We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Resort is a find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   The Point, Lucea, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This Resort is a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The resort is Beautiful. The weather was excellent. The Spa was my favorite, beautiful pools to relax and enjoy. The people are very friendly and pleasant. The Jerk chicken is quite tasty. The adult pool and beach was very nice. It was a great place spend a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,208
    1,121
    571
    365
    308
See reviews for
971
1588
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'll make it short and sweet. I went on this site before we left. I read a lot of things that did not sound good for the grand Palladium. A bunch of people crying about the service there. I guess when it's all-inclusive. People expect to have their butts wiped for them.
The people that work at the resort are AMAZING!!!!!! nicest, kindest. Most real people I have met. Right off the bat. When we checked in. I mentioned to the woman at the counter that we were only there four days and if it was not to much trouble. Could we get a room with an ocean view. She said I understand, and it was done. The rooms were nuts! beautiful, super clean. Smelled like the ocean.
The resort is huge. So if ya going to cry about walking don't go. They have golf-cart and saw many times them stopping to ask someone if they wanted a ride. Anyway, the resort is BEAUTIFUL! Stone & marble as far as the eye can see. The beaches were beautiful . I would tell you to bring water shoes... some spots are rocky. because they left the beaches in their natural state. Witch I personally liked.
Some of the things I read on here where
Stray cats all over the resort..... NEVER SAW ONE
The people were rude.... NOT EVEN CLOSE! Quick story, I asked a guy, where was a bar that was outside during the night. This dude said "no problem follow me" Then took us to the other side of the resort. Half way there . I said to him " you were not heading no where near here. Were you? " He just laughed an said. " it's all good my friend. No worries" That's how it is there. Everyone so happy to help. No one cared if you tipped them or not.
I saved the best part for last! This goes out to my boys. Carey , Brandon & Savoy ( I hope I spelled that right bro) . They were Bartenders at the Infinity bar. This is a huge outdoor bar. With an amazing view of the ocean & resort. They have Entertainment there at night. Anyway, They made the trip. My wife and I hung out with them every night! You guys are the best Thank you for making us feel so welcome. Your bosses need to know this!!! Never thought we would meet dudes so cool & real! P.S. That shot you guys came up with.... Gross... so bad... in the best kind of way...lol.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph,nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sometimes when we read reviews on trip advisor, it is easy to think you made the wrong choice when planning a trip. I wonder if some people just complain about almost everything. Our experiences at the Grand Palladium were very positive. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful, our room was very clean and the grounds were immaculate. The pools, beaches, public restrooms, restaurants and grounds were well kept and were continually maintained. The food was plentiful and there were many choices. If you expect gourmet fare at an all inclusive place, then you will be disappointed. However, there are always many options to choose from and if you don't like a meal at one place, go to another. We were never pressed to sign up for excursions and never felt that the staff was soliciting tips, although they are certainly appreciated. This is a big, sprawling place and may be difficult for people with mobility problems. I would absolutely go back but sure wish the beds were a bit softer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

All, Just got back from the Grand Palladium in Lucea Jamaica. We traveled the week of January 12th 2013 and arrived at this resort a couple hours early from 3 pm check in which was great to give us an opportunity to check out the property and get a quick bit to eat and a few drinks. Our room was ready at 230 and sooner than expected and they upgraded our room to a ocean side view ground level sweet for nothing which was a great plus. The only down fall it was a little windy during the day on the patio but hey mon you can't have it all! The room was good in size and the amenities all worked. Our fridge was stocked daily and i've learned after many travels if you tip the maid even a few dollars a day it goes a long way. The only issue with the room was the bed was a little hard, but it wasn't too hard you couldn't sleep.The resort was bigger then we expected but only being about half full it was never a problem to get a poolside chair or even a beach front chair. The pool was really cold but it got better after being in it for a minute. I think it had to do with your skin being so hot from the sun before getting in. The beach..."well the reef " with a little sand blown on it to make it look like a beach was the only gripe most people had which is true they do need to bring a couple hundred tons of sand in and upgrade it. But if your totally a beach person you could of walked to the lady hampton side of the resort and hang out there beach called sunset cove which is nice and we did do but it's a long walk. Got to burn off all the food and drink you consume anyways.We ate at all the 'a al carte' restaurants and are good but if you want to get into the steak house "bubbas" you have to get there early or else you won't get in. We did eat at the buffet quite a bit too and there are two for lunches and the main one thats opened pretty much all the time where we ate breakfast every day and was above average compared to other properties we've been at in jamaica.We did have an invite on our third day to sit with a resort rep. to ask if you want to join " not a time share" but a return to property discount sales pitch presentation which we said we were not interested in and that was that. Just said no and she said" NO PROBLEM". Make sure you bring your own drinking mug because the drinking cups at all the bars during the day only serve in little 8 oz. plastic cups some of the smallest cups we had ever seen compared to all the properties in mexico and jamaica with the exception of a shot glass! Thats pretty minor. If someone asked me "would you go back to the Grand Palladium" i would probably say yes. If your a vacationer who likes good food and good made drinks you will like this property, If you like big sandy beaches like in negril this place probably is'nt for you mon! Pretty cut and dry, but with Negril you get a lot of white and green substance pushers. This resort is not that kind very clean and safe for all age groups even seen new borns, one , two year olds...very safe from all the riff raff!!!! Hope this helps and if you do deside to go here i would have to say " ENJOY MON "

