We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Palladium : The Good The Bad The Ugly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grand Palladium : The Good The Bad The Ugly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Good : The resort is a lovely sight The entertainment is good
The Bad : The front desk is horrible The buffet food is reserved again the next day. The rooms are dirty.

The Ugly : No elevators. The Beach is full of rocks and crabs. We saw a staff worker collecting cups toss half full drink glasses into the pool water. Insects are in the rooms. The showers are built with no floor guards as soon as you shower you flood the entire bath room.

Dont go to this resort if you want a pleasant vacation it has fallen under bad management and pretty soon the premisses will become fully dilapidated. Stay away

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main building or else you will need a bellboy to pick you up in a golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that you felt a bad attitude from the staff. Despite our staff is continuously congratulated on their work by many customers your feedback is very helpful to us in evaluating our service and we will certainly be looking into the observations which you have made with a view to taking corrective action.

About the quality of the food, we are sorry if you did not enjoy it especially when we have a variety of 7 different restaurants a la carte and 3 buffets within the Resort.

We hope that despite these negative issues which you have outlined, you will give us another opportunity to serve you and show you our usual flawless service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Jose Torres
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,234
    1,146
    593
    371
    322
See reviews for
1006
1614
36
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Extremely dissapointed,
Basically the vacation was supposed to be a major r&r for my wife regretfully it turned out to be both very stressful and totally disappointing.
We spent the first two days of our vacation, to having to complain about our accommodation and having to relocated rooms, which still wasn’t satisfactory and still had faults unrectified even after we had ‘checked out’.
They caim the hotel was ranked by you as a 4 or even 5 level, this was totally over rated it was 2-3 at very best, and some of the features claimed on the website, do not exist or work
Another main factor was that despite having paid in excess of £1k more than most disappointed guest for the quality of our room, all we have extra for our cost was a few more m2 of space, which quite frankly is outrageous. When we booked we fully expected a sea view room.
When we got there the room given to us had the furthest walk on the whole campus, was on the ground floor, with a view only of a perimeter wall, which was adjacent to a very noisy road.
A number of cockroaches in the room
This room had many additional faults including but not restricted to;
Several areas of the room had wide gaps in the ceiling and were in poor condition.
No plug in the sink or bath.
There was no iPod station, not flannels, bath mat, bath robes, slippers, no radio, no iron no ironing board, very noisy from the road and the lobby was dirty and the water feature in the lobby didn’t work it looked like an outpost that had been forgotten.
We complained straight away and all through the next day until eventually someone got us a change of room, it was very stressful and not a way to start a holiday.
The new room was a balcony view with a view of ‘trees’, well done. However, at this time we were stressed out and really had enough.
This room also we found out after moving had several faults, 90% of which were still not resolved after we had checked out these again were as follows, but not fully inclusive;
A shower that had no hot water (took no less than two days to resolve, and many stressful hors and numerous requests.
The shower door did not close too, resulting in a totally soaked floor, every time the shower was used.
Very cheap plastic toilet seats in the room.
The tap to the bath/Jacuzzi never worked and never got fixed so we couldn’t use.
The main light in the bedroom stayed on all the time, two days to fix, then you couldn’t use the main light switch in the bedroom.
The iPod docking station/radio never worked.
The TV in the living room never worked.
The ceiling fan in the bedroom was always loud, so couldn’t use at a nightime.
The air conditioning was too loud.
No covers n the external seats
Eventually we were offered another room, however this was up 6 flight of steps, and we were greeted with excrement on the bottom two steps, we just felt it was not conducive to moving rooms yet again and causing further stress and disruption to our holiday, as we did not have the confidence in the hotel that further problems would be found in another room.
Then there were complaints about the resort generally;
The food was of very poor quality, and often served at best ‘luke warm’ only after we complained did we see someone use thermometers to test the food, and that was on only one occasion.
The two main n restaurants are no more better quality than a butlins in the 70’s/80’s, very basic areas with cheap Spanish style way of serving customers.
If you wanted to eat anywhere else it was at least an hour’s wait in a stuffy lobby with no AC, it was disgusting.
The hotel was really showing its age, it really is in need of some TLC, decorating is faded and very poor.
Brick paviours on walkways are uneven, lifting, and moving and broken in many places
The tiling in the hotel areas is very dangerous and after rain treacherous and very slippy to walk on.
Toilets are very dingy and dark
No wi fi in any rooms
The service for drinks is very slow and poor, many drinks appear well watered down, and a lot of staff seem reluctant to serve people. Why are none of the drinks areas open by the pool before 10am and shut promptly at 5pm.
Why are staff taking part in drinking competitions and announcing over the tanoy that they have never been beaten at drinking competitions?
The music played everywhere is very loud, and consists mainly of rap and rave type music; seem to cater mostly for guest in their 20’s.
