We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica no problem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lucea 8800, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jamaica no problem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I loved this resort. The food was excellent and being lactose intolerant, I had no problems all week. Service for drinks was sometimes slow at the buffet but generally, by the time I returned to my table with my plate, my drink was waiting for me. Servers were polite and very friendly.
I stayed in Villa 26 which was very close to everything; the lobby, the main pool, Las Brisas beach and the adult (Coral) beach, and the restaurants.
The rooms are large, plenty of space. Beds are decently comfortable although the pillows are fairly hard. If you like soft pillows, bring your own. Shower is lovely and it's nice to have a Jacuzzi tub in every room.
Spent most of my days at Coral Beach as it was close to a bar with great bartenders (Andrea and Radcliff), and it was a smaller beach with a little more privacy and no children.
The resort is beautiful, the buildings are gorgeous and everything is well maintained. There are shows every evening and there is always something that you can take part in if you don't want to just lay on the beach.
A la carte restaurants were top notch although sometimes difficult to get reservations. However, the buffet was outstanding every time I ate there so no complaints food wise!
Jamaicans speak English easily and the water is filtered so you're able to drink tap water. Excellent.
Staff was great, I have never felt so welcome in my life! Stephanie sounds a lot prettier in a Jamaican accent.
Thank you Kenroy (lifeguard) for the invitation to stay in Jamaica, come visit Canada anytime!
Would probably return to the Lady Hamilton and would definitely return to Jamaica. I loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    1,022
    461
    276
    176
See reviews for
729
1,610
25
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What can I say? The resport is very large, however I felt that was a good thing with being so large it never felt busy until supper time at the A la Cartes... I traveled with Air Transat which gave us reservation privlidges at the a la cartes, my advice would be just take a pager like everyone else, the reservations never were on time, or were "lost" so it wasn't a great experience. Service was hit and miss, as was the food. Our first meal was at the indian a la carte, it was amazing, great food, excellent service, she even gave us a comment card to fill out... The rest of the week at the a la cartes had so-so service, sometimes even down right bad, slow, and rude at times (none of those however gave us comment cards to fill out, no surprise there)

We stayed in a honeymoon villa, it was a great room, wonderful view.

I have read a lot of poor reviews on the beaches of this report - Sure you are not able to walk for miles, but that also prevents any vendors from harrassing you all day to buy their junk, it was nice to be secluded. The Sunset beach is by far the best, more space, lots of sand in the water.

Finally, we took a ride on the "Great Big Mable" water sport, I would recommend against this, you get no instruction or idea of what is to happen other than "Put on a life jacket" We sat on the tube, listened to the boat drivers argue in Patios for 2-3 minutes before they gunned it in high gear, it started out fun, however it was a bit windy on the way back and we hit some pretty intense waves, left feeling extreemly sore from the whiplash - Avoid this activity, seriously, take out a Kayak instead!

Room Tip: The honeymoon villas are quiet, nestled on their own cove so each gets an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your recent vacation here at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. We are elated that your overall vacation with us was a wonderful one and we extend our apologies for the inconveniences encountered with some off our staff. We can assure you that this is not always the case as we do have a team of ladies and gentlemen who will work to satisfy our guest needs.

We welcome you to visit in the near future for another memorable vacation, nothing short of Grand.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived on 13/4/13 for a wedding. The party's rooms were scattered all over - not together as promised. The food is great in ALL restaurants. The rooms are very good, but a little tired in places. The facilities - bars, entertainment, pools, beaches etc. were wonderful.

The staff are very friendly, but could not organise a booze-up in a brewery! Reception do not answer their phones, and if they did, they put them down on me! The mini bar was topped up 3 times out of 14 - and only when I complained.

Great for adults but not for kids. EVERYONE expects a tip. The trips are dear and also poorly organised - everything runs on "Jamaica Time" = SLOW and late. Taxis are a rip-off unless you haggle.

Had a great holiday despite this - even though I slipped on a wet floor in the room, banged and gashed my head and was told the nurse would "take a look for 40 dollars"!

