We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean hotel could be 5 star but is not” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
norfolk england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice clean hotel could be 5 star but is not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

On arrival was met by a very rude toni-anne at reception who talked over my husband then walked away pulling a face while he was still talking,i appreciate requests are put in ours being our party stay together(3 rooms) this was not the case albeit 14 months to try and accomodate us and everyone else we spoke to had the same issues,this was rectified the following day thankfully but you dont need the hassle or upset when you have been travelling some 20 hours, is it really that difficult however a lovely clean hotel with nice rooms and lovely gardens, buffet food to very good standard, EMRU was a lovely waiter always had a smile and very polite.The restaurants however another story, you cannot reserve a table but turn up and have your name put on a list and given a buzzer never less than 1 hour wait, 3 hours at the Poseidon and 2 and half at bubbas,absolute nightmare and not what to expect from a 5 star. It seems if you are a member you can reserve we were also told other people had been able to book, Andrea on the adult only pool bar, you need to smile you will find you will get tipped rather than be grumpy to those that dont immediately give you money, so gave it to those that deserved it.
We got to the point we did not want to come and get a drink.Like i said nice clean hotel Riu Negril much better.Wont go back purely because of the restaurants being total chaos and noisiest place i ever stayed, never slept after 6 a.m but should you go i am sure you will have good time.

Room Tip: no idea where that would be
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear lorraine318moore,

Thank you for sharing with us your review based on your experience while here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We appreciate the time you have taken to outline the issues which you have had throughout your stay and we extend our apologies for all inconveniences caused, especially with your overall dining experience.

We have made note of all situations and the necessary corrective actions to alleviate these issues will be done. We hope that you do give us the opportunity to host you again in the future so you may experience the changes that will be made. Until your next visit, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    1,219
    640
    395
    350
See reviews for
1,070
1,693
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was at this resort April 18th to April 26th. This is a beautiful resort. The staff is very friendly and will do anything to make you happy. My only complaint was being on the ground floor you smelled mold and everything was wet feeling. People we stayed with, stayed on the second floor and had no problem. I would go back again just get the second floor. The pictures do not do it justice.

Room Tip: I would try and stay close to the resort. Villa 23 or 24. The place is big and there is a lot of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Greetings Mary S,

Thank you very much for writing your review about your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your stay with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. We look forward to your visit in the near future as it will be our pleasure hosting you again.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Everything was great!! I went with a party of 27 for a wedding, and we all had a great time. The room we had was great, very clean and stocked. Just the bed was kind of hard and same with the pillow but you dont go on a trip to sleep!!! Its definitely a pool resort more then a beach resort but i have no complaints. I would go back in a heart beat. The a la cartes were really good, Mexican, Indian, Italian, Steakhouse, Asian, Jamaican. As for servers, like every other resort you get the ones that will go to the moon and back to help you and the others that are just there cause they have to be but i do have to say the ones that were great were really great.

If you want a good driver for touring contact Palmer at UTONTOURS. He was amazing he really helped us out with prices and was very flexible with what we did and where we went and also just genuinely cared about our safety. I recommend him!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MELINAIANNI,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based on your vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased reading about the wonderful experiences you had throughout your vacation and that the excellent service was well received. It is delightful that you enjoyed the scrumptious cuisines served at the a la carte restaurants which you have outlined. We also appreciate your positive comments about our staff.