Why are people allowed to use boom boxes around the hotel, especially around the pool very early in the morning?
Lots of litter around and some even in the pool, there are lots of glasses in the pool, why is no one checking on this, or signs around the pool.
Why are attendants still using the ‘hoover’ to clean out the pools at 11 am in the morning?
The stench of drugs being smoked everywhere is very evident and very open, even small children remarked on it.
On 3 separate occasions we were approached if we wanted to buy any drugs.
The stench one night of drugs near our room was over powering, someone was obviously smoking joints in their room, and this was getting into the AC system and everyone’s clothes etc.
The ‘entertainment was dire, very poorly choreographed, after each 2 minute dance there was at least a 3 minute gap whilst the dancers changed.
Around the hotel general there was no other entertainment before 9.30pm, and when there was it was mostly rap/rave type music aimed at the 20’s age range, extremely disappointing. The premier bar, was stuffy, games had lots of pieces missing, and service was sluggish at best.
Furthermore on your website you advise;
Swimming pool
• 5 swimming pools with 4 built-in whirlpool baths and swim-up bar
• Adults' pool with whirlpool bath, open until midnight
• Quiet pool with built-in whirlpool bath and bar service
• Spa pool with a lazy river
• Beach and pool sunbeds, parasols and towels
They also claim there were 24 hour snacks, no there wasn’t.
NONE of the whirlpools worked and were in a very poor state of repair, and one pool even have some tiles missing on the floor which was a hazard when walking in the pool.
The adults pool was NOT open until midnight, there was not a quiet pool with built in whirlppol bath abd bar service, so your site is very misleading.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and 10 year old son decided to travel to Jamaica for the 3rd time. We had previously stayed at a resort in Montego Bay however we found out it had closed. We were pretty bummed. It was a much smaller resort that did not include all the extravagant things offered by the Grand Palladium. We decided to spend a little more on our trip thinking it would be a much better experience. Not so much. I read the reviews one week before our vacation. I was a little worried. I have to say it wasn't as bad as the reviews posted. Our suite was the very last building in the Lady Hamilton. That meant a 6 to 10 minute walk to the main building. It wasn't so bad the first day. But as the days passed, it became a pain. Yes, we had several restaurants to choose from which included mexican, chinese, indian, and american. The food was mediocre. I found the food in the buffet to be a little better tasting. The staff could have been friendlier. There were only a handful of waiters whose service was exceptional (and we made sure to tip them extra.) The drinks served were not only watered down but they were served in small glasses. Make sure you take a large plastic cup from home or else you'll have to buy one from the gift shop for $15-$20. You are able to get cold water refills from a machine all day long. The beach was nice but very rocky. Make sure you take water shoes. Make sure you have plenty of $1's. Tipping is expected. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis and plenty of towels were provided. The bed was horrible on my back. The little water that trickled from the shower went from changing to very cold to very hot every few seconds. Be careful with the hairdryers. They are set to extremely hot. All in all it was an ok experience. I don't think we'll be going back for awhile but if we do, we'll look into staying in Montego Bay area. It's closer to the airport and there seemed to be more excursions available in that area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DACULA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My Lord where do I start with this place? We love it so much we have been there three times! The last time we stayed was July of 2012 we WILL be going back. To start: Plan on having to walk unless you request a room close to the lobby. That was completely ok with us because it is not a long walk anyway to the pool bar (which will get its own paragraph in a bit) everything is relatively close but you need to understand that there are two sides to this resort the Jamaica side and the Lady Hamilton side. Both equally as nice but since the Lady Hamilton was built after the Jamaica side its a little more expensive. There is no difference so don't waste additional money. Because there are two sides, if you stay on the Jamaica side and you want to go to the spa call for a cart. They come and get you and take you over. Also there is an awesome seafood restaurant over on the lady Hamilton side that you don't want to miss so again, call the cart. *so you know* sometimes it takes a few minutes for the carts to get there because they are taking other guests who are just checking in to their rooms with their luggage. So what we would do is start walking in the direction of where we wanted to go and flag down the cart as he was driving by. If they came quickly we tipped them, if it didn't we didn't. A dollar or two will do. BRING ONE DOLLAR BILLS tips get you better service (not that the service was bad but they are eager to get the extra money) Patroy is amazing he has checked us in every time we have been there. Ask for an ocean view room, they can usually accommodate you very easily. Also, tipping the check in people goes a long way as well. Check in can be a bit time consuming however you are allowed to go to the restaurants or just browse around the hotel until they get you situated. Be patient. Understand PLEASE that this is the Caribbean. This place is stunningly beautiful and there is just no reason to be aggravated. It's Jamaica! No problem mon! Moving on to the restaurants. Food is good at the buffets. Nothing spectacular but good. The steak restaurant is AMAZING, so is the Italian restaurant. Make sure you make reservations for those. You will still have to wait but again.......be patient you are on vacation. This seriously never became a problem for my husband and I. If you like seafood.....at least once get the lobster, its so good because its fresh. (this is an extra charge)