Room Tip: ask for a low floor - the villas have no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

we arrived at reception and took 20 minutes to book in, we were first off the bus, as staff thought that we were in 1 room. when this was sorted she was very confused that the 2 couples each wanted to stay in the same room with their relevant spouse?? anyway we went to the first room and found this to be occupied by someone else. after a further wait we were given another room. most bars, the buffet restaurant and the theatre meant about 15/20 minute wait for drink orders and the pool bars had permenant queues. the buffet restaurant was laughable on service too, you walk up to desk and asked how many in party, you tell the staff and they then put, in our case, 4 fingers in the air and stand there waiting for someone to notice so you can be told where to sit. if it is busy everyone keeps there head down and it can take a while. on one occassion we 4 were sent to a member of staff and she tried to sit us on 2 tables of 2 and not at one of the 3 tables set for 4 pple????? drinks usually came on 2nd of 3rd course if they were offered or brought over at all,asking several times usually helps. the restaurants are apparantly first come first served basis although we found this didnt happen on several occassions. we went to the italian and waited 1 1/2 hours for a table and the grill was 2 1/2 hours, the food in the italian wasnt good and our server was more miserable than us after our wait. the grill food was better but it was too hot to enjoy. we were in villa 26 next to theatre and animation team so listened to constant music with the team members shouting over the music on a microphone all day and then the outdoor bar had loud music on til around midnight. we were given a different room after complaining as it was very loud all day every day and was put in block 37 opposit the main road. due to the noise at the pool area and the problem with finding 3 broken glasses in the main pool on 3 seperate days we tried the adult pool. the first day it was absolutley filthy on the second the pool attendant cleaned it so we went in to try again but it was still filthy!

this hotel is absolutely lovely and the grounds are very well kept. the rooms are big and quite cool-which is good as both rooms we had the air-con was a waste of time. the location is beautiful too with little coves and a couple of beaches. the cleaners do a fab job and never seen any problems or concerns. the food was pretty good but quite repetative, it was stange how the mexican restaurant was always empty and yet the buffet had 2 mexican nights in 2 weeks.

we went with thopsons and i have to say the rep was very good. she took on our complaints and followed up action by hotel and kept us up to date on what was going on. we were given free vip tickets for the airport and the rep did try to sort but we did come home wishing we had chosen a different hotel

Room Tip: villa 36 around there is close to everything but not affected by noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Food & Beverage Director at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear dawnharris,

Thanks for your review, we really appreciate you take the time to let us know about your holidays with us. We appreciate your positive comments about our facilities and food. Please, note that, while we make effort to ensure that the service we provide in our establishment meets your expectations, there may be some challenges we need to face, especially during the high season. Some restaurants like Reggaetoni and Bubba's steak house are the most populars and we try our best to accomodate all our guest.

We welcome your visit in the near future as we will be more than happy to host you once more. Until Then, best wishes

Victor Caride
Assistant Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our first experience at the Grand Palladium was an incredibly tedious check in. The staff seemed put out that so many of us arrived at the same time - they were SLOW and very rude. No-one on our group got their room before 3pm which makes one wonder........how can rooms for 70+ people all instantaneously become ready at exactly 3pm? An easy fix for this would just be for the hotel to say no check ins until 3pm - that would leave no room for frustrations.

Our room was typical - we we on the 2nd floor in building 36. The beds are not queen size by Canadian standards but we expected this. The bathroom was large. We always had the mini bar restocked with 3 bottles of water each day. I would recommend using your do not disturb sign if you ever go back to your room for the night before 9:30 pm - they will knock on your door to ask if you want turn down service later on in the evening which could disturb you if you haven't put out the do not disturb notice.

We ate at the buffet as well as some of the a la carte restaurants. We have been away previously to all inclusive resorts and this by far was the buffet with the least selection. Overall the food was ok - just ok. No-one in our family was sick at all during the trip. We all drank the water from bottles, in the restaurants (which was from the tap) , and at the bars with no issues which was nice.

What surprised us the most was the poor attitude of many of the staff in the restaurants, particularly in the Negril buffet. We had a group of 6 and wanted to sit together at dinner one evening. The server in our area kissed his teeth at us when we asked if we could push the table of 4 and table of 2 together. When 10 of us wanted to sit together one night it was as if we were the first people to ever make this request. I don't expect people to always be happy in their jobs, people have off days - this was not people having off days. This was just rudeness. Customer service is something that for about 50% of the staff is seriously lacking.

