We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late April trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Somonauk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Late April trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was my first experience at an all inclusive resort. The resort was beautiful and very well maintained. With 40 Villas at this resort the total number of guests can easily be over 4000 but it never felt crowded. The service was excellent. All of the staff was polite and would go out of their way to be accommodating. Now keeping in mind we are on a tropical island the service was never QUICK but for the most part the wait for anything was not excessive nor irritating. We went over a weekend and the restaurants were very busy Saturday night. Asking around to other guests and staff this is typical, Saturdays is the normal day for wedding's. Make note that on Saturdays get to dinner by 6 pm or wait until well after 8, this happened to us.

I read a review before going that said that items had disappeared from their rooms, money, iphones etc. The safe in our room was broken, speaking to another guest it took the repair man 2 hours to fix their safe so we kept valuables locked in our suit case, we had no issues at all but we were being cautious.

The hotel offers 2 beaches, one by the pool and a larger quieter one down by villas 39 and 40, by the Poseidon's Sunset Cove restaurant. We got there really early one morning and watched the sand crabs dig up to the surface, they are small and a pale yellow but funny to watch.

The group tours offered by the hotel looked fun be we made the mistake of taking a private tour with a taix cab driver (Jutu Taxi with Lloyd). Do not do this. Take a group tour provided by the hotel. No harm came to us but it was unprofessional, and a little scary.

Room Tip: The Lady Hamilton side is the quieter side but a further distance from the rest of the ammenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your recent vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one in which you were satisfied and enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer to our valued guests.

We welcome you to visit in the near future for another memorable vacation, nothing short of Grand.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,192
    1,105
    561
    352
    300
See reviews for
947
1573
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed her in feb!! Hotel is amazing, really nice food, polls are cleaned everyday, staff are so nice and helpful apart from the maintenance man Sean he's a creep don't go near him!! Over all I would give it 95% am booking up to go bk next year can't wait!!!:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Nikkij1975,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your review. We are pleased that your vacation here with us was a wonderful one in which you enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer. We look forward to your visit next year as it was our pleasure having you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall, this was a fantastic trip! I was a little nervous after reading the negative reviews, but I have to say that some people must be impossible to please. I went with a group of girls, and all of us were extremely pleased with the resort. We were put in building 17, which was supposed to be far away from the pool and restaurants but it was a short walk. One of my friends timed it, and it took 5 minutes! The other reviewers who complained must be unaccustomed to doing any walking, ever. The food was very good, especially for an all-inclusive. Many people also complained about waiting for restaurants at dinner-time, but the longest we had to wait was probably 15 minutes, and we were able to hang out at the bar. We heard from other people that the steakhouse was tough to get into, so we went after one of our excursions at around 9pm, and didn't have to wait at all. You can't make reservations at any of the restaurants, but this didn't affect us at all. As a group, the Mexican restaurant was our favorite, followed by Creole.
After dinner there was always something to do. There were fun shows, lots of bars, and games. The sports bar was very warm, and when we were there, smelled strongly of bacon, so although it was fun to play ping pong, we didn't last long there. One night there was a bonfire, which was super crowded but fun. The club was empty and smelled funny early but seemed to catch on later. Near the infinity bar, there is a top shelf bar where they will make great drinks for you. The casino was fun as well. All of that bartenders (that I can remember...) were super nice.
The rooms were very nice, although as some reviewers had noted, they were not "cold" from the AC, and one of our rooms was actually very warm. My room was not hot and comfortable enough for sleep. There is also a ceiling fan which helps, but the rooms are not meant to be the US standard of air conditioned. Also, the shower temperature seemed to fluctuate from burning hot to freezing cold, but it was gradual enough to get out of the way, so it wasn't a big deal. The pillows were not what I would choose for myself, but were not as awful as other people reviewed. I brought my own, and was super comfortable. Other guests also had problems with maid service and front desk people. We did not get hand towels one night, and received them pretty quickly after asking for them. The maid does not stock the fridge, so if you are missing something, call the front desk. Anytime we needed something, we were helped. Everyone agreed that these small issues did not affect our opinion of the resort, because everything else was so great.
The beaches are definitely not the white sand caribbean beach that you think of with Jamaica, but the pool area makes up for it. The beaches are rocky, and if you wear water shoes in the water you'll be fine, but we were not thrilled with the amount of seaweed surrounding us. The Lady Palladium beach was pretty far from our building, so we did take advantage of the shuttle to get there one morning and took kayaks out, but left after lunch to go by the pool. The pool area is fantastic; we never had a problem finding chairs or a shady area to sit (and there were 6 of us!). You are never far from a bar or bathroom anywhere in the resort, and bringing travel mugs was a great idea for the pool area (for both adult beverages and water). The pool was huge, and had built in lounge chairs. We brought tubes, floated around, and refilled our travel mugs at the pool bar.
We took 2 excursions. First, we went to Dunn's River Falls, and took a whole day for this trip. Contrary to what everyone tells you, the bus ride is a full 3 hours each way. We went with a tour group and took a bus to a catamaran where we went snorkeling, to the falls, and then had some drinks on the way back to the bus. The snorkeling was ok- more coral than fish. The falls were really fun! You make a human chain to help each other up each level, and the tour guide stops for photo ops at different points. The whole climb took about 45 minutes. Even with the long bus rides, I'd suggest doing it. We also went to Rick's Cafe, and decided to take a cab. This was only about 45 minutes each way and allowed us to spend as much time as we wanted there. Four of us jumped from the 35 foot cliff, and most of us agreed that although we probably wouldn't repeat the jump, we were happy that we did it. We all hurt our backsides (most of us hurt our tailbones, and one of us bruised all the way to her thighs), because it is actually somewhat difficult to go in completely straight. We stayed for the sunset which was very pretty. The food is standard tourist stuff, but it was fun to watch the sunset with a snack and a drink.
Overall, it was a fantastic trip, and the resort was truly wonderful!