Housekeeping was amazing....I guess it goes without saying, tips go a long way here as well. When we tipped we never needed towels or the little sample shampoos or anything but here is what I have learned to do over the years. I go to the Walgreens and buy tons of the sample shampoo's and conditioners. This alleviates aggravation if they don't give you enough and you don't find yourself having to hunt housekeeping down to get some. I just throw it in my suitcase and problem solved. The junior suite is all we ever get because the one bedroom is not needed but it is a large room, it stays cool (but be aware if you open your sliding glass door as an energy saver the air cuts off.) The room is always meticulously clean and the mini bar is stocked mostly once a day but sometimes every other day. While I am thinking about it, invest in a thermal cup and carry it with you, they refill them with whatever you are drinking. All you have to do is ask them to.

Which brings me to the bars. OMG what can I not say about them? First of all Ricardo works at the swim up bar at the pool mostly. He is amazing. Ask him to fix you a concoction and please tell him the Young's sent you! We spent many a day with Ricardo!! Tell him also La Boom Boom says Hi!! His Dirty Banana's are insane. They are never stingy with the alcohol if you want more ask for more they don't care! At night after the show the infinity bar is open for business and those bartenders are equally as amazing. MAKE SURE YOU TIP. I think you have gotten the message by now.

To sum up. Having been three times the service has never and I do mean never been bad. As long as you take time to relax and treat the people there as humans and don't go in with what I call an "American attitude" they will love you. Jamaican people are kind people that even as oppressed as they are by their government they are happy people. It's infectious really. You can't help but be happy when you are there.

Things you must do: Go on the shopping trip to Negril. Ask to have Dalton as your tour guide he is also amazing and its a blast. You go shopping, stop at a little place and learn a little Patois the native language of Jamaica then you continue on into Negril to shop then you end your trip with an awesome place called the cliffs where you can get AMAZING jerk chicken for about 6 bucks for a plate. You can dive off of the cliffs there and watch the sunset. Tip Dalton. He's awesome. Also, at the cliffs there is a little local guy that sells home grown cashews......buy a bag of cashews for 5 bucks....they are insanely good.

DO find someone that will take you to Mayfield falls. OMG. You go to the top of a mountain. No one really knows about this excursion because its not one of the "touristy" things to do. It's SOOOO worth it.