We would be happy to be given the opportunity of hosting you again in the future as it was our pleasure doing so on this visit.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Don't believe the negatives. This is a beautiful, friendly hotel. We have traveled extensively and would highly recommend the Grand Palladium - Jamaica side. Junior Suites (cheapest rooms) are large comfortable rooms with an additional couch that opens to a bed and either a terrace or a balcony. Bubbas steak house is by far the best restaurant but the others and the buffets are fine. The Lady Hamilton side is a bit more expensive but the Jamaica side can use all facilities of the Lady Hamilton. The only difference is there is a bit of a walk to the Lady Hamilton beach (which has all the water toys and the jerk chicken shack). If you're daring, ride the Great Big Mabel at the beach. Be prepared to HOLD ON! There is never a wait for the kayaks or cattamaran and you can always find a lounge chair (the hotel was completely full when we were there). The pool(s) are unbelievable.....Even though there may be a lot of walking, if needed you can always get a cart to pick you up. Only negative would be that the air conditioning in the restaurants should be a little better but your in the tropics so...NO PROBLEM. Also, if you choose to go on excursions, Lucea is far from everything so be prepared for a long (1 - 2 hours) bus trip. All in all, we would hightly recommend this hotel to couples, singles, families, anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the restaurants....Villas 11, 12 and 13 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Greetings darnbil,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your recent vacation with us. We are elated that you enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer and that overall your experience was an amazing one. We appreciate your positive comments about the accommodations and the delicious meals that were had at the restaurants. It is also great that you enjoyed the activities by the Sunset Cove beach and pools. It is great that you took the opportunity to go out on excursions to enjoy more of our beautiful island. It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your future visit to once more host you in true Palladium style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife took me to Jamaica for my 40th birthday... awesome! we spent our days walking around the resort, walking on the small beach, soaking in the ocean, lounging by the water, looking out over the water, enjoying the food, drinking tea on our patio, taking lots of photos and taking an amazing excursion that included a two hour tube ride down the great river (thanks Suan!), an amazing BBQ jerk chicken lunch and a canopy zipline tour! I dont like heights and I dont like to fly and ziplining is both! And I loved every minute of it! i would do it again and recommend it to anyone thinking about it but maybe a little unsure! (Thanks Ryan and Jonathan!) The Jamaica tours reps at the resort were great in helping us decide which tour we should take and we ended up getting a two for one deal! The nice thing about the reps is that they have their own spaces that are on the right side of the staircase in the lobby on the second floor so they're easy to find but not "in your face". Once you get off the bus and walk into the lobby, the view out over the ocean is breathtaking. You can see over some trees right out over water. My wife took a picture of that view with her iPad and used it as her profile pic on her facebook page. Is the first picture we took and the one that starts a run of great photos we got from our trip to Palladium. We Got back from our trip on the 21st of April. As for the trip itself, the parts that we were in control of like when we got up and the activities we took in during the day, the walking, the swimming, the eating, it was an amazing trip that we wouldn't trade at all. There are some things that we think people should be aware of when booking though. Nothing that would completely ruin your vacation, just some things that we think should have been taken care of promptly and weren't. Or they are things that you might just find out after y book. We had a great trip as far as relaxing and reconnecting. The beach was okay but not like some of the beaches we've been on before. It's a little rougher in places. Also, there are a lot of rocks just off shore that make it difficult to just run in and enjoy the water. The pool was very large and well kept if that's something you like but I have pools at home. I was hoping for a nicer beach because that's where we wanted to spend our days. Overall, the resort was nice. As with anywhere, some of the staff were outstanding and some were mediocre at best. Most were very friendly, giving you a good morning or a hello every time we passed them. We were in villa 20 room 15 which is on the second floor. The first morning, there was a nasty sewer smell coming from the bathroom. We called the front desk to have maintenance take a look at it and see what the problem was. We got ready for some time at the beach and left to let them do what they needed to do. When we got back to the room, we found that the maid was cleaning the bathroom. We also noticed that the smell was gone. While we were out of the room for breakfast, we stopped at the reception desk to find out if we could switch rooms since there was this smell and because it wasn't the type of room that my wife had requested when she booked the trip last August. We were told that there were at least five weddings booked over the time that we were there and there would probably be more. They also told us that a request doesn't mean much and that they assign rooms 48 hours ahead of time and no sooner. Fair enough. We were told to check back at 9:00am to see of there were any other rooms available. So we did and without looking, the guy at the desk said there was nothing. Unfortunately, the next morning the smell was back with a vengeance. It was so bad that my wife couldn't sleep anymore and had to get up to close the bathroom door. We rolled up a towel and put it at the base of the door. To try to keep the smell trapped in the bathroom. We called the front desk again and told them about the smell again. They said "no problem" and that they would send a maintenance guy over to have a look. Since it was so nasty, we left to go about our daily vacation business again. We were gone three and a half hours before we went back to the room. We opened the door and found the bathroom door just as we left it. No one had looked at it yet. Half and hour later, the guy finally showed up with a mop and some disinfectant. He went into the bathroom and cleaned it top to bottom which at least masked the smell for a while but the next morning, same problem. My wife had reached her end and told them that we needed to be moved. It was Thursday, we were going on an all day excursion, was there something that they could do to help. Finally, they said yes. Pack all your stuff, we'll send someone to get your luggage and move it to the safe room, they would prepare the new room for us and move our luggage to it and that all of this would be done by the time we got back. After an amazing day out on our excursions we got back to find out that the room was ready but our luggage was still in the other room and that we would have to get it ourselves and move it to the new room. Not a huge deal but different than we were told to begin with. We moved to the other room with our luggage and found that it was a bit of an upgrade because the jacuzzi tub was actually in the room with the bed and couch. There were no walls around it. It made the room seem a bit bigger. We were in villa 18 room 3 which has an ocean view from the main floor. It was a much nicer room because it was closer to what we had requested and there was no sewer smell! Unfortunately, there was no plug for the jacuzzi tub. After our excursion day, we just wanted to crawl into the jacuzzi tub and relax. Having no plug made that impossible. We called the front desk to ask for one and waited for three hours before someone came with it. I understand that they are busy and that we are not the only people there and I would have been happy to walk to the main building to pick it up if I had known it was going to take that long. There were also some other small things that won't ruin your vacation but should be made known. Burned out lightbulbs that are never changed, shower head cradles that are broken and not repaired, holes for plumbing that were measured incorrectly but used anyway so there are holes in shower walls, room doors that are difficult to close or open. These things just make the resort look much older than it is and it doesn't look well kept at all. Someone mentioned the smoking issue and we can verify that. There is almost no where you can find where there isn't someone smoking. The restaurants and your own room is about it. It's just something that people should be aware of when booking. I'm not sure there are any non-smoking resorts anyway but it's still a consideration. On our last night we tried to fill the jacuzzi tub and found that there was no hot water. That seemed very strange to us and we called reception to report the problem. We had called around 8pm and at 5:30am the following morning, there still was no hot water. We still don't know what the problem was. No one came and no one called to tell us it was or wasn't fixed. We just had no hot water.

