We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“24 hours home- counting days till we get back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Kyle, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“24 hours home- counting days till we get back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved every ting!! the people-staff super friendly! Cant believe the petty things some complain about- relax you are on vacation!! The only problem we had was how some guests treated staff..no RESPECT! you get what you give and we had it all..the housekeepers singing in the morning-brought tears to my eyes..keep it up! the boys singing and dancing to their jobs-awesome..beautiful people! Thankyou Taneasha and Jorge for hooking us up for next year! Shelley in housekeeping what a sweetheart! Gayrol..sweet young man! see you next year mon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,469
    1,375
    704
    433
    382
See reviews for
1,210
1,876
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Overall it was a great vacation. The weather cooperated and it was warm and sunny the whole trip. One little rain morning which produced a rainbow, it was all good.
I contacted the hotel prior to our arrival, requesting for a specific building for all of us. Check in was easy. We were told not all rooms were ready. No big deal we went for lunch, grabbed a beer and took a little walk around the resort. When I went back to the front desk our rooms were ready. We were all placed in the same building. I was very happy to have room with a ocean view. The rooms were average. The mini-bar small - only two beers each day. It would have been since to have more selection maybe two red stripe and two red stripe light.
It was so nice being able to go to any of the speciality restuarants without having to make a reservation. My favorites, the Creole and Indian restuarants. Try the Jamaician Fish Tea soup at the Creole restuarant - loved it! My shrimp and fish meal at the Indian restuarant - yummy. The waiters Andre (Creole) and Micheal (Indian) were the best. The sandwiches available at the Sports Bar were good too. To our surprise none of the restaurants or bars had Red Stripe light. Not even the Creole restuarant. You must try the Jamaican Rum Cream, it's a great after dinner drink or in your coffee.
The buffet offered a nice selection. Never an issue finding something to eat. The waiters and waitresses at the Buffet could be a little more attentative. Many times we were almost done with our breakfast before we got coffee or water. I generally got my own orange juice.
The pool is huge. There was never a issue finding a lounge chair around the pool or at the beach. Gervace at the Pool bar - super guy. He was so nice and was very attentative. He never let me down with a "surprise" drink.
If your looking to get away from the hotel one day - take a cab from the taxi stand. Ask for Keith or Olive. Keith did a great job took us to Montego Bay shopping and Margaritaville. Olive took us to Negril -shopping, Margaritaville and Ricks Cafe - she was the best.
I wish the hotel offered a wait staff around the pool or on the beach. Yes, I know it's not that difficult to get up and get your own drink. But when you're on the beach, it's a little it of a walk. I also wish the hotel offered a light lunch menu closer to the pool. I didn't care for having to go inside for lunch when I was by the pool.
Tours - a must is the bamboo raft tour and take a trip to Rick's cafe for the sunset.

Advice - don't get caught up on the negative or the details...just go with it. It's your vacation you make the best of it.

Room Tip: Request building 11. or a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Palladium from Jan.26-Feb.3. It was a great resort. We did have a situation at one of the A la Carte restaraunts and expressed our concerns to guest relations manager. The situation was resolved immediately. The resort is beautiful and the staff are helpful and friendly. I would like to extend a huge thank you to Olivia who works in the buffet,Carlton from the Posedion, Andre from the Indian A la Carte. These servers are what make the resort exceptional with their smiles and friendly, joking personalities. I would also like to acknowledge the outstanding job that Jason Chisholm does at the relax pool, everyday that we were there he went above and beyond ensuring that we were having a good time. Please take the time to acknowledge these individuals as they are a definite asset to your team!

Room Tip: Building 13 3rd floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, New Jersey
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Would not stay here again simply for all the cats wandering around. A few cats were injured and all though the cats dont bother people i dont want to have to look at that when im on vacation. It was sad! There were other minor things such as it was difficult to get a cup of coffee to go and you couldnt take any food out of the buffet..at a beaches resort you can. I dont think i would stay here again. The service was much better at a beaches resort. Im giving the resort a 4 out of 5 because i had good company, great weather and did nothing but relax!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just got back from sunny Jamaica with a great tan and some great memories. We had a group of 10 so that presented a couple minor issues, but nothing that we could not have avoided.

Some advice for larger groups. DO NOT try to get your whole group into the al carte dining rooms. They are small and the number of large tables is small. The staff at these facilities is not capable to handle big tables. After that we went in smaller groups and everything was outstanding. Overall the food was great. The buffet had an outstanding selection for all three meals. The ala carte restaurants had great food and service was better than expected with our smaller groups. We had a member of our party on a very restricted diet, and one that was restricted to gluten free. Both had no trouble with any of the restaurants finding food.

The size of the property was not a big issue. Besides, while on vacation, what is your hurry. The staff was overly accomodating to some minor room issues and responded very quickly to all of our requsts. In one instance the hotel accomodated one of our group and went way beyond what was needed to make sure they were happy.

Watersports - If you like the water and are a srong swimmer the reef on the west end of the property is very cool. I was out about a 1/4 mile following the reef and saw some great wildlife. They would not allow me to do a shore dive to get a better look, even though I am a certified diver. We had our own snorkle equipment and would suggest that if that is what you want to do, same for scuba gear. Their dive boat was broken the week we were there and they accomodated me with a couple trips off of the property to some of the most beautiful dive sites in Jamaica.

Overall we all had a great time, gained 10 pounds, and had a great time at all of the pools and bars. The swim up bar was one that nobody in our group can remember, except for the major hangover the next day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hi, Has anybody stayed at this hotel and paid for an upgrade? Basically we paid just under £1000 for an upgrade to a junior suite, but we seen to have been given the same room as everybody that didnt pay the upgrade. We booked with thompson and they dont seen to want to help us. I would just like to know what i got for my £1000 that was any different to any body else, so has anybody stayed in a standard room or know the difference between the standard and the junior suite within this hotel, please help me clarify. Thanks to anybody who replys

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carberry, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our second visit and we were not let down! Great accommodations, great food at the buffets and the A la Carte restaurants. Everyone was very polite and helpful. Be sure to check out the Juta taxi van folks for great guides and info for the true Jamacian travel experience!
Their were seven couples in our group and we all cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Greetings! Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are elated that you and your group have had a wonderful stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. It is pleasing to know that you loved the luxurious accommodations, the delicious meals served at our restaurants and the warm and welcoming personality of our staff. We welcome you to visit us again as it would be our pleasure hosting you for your third stay. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.