We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bit of a Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just returned from our vacation at the Grand Palladium in Jamaica. My husband and I were traveling with our 8 year old son. We had a disappointing experience --only because we were expecting at minimum, a 4 star resort and this was closer to a 3. That said, as expressed in other reviews, if you re-set your expectations, there is a lot of potential for fun. Here are our observations:

Check in- was slow, and it took a long time for a shuttle to arrive to take us to our room.

The room - we were in building 12, second floor. The rooms are spacious, but dated. The shower door leaked and made a huge mess on the floor each time we showered. Note- we initially had a room in building 40, by the cove. The safe in that room did not work, and the metal vent in the bathroom fell down after we were in the room no more than 10 minutes. The beds were very hard in building 40 -- we could literally feel the coils. We asked the manager for a new room the next morning, he said that all of the rooms were the same, but the quality of the beds in building 12 was a huge improvement. On a positive note, we had no issues when we requested another room.

A HUGE shout out to Dwayne, the bellman who patiently carted us around from room to room on day 2 so we would not waste the better part of the morning waiting for transport between our new and old rooms. He even took us to "preview" the new room before we went to move our luggage. Other than him, we didn't experience any great service. Maybe just the luck of the draw -- I'm sure there is great staff on the property.


Housekeeping - We only received two washcloths our first night there, and then they were all out. The shampoos, body wash, and lotions did not get replenished our entire stay (5 nights). We had to call the front desk before our showers each evening to replenish these items. They took so long to deliver them, we just made do with the few items we brought from home.

Food- lots of variety, quality was average, overall. What you would expect of an all inclusive. The breakfast and lunch buffets were pretty decent.
The sports bar -- food was terrible. Nothing came out the way it was described on the menu, it all seemed to be reheated frozen meals. The patties were more like pastry puffs with mystery meat. The chicken fingers came out as burned nuggets.
Asian- very good food, great service
Steak house - average food, good service
Italian - good food and service.
Indian- below average food, good service

The Entertainment -- needs a lot of work and the themes are inappropriate for kids. Strange, because they often put on a pre-show involving kids (talent shows, dancing, etc), so they should take into account that there are many kids already in the audience. The entertainment staff were more bullyish than friendly, in my opinion.


Pools - are great. Plenty of chairs, never felt crowded.

Beach area - below average. Not a large beach area. Most people, including us, stayed by the pool.

Other - we payed $48 for a birthday package for our son. It included a cake (valued at $10) and a decorated room. The decorated room consisted of a birthday banner that was taped together and then placed above the bed -- crooked as can be! There were about 8-10 balloons strewn around the room. If I had to do it again, I would bring my own decorations from home.

Again, if I had known ahead of time that the hotel was more of a 3 star, I probably would've managed my expectations accordingly. I just didn't think we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your negative impression of our property. Your feedback is very helpful to us in evaluating our service and we will certainly be looking into the observations which you have made with a view to taking corrective action.

We would love to welcome you back. As such, please do not hesitate to contact me; if there is anything at all I can do from this end.

Best regards,

Jose Torres
Accomodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    1,176
    613
    377
    336
See reviews for
1,033
1,642
36
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from Grand Palladium yesterday from a quick 3 day vacation. We booked here because it was one of the few places that offered a short stay vacation (all we could get away from work).
The grounds are beautifully kept, and I would agree with some of the others that say the resort is too big. It is about a fifteen minute walk from one end of the resort to the other. We were told that we could get a golf cart to come get us, but when we had the scuba hut call for us, we were told to walk to meet it by building 35 - but when we got there and the cart was there - he just honked and drove away. They did come immediately when we were ready with our bags - so it's okay - we just planned to stay out of the room for the day.
I did see a couple of feral cats - but that's to be expected in places like Jamaica - and to be honest - they looked well fed, and healthy - just shy.
The food was very, very good - and just about any restaurant choice was good. I would say that the one exception to that was the sports bar - we wanted a quick snack at about 4 pm and nothing else was open at that time except the jerk hut (15 minute walk there and again back) and the sports bar (where food was available almost 24 hours per day). There was a buffet with hot dogs, burgers and a "salad bar" on the hot table and you could order a la carte. The sterno in the burgers had burned out, and when we told them - we didn't see them change the burgers or re-light the sterno. Oh - and for the record - chicken nuggets of processed chicken (worse than golden arches) are not the same thing as chicken fingers. So - stay away from the sports bar - or order the quesadilla - it was yummy and fresh!
The service is a tiny bit hit and miss - some servers and staff were great and others seemed too busy - maybe they were short staffed because I saw a number of trainees (who actually were quite great).
The spa was fantastic - couple massage, pedicure and 'foot stress' treatment. Special shout out to Janelle, Oretha, and Nicole at the spa. They were just lovely! Also the housekeeping staff in our building (17) were very nice!
And if you have some kid-free time - check out the hydrotherapy area at the spa - it was very relaxing and a nice set-up.
We didn't swim in the pools because it was too cold - rained for three days while we were there.
And one note to management - you might want to re-think the entertainment. Granted we were only there for three days, and the shows were very good - there are some very talented dancers at the resort, but the shows were too sensual/sexual for a family-resort.