Room Tip: If you cannot handle a 5 minute walk, stay around building 12. If you don't get something close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently stayed at this resort. While the resort itself is quite beautiful the service was AWFUL! It took us a day and half to get washcloths and for others who traveled with me it took even longer. The alcoholic beverages were watered down (including the wine). And they do not serve top shelf liquor (Gordon's Gin). The Piña Coladas come from a frosty machine with Appleton rum was poured on top. The food was ok, but do not expect traditional Jamaican cuisine and again it was just ok. As for the entertainment -- schedule says club opens at 11, it opened at 12 and the nightly shows were of high school play quality. Resort is beautiful but I would not go back due to poor service and cheap alcohol.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience. We appreciate that you have taken the time to advise us of your opinion.
The management and staff at Palladium Jamaica are committed to satisfy our guests and we sincerely regret if the circumstances mentioned may have affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel.

We look forward to having you again in any of the Palladium Resorts and that we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Jose Torres
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My family and I just returned from spending a week at the Grand Palladium. In comparison to other All Inclusive Resorts I would rate it as average. After a long delay in Miami, we arrivied at the resort arount 9ish on the 11th. The front desk clerk seemed irritated with the guests. Despite reserving a room with 2 double beds, we were given a room with a KIng and a pull out couch. According to miy daughter, the clerk asked if this was ok. Neither my husband or I heard him. It could be because he spoke so fast. In any event, we were too tired from our long trip from Boston that we settled for the room. The room and the bathroom were certainly clean, however certainly could use spiffing up. Every other day we had to call to request either towels and or wash clothes. On our last full day ( 17th) the maids didnt show up until after 5pm to clean our room. At that point we were getting ready for dinner and werent going to leave our room so that it would be cleaned. So much for leaving the green tab in the door advising that the room was ready to be cleaned.

In reference to the food, it was a hit or miss. Mostly a miss. The only 2 good dinners we had were at the steak and Indian restuarants.