We had an amazing time in Jamaica. It was so nice to get away from the four feet of snow we still had on the ground at home and none of the things that I've mentioned in this review ruined our vacation at all. We feel as though our vacation was going to be what we made of it. And we loved it! These are all just some things to be aware of if you book at Palladium. The grounds are well kept and beautiful, there is plenty of security and they're all very pleasant. There is lots of great food to choose from. I would recommend Criolle restaurant. Have the New York steak with hollandaise sauce (which is gluten free by the way) it's amazing! Ask for Kenute too. He'll show you to the BTH... Best Table in the House! And he's an excellent host! Your drinks will be full, he will make recommendations as to food choices, he will even leave the restaurant in search of chocolate ice cream if they don't have it that night. And he will remember you when you come back again. And what you ordered, from drinks to apps to mains. He was simply outstanding.

I guess the one question I haven't answered yet is would I stay at Palladium again and the answer is no, I don't think we would. It was very nice but it wasn't what we were expecting or what we wanted in a resort. We will definitely be going back to Jamaica though! Very beautiful and friendly!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ocean side. The villas on the street side are about 15 feet from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Jason A,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience.

The Management and Staff at Palladium Jamaica are committed to satisfy our guests and we sincerely regret if the circumstances mentioned may have affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel.

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced in your room with the sewer smell. We would like to assure you that we have taken the corrective measures to minimize the reoccurrence.

Thank you for your nice comments about the grounds, the pool, the food in our restaurants, the drinks and our staff.

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Assuring you our best care and attention at all time, we remain.

Thank you for having stayed with us.
Best regards,

Laura López
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Grand Palladium is was very nice, had a ocean view, check was quick, rooms are nice size and food was good,. I will go back pool is huge, beach is mad made. There are no elevators in the villas.

I had one small issue I request to be close to everything because I had knee surgery I was in Villa 14 top floor. They tell you you win something when it's just to get to join there travel club.jerk hut ran out of Jerk chicken twice and service in there is not as it is in the other restaurants. I will try to stay on the LADY HAMILTON side next time.

I had a great time in Jamaica.

Room Tip: Call before you go to verify any specific needs, Take plenty of 1's & 5's for tip mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Good day A D;

At the outset, please allow us to thank you for having stayed with us, and to apologize for having not honored all your specific room requests.

We thank you for having taken the time to post your review of your experience. We are happy the stay was "nice" for the most part and do take note of the unfavorable events. We will take action accordingly.

Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was my first trip out of the country and I enjoyed every moment of it! The staff were pleasant, helpful and appreciative; even when it poured heavily on one of the days they continued to smile. Prior to arriving I thought I was worried that the "professional hotel photos" weren't going to be the complete truth....but they were. All of the photos that I had seen, looked exactly so in person...if not more beautiful. This trip was a definite must do again! Maybe to a different country!? But that is my trip...go see for yourself! :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jacquelyn D,

Thank you for sharing your review. It is absolutely fantastic that your very first trip out of your country was to Jamaica and best off all that you chose to stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your stay was a wonderful one in which you fully enjoyed all that our property has to offer including the exceptional service and hospitality of our team. We would love to host you again in the future for another vacation nothing short of Grand. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.