Room Tip: Lady Hamilton side is apparently more expensive but share the same facilities so not sure of the val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This review is long overdue as we stayed at the GP in May of 2012. The resort is beautiful and while it is big, the grounds were very well kept and it was always pleasant to walk to wherever we were going. There is a wide variety of a la carte restaurants and buffets so the restaurants never felt crowded even with the resort being at full capacity. There were also many bars and while the drinks were admittedly a bit watered down, you always have the option of asking for a bit extra alcohol. For the big drinkers, they serve over proof rum shots at Ms. Lou's that'll burn all the way down!
The beaches weren't as nice as what you get in the DR or Mexico so we spent most of our time by the main pool, where it was never hard to find lounge chairs.
Entertainment was a little dull but drinking in the sun all day meant we went to bed early anyway.
Minor complaints are that there should be more authentic (or even at the very least Westernized) Jamaican food every day and a better selection of local fruits. Jerk chicken was just barbecued chicken and any oxtail or goat curry dishes were quick to run out when they were even offered in the buffets. The beef patties in the sports bar were a huge disappointment but I guess being from Toronto we are spoiled with the wide range of ethnic cuisines readily available.
Bedding smelled a little musty but rooms were overall clean and spacious.
Overall it was a great vacation and the positive, laid-back vibe of Jamaica is what will keep us returning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ann's Bay, Jamaica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was at the Grand Palladium for the weekend with my four best friends. It is a very huge resort,the rooms are very nice and our view from the balcony was breathtaking.Check in was a bit prompt and inefficient as it was our first time at the resort but the receptionist (Renee) was very pleasant. It was not the best weather for the weekend but we still had a beautiful time. (Judith) at the spa did a wonderful job at her massage. She is really good. Also Natalie the Japanese was really helpful. Overall we had a good time! big ups also to (Samana) the at the spa reception.

Room Tip: Villa 14 room 1421,have a nice view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay in our hotel. All comments are very important for us and for improve our service and facilities day after day, as our commitment is to provide the best service and attention at all times to our guests.

We look forward for your next visit, and please, do not hesitate to contact us for any request or further comment.

Kind regards,

Jose Torres
Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed Feb. 2-9 in bldg. 24.....it was close to lobby, infinity pool and restaurants. Sunset cove is a bit further, (a 1/4 mile, maybe). We also has a small pool in our back yard, very nice! Food is decent, drinks are good (try a purple rain or local vodka if you don't like the rum), no trouble with housekeeping. We ate at buffet for breakfast, jerk hut for lunch and mostly steakhouse for supper (did try Mexican and Italian) and they were all fine. The buffet at night was decent too...

Scuba: The boat is still not fixed, so we rented a taxi to dive in Negril. CRAPPY equipment and boat.... Gear was missing o- rings, clips, didn't have enough weights or correct sizes of BC's. 2 of the 11 divers had to come up early due to lack of air in tank! A 2 tank dive for $100 US....no water offered between, only a single orange cut up. We are not pro divers, but were very disappointed. The reef however, is beautiful...many small fish.

We booked the catamaran tour through the resort to Negril--Ricks Cafe, Margaritteville and thought both were a joke. Stay and enjoy the pool, spa (awesome couples massage for $190 per couple!) or sunset cove! The other beaches were not impressive.

The last thing to mention is that the resort has Direct TV....we actually watched the Super Bowl in our room with friends! At the end of a long drinking/sun day, it was great to watch CBS!!

Definitely not a 5 star, but you're in a 3rd world country!!! Decide before you go, to just relax and enjoy!!!!!!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based on your last vacation at our Resort. We are grateful for your positive comments and we welcome your feedback about your areas of concern as it will better assist us in improving on the present product that we have.

We are elated that you enjoyed the delicious meals which you have had at the buffet, the jerk hut and the a la carte restaurants which you have made mention of. We are also pleased that you loved the accommodations. We aim to make our guests feel right at home.

We would love to have you stay with us again in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. A vacation is what you make of it and we are pleased that you have had a wonderful one here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at many 4 and 5 star places. But this was not one of them. I found most of the staff to be rude and then they wanted a tip. Also the food really could use a face lift and the desserts were frozen . For a 5 star you would think they woul have a pastry chef. Shows very low budget. Will not go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Kimbery,

Please be assured that comments like yours are helpful to us in evaluating our service, with a view to addressing issues. We would be grateful to host you again, to show you our usual warm hospitality and service standard, as the experience you had is not typical of our guests.

Best regards,

Jose Torres
Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

After spending 5 days at Secrets in Montego Bay (a real 5 star) we were very disappointed when we got here. The room was dirty, sink wouldn't empty, shower head was hang off, curtains so dirty we didn't want to touch them, no iron or ironing board, no batteries in the tv remote, air conditioning didn't work and generally tired looking. The staff were rude, the food was not very good, service was bad. I would call it a butlins in Jamaica. The entertainment was awful, music blaring out during breakfast, you couldn't hear yourself talking, if you want class and 5star treatment do not go here. It's too big to provide a good service or good food. Often they would run out of plates and glasses at breakfast and you would wait ages for a cup of tea then a stroppy waiter would drop it on your table. We wouldn't go back here if it was free!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your valued feedback in regards to your experience. We appreciate that you have taken the time to advise us of your opinion.

The Management and Staff at Palladium Jamaica are committed to satisfy our guests and we sincerely regret if the circumstances mentioned may have affected your vacation experience and your perception of our hotel.

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience which you experienced in the rooms. We would like to assure you that we have taken the corrective measures to minimize the reoccurrence.

We look forward to receiving you again soon and that we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Jose Torres
Accomodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.