Room Tip: " Rooms in units 11,12,13 are a closer walk to everything. Loby, pool, resturants"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is grand, in size only! the property itself is large giving travellers many beach, pool and restaurant options but all 3 three categories failed to impress us. The Pools where Cold and filthy! I stress cold the temperature was not more than 15 degrees Celsius, and it it was filled with mystery floaters that ranged from possible toilet paper to dead bugs. Also had no play area for children except a 5 by 5 foot wading pool next to the "day care" and a very outdated park that looked more like a death trap. The beaches where also a disappointment, they where all litter boxes to the many wild cats roaming the grounds among other rubble like broken glass and garbage that we found.

Second the food was the exact same for 2 weeks!! There was zero change in the buffet it was the same rubber processed ham for breakfast, mystery stews for lunch, and pasta at diner. And there is no room service! None. We couldn't get any fresh fruit for our one year old outside of the watermelon, pineapple, and grapefruit that they had out all day! The al la carte did offer some great menus tho if your lucky to get in as its first come first serve.. no reso's so ur waiting.

We thought we could seek comfort in our room which did not happen! The bed was like a board! and the pillows flat as pancakes... but for a charge you could rent pillows and mattress toppers (because they know the provided ones suck so bad they actually have ones for rent!!). Our first room was not clean upon checkin it was filthy bed was made but the bathtub had brown mystery goo, the roof in the bathroom was caved in, and after I wiped the counter and floor with a wipe the cloth was mahogany brown! So we asked to change rooms and our second room was worse! NO kidding worse! It had a foul stench we couldn't escape but we assume it was the copious black mold growing on the box spring. The fridge was not stocked for 2 days and I had to buy bottled water for my son for the cost of $10us for 1 litre of water. The bedroom patio door looked like it was broken into and we couldn't lock it and we where on the main floor! (maintenance did fix this one) Oh and the bathroom roof poured when the ppl above us showered..but they tried and couldn't fix this one!

The staff and spa where fabulous but I would never go back to this resort or recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is just as good as it looks in the pictures, We took a gamble and went in September (hurricane season) against everyone's advice and the best holiday ever. The weather was absolutely fantastic blue sky's everyday and not a cloud in sight, not to mention not a drop of rain. The staff are brilliant nothing was ever too much trouble, food was excellent and numerous restaurants catering for all different styles of food. The rooms are big and spacious and clean, the sea-view rooms are nice withe the sea just at the end of your balcony. The facilities we good and always available, loads of activities available at your leisure. The atmosphere in the day was buzzing and the pool bar is just what you need in the boiling heat to cool you down. I definitely be revisiting this hotel again, and I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Sea view if possible you get a nice breeze come into the room so you don't have to have the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

just got back this morning (22/01/2012), cant praise the hotel enough,we were never pressed for tips, and to be fair never gave many as we always forgot to take money out with us, but had great fun with the staff who are fantastic and always joined in with the fun, the place is immaculate, with great beaches and a massive pool, and a couple of adult pools too, the 'a la carte' restaurants are good, but you will have to turn up early for the stake house and Italian restaurants as they are the most popular, but the mexican one is a bit ropey, but there are some fantastic dishes to be f

Room Tip: e-mail ahead and ask for a sea room view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.