We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Solo Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lucea 8800, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Solo Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Resorts are not generally known for solo traveling but I had an amazing time at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton and I never felt alone. The resort is stunning, with a number of intimate beaches that never felt overcrowded, a huge infinity pool with swim-up bar, and a smaller adult pool.

Service was great: my room key didn't work well and they reprogrammed it without any trouble; everyone was helpful and it never felt like anyone was expecting a tip (though I tried to tip something each time); if you would like a ride to somewhere in the resort (it's rather big), all you have to do is call the bellboys. As you arrive, they welcome you with a drink and you can grab a cool wet towel at the reception area.

Room: Stayed in the honeymoon bungalow facing the ocean and it was fantastic; huge bed, sundeck maybe 50 feet from the beach, hot tub jacuzzi, outdoor shower, walk-in closet with safe. Room was cleaned each time I requested it. It was located right by the larger beach that it faced, as well as the adult Coral Beach and adult pool.

Food was fine, nothing too special. The buffets were great and offered a wide variety for breakfast and lunch. Plenty of restaurants to choose from for dinner; I would recommend Poseidon for seafood and Reggatoni for Italian. Drinks were fabulous and flowing the entire vacation.

I highly recommend a visit to the spa. I had a deep tissue massage while I was there and it was amazing. Plus, it granted me access to the rest of their facilities, including their hot tubs and warm pools, sauna and steam rooms. If you do not purchase a spa service, you can still use the facilities for 10 bucks a day.

Nighttime entertainment: Not great. The shows are amateurish, but there is a disco on the premises, as well as a small casino. I didn't use either. The infinity bar seems to be popular for evening drinks, and they have a live band playing each night. I attended a bonfire party one night, that was pretty fun.

Bring water shoes for the rockier beaches. Bring a large travel mug/tumbler for drinks. Everything in the resort shops is overpriced, so come prepared instead. Take an excursion out of the resort (ziplining was amazing, Rick's Cafe is fun). Free wifi is only available at the lobby, which made it a very popular place at times. If you want wifi elsewhere, you can pay ridiculous prices for it. I found it very relaxing to unplug.

I would definitely come back to this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear IK72012:

We have read your reviews and was very delighted to know that your vacation experience met your expectations. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the overall facility and that you would give us the privilege to host you again as our very special repeat guest.

Your positive reviews was shared among our team as this is one of the ways we grow and improve our product and services.

Once again, thank you for choosing Grand Palladium and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    1,022
    461
    277
    177
See reviews for
730
1,611
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just got back from a two week honeymoon it was AMAZING! I'm not sure what other people are looking for in a 5 star hotel but for me this was it. everything was fantastic. There are so many great restaurants to choose from and they are all amazing although we didn't enjoy the Mexican as much but a lot of other people had great things to say about it. Bubba's steak house, Italian and Jamaican were our favorites, yes you have to wait for a table if you turn up at the popular times (7.30pm - 8.30pm) but relax at the bar, have a drink, chill out your on holiday so whats the rush! :) The food is well worth the wait. We stayed Lady Hamilton resort which was perfect, Villa 33 was great - it was away from the hustle and bustle of the main lobby and near the adult pool and beach, the room was great nice view of the ocean, jacuzzi bath and shower, you could fit 4 in a bed they were so big and comfy! They have 3 beaches altogether all offering different experiences. Get out and see Jamaica on one of the tours the 7 mile beach in Negril is gorgeous and visiting Bob Marley's house is worth it, go shopping the prices are really cheap compared to the hotel shop.Climbing Dunn's River waterfall was also amazing! The staff are all really friendly and couldn't do enough, and not once did i feel pressured in to tipping anyone it was all up to me. All in all the Hotel was amazing everything is so laid back, its Jamaica! Relax and have fun i think to many people stress about such small things that are really not worth it, believe me you wont be disappointed we will definitely go back and use this chain of hotels again.

Room Tip: If your booked in to the Lady Hamilton side request blocks 32 onwards we were in 33 it was a great l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Burrows_79:

We have read your comments and were very delighted to know that you had a wonderful vacation here with us at Grand Palladium Resort & Spa.

We are indeed happy to know that you had the opportunity to dine at our Ala Carte Restaurants and that the food was to your personal taste and that overall everything was great. We assure you that the comments will be shared among our staff as this can only motivate them to continue offering excellent service.

