge beach but an interesting one and good for swimming - no need for water shoes. The snorkelling there is brilliant especially at the right hand side of the beach – no need to go out of your depth to see some fantastic fish. We did take our own equipment so can’t comment on the stuff available from the watersports team though. The kayaks, sailing boat and pedalloes were available at this beach, you didn’t get long on them but the team were helpful and pleasant.

There was a teen room which isn’t well advertised (no sign outside the door) but provided a great place for an hour or so to chill out, out of the midday sun, for our son. It is next to the Negril buffet & casino and has Xbox, playstation, TV/dvd player, PCs etc. all free to use.

We must admit that the noise at night really took us by surprise, not from the bands/entertainment but from the wildlife! The crickets and tree frogs create their own night time symphony which really took us by surprise the first night as we walked to the restaurant – initially we were looking for a smoke alarm that needed a new battery!! Must admit though that they didn’t keep us awake and seemed to get quiet about 1am. Also the reports of roaches in the bars/restaurants may be a case of mistaken identity, we saw a couple of crickets wandering around the outside bars at night but did not see one roach at all.

The size of this resort is huge but surely you know that when you book – it was one of the deciding factors for us as we like lots of places to look round and explore. From our building (23) to the main building / pool it took 3 minutes to walk at a leisurely pace and 7 minutes from the Jamaica side of the pool to the beach at the same pace. Yes, we timed it because of all the fuss made by some people. If you are fat and lazy this may be a problem for you but don’t book this hotel if that is the case! Also the resort is in the middle of nowhere (ish), again a deciding factor for us as we like a peaceful holiday, but please don’t complain that there is nowhere to walk to from the hotel as you should have known this too!

One thing that did confuse us is the need for two hotels on one site...we chatted to a few people who were staying on the Lady Hamilton side and from comparing notes the only thing we could see that was different in the rooms was that the level of maintenance was better on the LH side but the level of housekeeping was the same. Oh, and the Jamaica side is cheaper.

Overall this was a fantastic holiday with a few minor issues that did not spoil our enjoyment of the trip and we would definitely return to this resort again. You are in Jamaica Mon, go with the flow, slow down to the Jamaican pace of life, be polite and enjoy this wonderful resort.

Room Tip: Buildings 25 and 15 are very central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for 7 nights. Weather was fab and the hotel not overly busy.

Positives
- good food choice
- large complex with plenty of room and pool space
- large drinks choice
- rooms (jacuzzi, mini bar, toiletries)
- friendly, helpful staff
- Dunn river fall is a must do trip (about 2 hr journey but worth it)
- hotel has its own beach

Negatives
- entertainment was average but would be good for families
- not much around the hotel but for 7 days we didn't need anymore

Would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After the 10 hour flight we were pleasantly surprised at how quickly we passed through the airport. A 40 minute journey found us arriving at the hotel. Check in was fine and we were taken to our room. Located in block 14 the room was spacious and clean. The bathroom has a large bath and walk in shower. Toiletries were provided so at a push you could get away without taking any. The hotel has 3 buffet restaurants for breakfast. We ate in the blue lagoon, it is outside, but the food was good and the service was great. Our waitress was called Totlyn and she looked after us like we were the only people there. Mornings were spent around a great pool. Never any problems finding a sunbed and because the pool is so large you are not fighting your way through the crowds. For lunch there are 2 buffet restaurants available but we had a light snack at Miss Lou's bar. It's a cocktail bar which provides a variety of rolls and cakes. It is also the bar where you can get branded drinks. My wife enjoys a few baileys, so this was great. The only set back was the bar seemed to limited to 2 bottles per day and they always ran out. After a light lunch we would take a stroll off to Sunset cove, one of 3 beaches. The beaches aren't great but again they were never crowded and we used to have a sunbed with our towels on plus one in the water. Life is about laying on a sunbed with the water lapping over you! August is Jamaica's rainy season and during the afternoons the clouds would come over and we would get a rumble of thunder. On 2 occasions it poured down and with the lightning we were advised to stay out of the water. After a busy day of sunbathing we would head over to the spa. We didn't take advantage of the treatments available but I know they were charging $64 for a 50 minute massage. In the spa we used the various pools and sauna. The steam room was out of action and didn't have a door on it. After a few drinks we would head back to the room to prepare for the evening. The rooms were cleaned everyday. For our evening meals we dined in the a la carte restaurants of which there are 7, Mexican, Fish, Asian, Jamaican, Steak, Indian & Italian. The food was very good and although the service varied it was always of a high standard. The only problem is two of the restaurants are closed most evenings which means the remaining 5 are busy. To guarantee a table you would have to eat at 6pm, that is too early for us so we found ourselves having to wait. By the way you cannot reserve a table, the Americans in particular didn't find this amusing! The evening buffet restaurants have a poor selection and you have to wait to be seated. This often meant there queues outside. There are a number of trips available but you must try Dunns river falls. Tips, whilst tipping wasn't expected around the hotel we did because the service deserved it, but on the trips they are there with their hands outs. But we were advised to pay what we thought it was worth. The guide on our trip to the falls was great. Very knowledgeable and funny. By the way if you didn't already know Jamaicans are very laid back, there is no such thing as a problem just situations! Our Thomson rep Anthony was very helpful but because he had only been at the hotel for a few months he didn't make us aware of items such as the restaurants closing. Staff at reception were helpful as was every member of staff. We were always greeted with a smile and good morning from everyone. Evening entertainment can be found in 2 places. The POP, people of palladium put on shows and there is music and dancing at the infinity bar. The guys behind the bar are a source of amusement as they join in singing and dancing to the music. So in summary, Jamaica & the Grand Palladium are very good. The people are lovely and it makes a great holiday. Well worth the 10 hour flight. So chill out, be cool and remember "yeah man".