YS Falls and Black River is also an awesome trip. Dunns river is OK but is crowded, touristy, and you will drive for a few hours to and from. Honestly YS Falls and Mayfield Falls are MUCH better.

If you have time go down the Martha Brae on the bamboo float. That was really relaxing and nice. The guide will let you get in the water, its natural spring water and its invigorating.

The sunset cruise out of Negril is a MUST. Sidell has been on the boat with us for the past three years, last year we came back and she had been made Captain! She's amazing as well. The sunsets in Jamaica can't be beat and this excursion takes you out to Ricks café where you can swim over, get a drink, and watch the cliff divers. On the way back you stop at Margaritaville....please trust me........get the chicken wings and a pina colada. You owe it to yourself to do this.

At night back at the resort be sure to take in at least one or two shows. They have awesome entertainment. My husband and I competed in the "most ideal couple" show twice and WON twice!!! That is a hilarious show its a must see.

I hope this review is helpful. I seriously don't know why anyone would have anything bad to say about this place. I am sure I have left some things out but if you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask me. I will do my best to help you out.

Room Tip: Building 15 has amazing ocean views and is far enough away from the lobby so its pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings nicandjen!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My partner & I stayed here in the last 2 weeks in May. After reading some of the reviews we weren't too sure what to expect and so were pleasantly surprised. All staff members were very friendly. We didn't have to tip anyone unless we wanted to - some reviews had said you don't get served at the bar unless you tip them but neither of us ever had a problem and as I walked back to one of the pools bars with 2 empty glasses, the lady behind the bar was already pouring 2 more glasses lol (sorry I can't remember her name but she was lovely & always wearing red lipstick :) ) We spent most of our days on a little beach close to the main pool which was always very quiet. The spa was also a good place to go, especially in the afternoon when we'd either had enough sun or it rained. The Jerk Hut, as most reviews have said, was very very good. The food at all meals and restaurants was excellent. We liked the fact that there are so many a la carte restaurants to choose from in the evenings, as well as the buffet one. Our favourite was, by far, the Xmaican - the Creole restaurant, closely followed by the Italian. We also ate in the Buffet restaurants on a number of evenings, where they had a different themed meal type every night, but also always the pasta meals cooked while you wait. These was also very tasty. If you want to eat at the steak restaurant, go early as it gets very busy. My partner said the Xmaican steak was just as good anyway. Also, although we were told at the beginning of our holiday that men must wear long trousers in the evening, it transpired that it's only in the restaurants upstairs. It's fine to wear smart shorts in the downstairs restaurants & buffet. Weatherwise, it was very hot (around 30 degrees c. It rained most days but only in the afternoon (except on the last 2 days) and it was always hot enough to be on the beach by 7am! We got up early and went for breakfast as soon as it opened (7am) & then we were on the beach by 7.30 so we weren't too bothered if the weather turned after lunch. We went on 2 organised trips. We went to the JS Falls, Dunns River Falls - you MUST climb up the waterfall, it's definitely worth it! - Martha Brae rafting, Black River, where the boat man calls the crocodiles to the boat & the Rum Factory where you get to 'sample' as much of the different rums at the end of the tour. There was no hard sell here which I thought was good. Although you don't need any money at any of the water tours we did (although a little tip is always appreciated opbviously), there was always little stalls where you could buy clothing & holiday gilfts if you wanted to. On our last full day in Jamaica, we walked into the nearby town of Lucea. It took about an hour but we did stop to talk to a stall holder at the side of the road. To be honest there wasn't an awful lot to see in Lucea but it was something we wanted to do. We bought a packet of Jerk seasoning from the supermarket for about 65 Jamaican Dollars so it was certainly worth it :) A few taxis asked if we wanted their service but there was no hassle. But at least we knew that we could always get a taxi part-way if we wanted to. Finally, at the airport coming home, there are a LOT of shops and you can actually do all of your holiday present buying there if you want to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent vacation here with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to read about the wonderful time and experiences that you have had.