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your reviews and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future on your next vacation.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

It is important to understand that going to Grand Palladium in Jamaica is not equivalent to going to Jamaica. This place is absolutely self-sufficient world with all attractions and if placed in any other Carribean place, Turkey or Egypt will be same good and worth visiting. So, if you want to see Jamaica you will need to take tours and go out of the hotel or simply enjoy all inclusive inside.
The hotel looks better than it is. It is definitely not 5 stars. It is too big with too many people with too fast traffic to provide you with exclusive services. But it has strong advantages:
1. Beautiful territory and look of the hotel. If you are selfie-lover - you will enjoy it. Portraits will look 5 stars for sure.
2. Many beaches, bars, restaurants, pools etc. Easy to find a place for socializing and getaway.
3. Rooms are spacious.
4. Food and drinks are everywhere. Try smoked marlin.

Disadvantages:
1. Quality of hotel is 3+. Rooms are not brand new, some things require refurbishment, there tv doesn't work, here electronic lock is shaky. But it is not what you are coming to the Carribean for. Sun, food, drinks, nature compensates everything.
2. A la carte restaurants are overrated. Once you come to such place it feels you MUST visit asian, mexican restaurant for smth special. It's wrong. Buffet is same quality and value. But no a la carte menu. Though no lines and "impression" of being taken care of.

The verdict: good its best meaning. do not expect 5stars experience. unlock the treasure of fat and beautiful all-inclusive. try not to eat too much.

Room Tip: try to avoid 1st floor. French windows make everyone see what is happening inside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Alexander S:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on with us. We are very delighted to know that your vacation experience met your expectations.

We are especially happy that you enjoyed your vacation and more over our beautiful Island Jamaica.

We really look forward for your return visit on your next vacation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

top shelf drinks, excellent restaurants would recommend to anyone!
Worth the 10 hour flight from the UK! The steak house we ate in 4 times over the 2 weeks excellent place , all top shelf drinks included which is excellent as well

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Turnerandhooch1:

We have read your comments and were very happy that you indeed enjoyed your vacation with us at Grand Palladium Resort & Spa.

Your comments are very important to us as this is one of the ways we grow and improve our services.

We again thank your for your positive feed back and we look forward to hosting you on your next vacation.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I visited the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton from January 4th - January 11th. I had read the reviews on this site and a few others before booking the trip. Since both of us are vegetarians we had emailed them asking if there were good vegetarian food options and they had responded saying they cater to vegetarians.

Room: We had a junior size suite which was very spacious, the king size bed was comfortable and the sofa and chairs were also nice to have. There was also a Jacuzzi in the bathroom. The shampoos and lotion they provided were not that good compared to the Sheraton or Hilton chain. Our room was cleaned every day and the staff kept the area clean.

Food/Restaurants: Like I mentioned my wife and I are vegetarians and we were disappointed in the amount of food options for us. We have no complaints about breakfast and lunch as the buffets had a decent amount of food we could eat. The dinner was our real complaint, there are multiple themed restaurants but most of them the quality of vegetarian food was not good.

Italian: Few vegetarian options and we went there the first day, the service was quick but the meal we had was probably 2 stars out of 5
Indian: We are Indian and I honestly would have to say the food was not good, and I would give that 0.5 stars out of 5
Mexican: The appetizers were decent, the chips and salsa were good, the fajitas and burrito we had were not. I don't think I've ever had a burrito where there was not beans, but instead they put cabbage and carrots. I would give this a 1 star out of 5.
Asian: Probably the best one, the vegetarian sushi was good and the stir fried vegetables had some flavor to it. I would day 3.5 stars.
The other days we ate at the buffet and the food as bearable, though when 7/10 things had meat in it, we can't eat that.

The price we payed for the all inclusive may not be worth the cost as the food was really not up to par.

The bars were pretty good, the infinity bar was good, but our favorite was the Miss. Lou's bar. They had awesome drinks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Food & Beverage Director at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear nnmn25,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are grateful for your positive comments. It is great that you enjoyed the various dishes which were served at our buffets. We will use your comments to improve our "a la carte" restaurants.

It was our pleasure hosting you, please do not hesitate in contacting us if there is anything that we can do from this end.