Finally, so much for the rule that chairs could not be reserved. At the very least the rule wasnt enforced at all. I dont know what time people showed up at the beach or the pool, but we typically went between 9:30-10AM. It was near impossible to find an umbrella. For someone as fair as myself, its a necessity not a luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are in better condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear ptsougra,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

Let me apologize for the bad attitude of our front desk staff and for not assign what you requested. We always assign rooms based on availability and sometimes we could not give all the guests what they request. I am so sorry about this. Believe me that we make every effort to assign the rooms following all the requests that we receive.

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. At the same time, you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

It is hoped that despite those negative issues, you will afford us another opportunity to serve you and show you our usual service.

Best regards,

Laura López
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Caz & Del Just returned from their wedding at the Grand Palladium everything went to plan such a stress free day. Omeshia wedding planner had everything organised and did a great job.The staff at Bubbas were fantastic they gave us a wonderful song just to make us feel special, first class meal. Hotel is big with lots going on plenty of places to eat and drink. Sometimes a little slow service but this is Jamaica man so just chill.

Room Tip: block 20 was a good location away fro all the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Derek G,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent vacation here with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to read about the wonderful time and experiences that you have had.

As a 5 Star Resort we pride ourselves in the level of service which we provide to our guests. It is important that our guests have a grand vacation and it is great knowing that you enjoyed all that we have to offer especially during such a special occasion.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future for another vacation nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend went to stay and the Grand Palladium (Jamacia side) for two weeks on May 3rd 2013. On arrival we were greeted with Rum punch and the lady on reception couldn't have been more helpful! We were then shown to a gold buggy sort of thing and someone escorted us to our room. (you have to tip everyone, just like in the US)

The room was big spacious and could not be faulted. The curtains blocked out all the light so it was great if you had a heavy night the night before! The bed was massive! Me and my boyfriend could both star fish and not touch each other, although it wasn't the most comfortable bed in the world. The bathroom was lovely, clean with a massive shower and hot tub. There were some areas that had been patched up but not very well, but it was nothing major that impacted our stay. We had a lovely room over looking the sea on the ground floor with our only real issue being the level of noise in the villa block. This could be early in the morning and sometimes late at night and it was mainly the American's.

The hotel is full of American's and caters very much for them including the food. They are very loud and most of them have no respect for other people. During mid week it is quieter as most of them only come for the weekend (as its so close). This made the hotel a lot louder than we anticipated. We wanted a quiet two week relaxing holiday and during the weekend it was't really that. During the week it was nice as the main bar (Infinity Bar) was a lot quieter and we were able to enjoy the live music and singing and even got up to dance! The live shows were on every nice in the Lady Hamiliton side I would highly recommend watching the couples show. The entertainment staff were great and tried to involve everyone.

We sat around the main pool only once during our stay because we went on a Saturday afternoon and there were loads of people, music and people shouting while playing beach ball, which sort of put us off. There was a smaller quieter pool near our room which we started going to and as it was small you got to see a know the same people every day. The pool area was spotles couldn't fault it. The life guard would constantly be on the look out to sweep out anything that had fallen into the pool such as leaves.

The beach was quite hard but if you walk a bit further down to Sunset Cove the sand is much nicer. The sea was not as blue as it shows on the photos down there the first time we went, but when we went down during our second week the sea was sky blue and as clear as anything.

The food was great (although very catered to the American's such as the bacon and sausage etc) We ate in all the restuarants and had no problems with any of them. The drinks service to the table is quite slow as one bar is trying to serve two resturants and the people at the bar, this is the same in all resturants so I woul recommend getting two drinks at a time when your going for food.

The staff were all friendly from the cleaners to the gardeners to the managers walking around. Some of the staff came across as quite rude, but being half Jamacian myself, I think a lot of it was due to their nature and character.The cleaner came in every day and provided us with clean towels and bed sheets.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitley return to the Grand Palladium! I wouldn't say it was a five star, I would go for more of a 4 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.