Room Tip: The grand palladium is a big hotel, if you want to be next to the restaurants and pool then block 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Absolutely incompetence on every level and in every area- housekeeping, dining, reception, check in, customer relations team, wedding planner and the general manager. Room cleaning and stocking varied from day to day. After speaking with a number of the staff that expressed they received minimal training but enjoy their jobs and are happy to have employment. Therefore they do their best to perform their duties. It is clear that the management are aware of the many problems experienced. This facility is far below a 4 or 5 star rating.

Accessibility:
None of the building have an elevator for the differently abled, parents with young children in strollers, the elderly.
Imagine the difficulty experience by those individuals

Design flaws, Flooded bathrooms:
Third floor room would consistently flood after every shower. I am not sure if guest on other floor experienced consistently flooding, but there were other complaints of water leakage.

Service:
The general staff, housekeeping and restaurant try to respond to the guests’ requests but they are often under-equipped to provided- lack of customer service training.

Room:
Room style and upkeep were very basic and inconsistent maintained. Guests were constantly asking for basic items such as washcloths, shower caps and the room to be cleaned in a timely manner.Beach:
The facility provided a tiny beach area, hence a colossal pool. Beach area of about 100 metres

Food:
The food was basic buffet style. Restaurants that provided al a carte menus were terribly slow.
My sister, who is a highly allergic vegan, could not get a meal that was not sent back once or twice. In addition she ate cabbage for seven days.

Drinks:
All across the facility one could get something called fruit punch. It consisted of a mixture of coloured syrups. Champagne was also available- very poor quality, a single red wine which resembled vinegar and I am certain it was after being kept at 30 + degrees.

Room Tip: My family members attended and commented on the Spa - they enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I don't know if everyone complaining stayed in the same hotel as us, for those saying there is no Jamaican food there is a Jamaican restaurant and a jerk hut on sunset cove beach both of which were lovely, posiedens is by far the best restaurant and provides the best Maria and rhori both waiters and dexter on the bar were the nicest staff in the complex, the staff in the infinity bar however were rude to 2 people in our group on a few occasions this should be looked into by management as this is the only negative of our holiday. The girl at the roselle pool too is lovely bit I have forgotten her name.
We stayed in room 2223 July/August and it was spotless we never had problem with towels or face cloths, for people complaining about noise you can't stop the wildlife that lives in and around the hotel get a grip or bring ear plugs and also who cares if it rained for a hour or two every other day it's only rain you can't complain about the weather!
We did a few trips to bob Marley museum, dolphin cove and our taxi driver also took us to Columbus park were the jerk chicken was the best I tried while on Jamaica all trips were worth it and I would recommend them all!
Don't let the negative reviews put you off these people should have payed more for a different hotel if they wanted more but for £1700 for 2 weeks i thought the hotel was excellent and are already looking to book the grand palladium in the Dominican Republic next year.
Best holiday I have ever been on give it a try and go ignore the bad reviews!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Before heading out on our first trip to Jamaica, I tried preparing for the trip by reading as many reviews as I could. Overall, I found more negative than positive. But we decided to just go for it with an open mind and try to enjoy ourselves. But from the moment we arrived and had our lovely "welcome drinks", to the free upgrade to an ocean-view room, our mood changed drastically. The service was great, room was clean, fridge stocked, great air conditioning (a must), and the bet part, the buffet. It was far superior that all the other a la carte restaurants at e resort (which essentially serve the same food as you can find at the buffet). I was inspired to try new activities such as snorkeling and swimming with dolphins (something I've never done). We arranged for a tour of the jungle and drive through Negril. Our 9 and 10 year old loved meeting the "Rasta man" and drinking the coconut juice from a coconut he cut with his machete right in front of us. None of us wanted to come back home. Loved every moment of our trip. Hope you will too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.