Best Wishes

Victor Caride
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obzor, bulgaria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Booked for our 25th wedding anvi & my wifes 50th birthday,arrived very tired after a 10 hour flight to find out they had no reservation for my daughter and her friend after 1hr we finally got there room which was about 15 mins away from ours ( not good).
After 2 weeks I can tell you I was disappointed overall, the food was average ( steak house was very good but rest of the themed restaurants were average to poor.) bar staff only
wanted to know you if you tipped them everytime and ignored you if you didn't.
Restaurant staff needed better training but they tried hard to be fair, breakfasts were average & the food not very hot.
Rooms were very good with king size bed and jaccuzzi or spa baths. views from your balcony were stunning looking out to carrib sea,pool & adult bars were excellent.
Day trip were good but average time on the bus or coach was 2 to 3 hrs long to your destinations, a must is dunns river falls, rick's café for the diving, ys falls for zip wire or just jumping into the lagoon below,bob marley was good but watch out for what they try to sell you ( say no more).
Wi-fi l is rubbish ( don't pay for it they rip you off use the free one in the lobby its as good as you are going to get.
July 2013 2 weeks.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing one when you book the holiday,you may get one but don't bank on it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Room Division Director at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Grettings mshergo,

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. At the same time, you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

We look forward to seeing you in the future in order to have the opportunity to change your mind about us.

Warmest regards,

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton from January 5th to 12th. To give some context in the last 15 years we have been stayed at 11 all inclusives in five countries including an additional one in Jamaica.

We traveled with another couple and our 11 month old daughter. The resort is huge! If you do not want to walk and need everything to be in close proximity do not go to this resort. However we did not have any concerns with the size of the resort despite the fact that we were in building 36, a fair distance from the main facilities and were toting a 11 month old.

Our room was a 1 bedroom suite which allowed us to close the door when our daughter went to bed and be in the living room with the additional TV and additional balcony so it was worth the extra money. There was also a pull out couch in the living room which we used but it was extremely uncomfortable which would be my only real complaint. Our rooms were cleaned well daily and the staff come around again in the evening to turn down the sheets and provide extra towels if you choose.

We ate at 6 a la carte restaurants. All were wonderful but the Indian was the best and had a great atmosphere. We had exceptional service at the Indian, Mexican and Creole with servers Emru, Latisha, Jone and Faith-Lyn respectively. The buffets are good and we always found lots of options for all four adults and our daughter. We also ate at the Sports Bar which is pretty basic but allows you to always have an option. The jerk hut on the beach was a nice change from the restaurants.

It was efficient when getting drinks including the pool, infinity, casino, disco and beach bars.

We did not feel that the staff was pressuring us for tips however we usually tip at the bars, maid, at the restaurants and for the bell hops unless we have had bad service which was not the case. The only time we saw staff not being extremely friendly was when a guest was being difficult or rude.

They gym is basic but functional. When we went in the morning most of the cardio machines are being used although you could always have a nice jog around the resort instead.

We flew with Canjet and although the staff was great on the plane, the check-in and check-out staff at the counter, boarding and the communication about delays were disastrous.

Check-in and Check-out was a breeze at the resort. We would return to this resort and had a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Smaustin1:

We have read your reviews and was very delighted to know that you had a wonderful vacation and that you did enjoy the overall facility. We are very happy that our food was to your personal liking and even so a great chance of dining at six Ala carte restaurants.

Our staff are trained to extend the best customer service and it is pleasing to know that our staff made your vacation a great one. We will share your comments to our team and most importantly those names you mentioned.

Once, again thank your for making it Grand Palladium and it is always a pleasure to host and serve you. We look forward to seeing you again on a return vacation very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Address: Lucea 8800, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is bathed by the calm turquoise waters of Jamaica's north coast, in a small bay on a privileged enclave on the coast. The design is a perfect harmony between modernand luxurious facilities of a first class hotel and the attractive natural environment of the area characterized by the turquoise sea and the relief of the landscape. The complexalso houses an ultramodern Spa, which is equipped with the most advanced facilities and offers guests a wide variety of therapies and services. Near the village of Lucea and approximately 30 minutes from Montego Bay and its airport. Within the complex is theGrand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa has a total of 540 guestrooms in 15 villas ofthree levels with 6 Suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa. The Grand Palladium LadyHamilton Resort & Spa has a total of 516 rooms distributed in 13 villas of three levels with 6 suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa and 48 two-story cabins with 4 Cabins Suites(adults only) each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Jamaica/Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.