As a 5 Star Resort we pride ourselves in the level of service which we provide to our guests. It is important that our guests have a grand vacation and it is great knowing that you enjoyed all that we have to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future for another vacation nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My family have just returned after a 2week stay at this resort and had a amazing time.like allot of u guys i read the reviews and started to get a little worried if i had done the right thing chosing this hotel; but so glad we did. The resort is lovely; clean; with little hidden beaches so u can choose how u wish to spend ur time. The main pool is huge and u never have to worry if there is a sunbed; we never had trouble once what ever the time of day. There a different pools to suit ur needs; we like the relaxing pool with the small bar it was near our villa block 12. Great to chill out bar team friendly..godfrey the lifeguard so friendy always had a smile for you; made a effort with everyone and was a pleasure.food in buffets always something to choose from; we had no issues with any of the food. The waiting for the main special eating areas could be abit of a issue; more so because its so hot and the gents are in shirts & trousers. Even if a member of team were handing around a cold drink it would help; but the food was grt when you got inside. Yes i agree with some of the other reviews some of the team can come across very rude; my sister was upset about this the first few days; however the good team out weigh the poor.reception team awful & rude which isnt great as its your first point of call if you need anything; but then you get others like godfrey; andrew from negril;seanna & jean from the bar that can turn your hol around. Give this resort a go! Grt value;allot of the team friendly; night time always something going on; rooms fab; & hot hot hot. See you in May guys clair

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Clair,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from majority of our staff.

We do apologize for any rude or out of line behaviour received from a few of our team members and can assure you that this is not always the case. Having said this, we do employ periodical training for our staff to help make the guests' experience a better one.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our overall impression of the resort is that it is a nice resort, however, much too large for our taste.

The reception staff was pleasant except for one lady, named Janine, who had the habit of rolling her eyes at you as if she were irritated with your mere presence. I took a quick dislike to her when she kept making demands of me when I was trying to get our group checked in. Very impatient with people, so her customer service skills were very lacking.

We stayed on the Jamaica side and I get the impression that it was nicer than the Lady Hamilton side although that is the more expensive side. Our room was clean and everything was adequate, however, I found it strange that there were no drawers to put your clothes in, just a couple of shelves in the closet which was quite inadequate for two much less three of four people staying in one room.

The beds are not comfortable at all and the pillows leave alot to be desired, thus the pillow menu in which you pay $3/day for a pillow of your choice. I have neck issues so had to pay extra for a cervical pillow in order to get a decent night's sleep.

Be prepared to walk ALOT or call for the shuttles to pick you up!

The pool was very large, however, it needed cleaning with lots of sand in the bottom. The swim up pool bar was always crowded and it was hard to get a drink there so mostly used the poolside bar near our chairs. Not a great variety of drinks either.

We were not impressed with the beaches at all and found it inconvenient to get to the beach where the water sports were.

The food was pretty good and we always received good service in the buffets, which is where we ate the most because there was more variety of food there. Bubba's Steakhouse was very slow. It was extremely hot in there and it was supposed to be one of the air conditioned restaurants but that was definitely not the case while we were there.

They tell you they have WIFI in the lobby but that is minimal at best. It fades in and out and you can't keep a connection. There was a notice in our room that WIFI was available but I was never able to receive it, probably needed to pay a fee for that so if you are expecting to stay connected to the outside world via Facebook, e-mail, etc while there, forget it!

I was overall pleased with our stay, however, I don't think I would go back. I am a travel agent and will book clients there if they ask, but I will forewarn them of the disadvantages of a huge resort. My choice would be a much smaller, more intimate setting where service appears to be much better.

Cheryl H
South Carolina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear ch0916,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your last vacation in Grand Palladium Jamaica.

All reports help us to understand what our guests need or want from their vacation. I will take note about the issues that you mentioned in your report.

We invite you to visit in the near future to experience more that our Resort has to offer.
We look forward to hearing from you, if there is anything at all we can do from this end.

Thank you for your attention.

Laura López
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.