The daily entertainment was typical for most resorts. They had 'teen' activities listed on their calendar but we never saw anything that was focused for the young adults. They were able to participate in all the other activities as well (except the drinking games) though. The entertainment staff were a group of 20 something's who spent more time partying amongst themselves than engaging the guests, shockingly so. They decided one day that it was 'throw each other in the pool day' and proceeded to bulldoze through groups of people while a group of 4 staff were holding another staff member they were trying to throw in the pool. There was no care on their part that they tramped through the volleyball court and through the middle of a few games. They were focused on their own fun while completely ignoring their environment.

We did 2 trips - dolphin cove and the Negril sunset tour. Our son loved swimming with the dolphins and we all enjoyed the Negril tour. Our tour guide had directed us to stores 9 & 10 when we went shopping. DON'T listen to this. She must have been paid a commission by those stores as they were the busiest ( because everyone headed there ) but they were also the most expensive. The same items can be found in almost every store in the 'mall' and at lower prices than the stores we were directed to.

It wasn't a bad vacation. Jamaica is a beautiful country. I was able to spend a week doing nothing! We ate, we drank, we swam. There were some very nice pleasant staff. But we would not return to the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Food & Beverage Director at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear channer,

Thanks for your review, we really appreciate you take the time to let us know about your holidays with us. As you mentioned, not all the rooms are ready at the same time but generally they are cleaned in a margin of 1-2 hours and before to be ready they should be checked by a housekeeping supervisor. We try our best to get the rooms as soon as possible. On the other hand, we train and brief our staff constantly to give the best service. Sometimes you will find people who can ruin your experience and we try, through those kind of actions, to avoid as much as possible these situations.

We welcome your visit in the near future as we will be more than happy to host you once more. Until Then, best wishes

Victor Caride
Assistant Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Hotel rooms ok.Service all over was very very poor.Food very similar every day.Entertainment team very noisey and did what they wanted to. Adult pool filthy.Have stayed in Jamaica before at a different Hotel which was far superior.
Really too much to complain about but would advise not to stay there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Food and Beverage Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear WA8,

Let me thank you for your comments. We are sorry you never enjoy our food variety. We really think we have a huge selection in terms of food, every day we have a different menu for lunch as well as for dinner, and we want you to find every type of meal, meats, fruits and vegetables, fish and seafood, etc... We truly believe that we have one of the biggest variety on the island. If you have any suggestion to incorporate , please let us know. We have to satisfy a lot of guests, and that's what we want and we try every day.
Sorry if you found our entertainment very loud, yes, we do have a lot of parties and bands playing on property, we welcome any idea or suggestion to improve.
Let me finish one more time, thanking you for your feedback.

Best regards
Eugenia Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lets start with the rooms, clean (cleaned every day), spacious(big spa bath), cool (aircon), lovely views from the balcony. The TV had alot of channels & mini bar was a nice bonus. There is a safe in each room (free to use) The staff here are really fun and by the end of the holiday you get to know them really well. They are very accomodating & helpful.
The food was abit hit and miss, some of the restaurants were awful. At the indian restaurant they gave me the wrong order and told me they had nothing else left - I could have sworn it was dog food. The mexican was a disaster! The steak house bubbas on the other hand was BEAUTIFUL!! The steak was great!!! The buffet was also hit and miss but you will always find something to eat on there. The drinks were quite good, cocktails had alot of kick ;-) I would recommend if you are drinking in the day to take a 'bubba mug/keg' you really wont regret it. They keep your drinks cold for ages & it holds more hence less trips to the bar. The beach was lovely, beautiful calm seas and a great jerk chicken hut that you have to visit!!
The pool was beautiful and the extra touch was the swim up bar.
The shop on site it a little expensive but you expect it to be.
The only issue would be the entertainment, if you are a nightowl like me there are not many options for entertainment after 11pm. Im not one for nightclubs - there is the option of the sports bar but It is abit dull and very very warm!!
Overall it was a lovely holiday, there would be things I would change but others I wouldnt.
I would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations and the competent service received from our staff. It is unfortunate that you did not find the Indian or Mexican cuisine to your liking but you however loved dining at the Bubbas steak house

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Address: Lucea 8800, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is bathed by the calm turquoise waters of Jamaica's north coast, in a small bay on a privileged enclave on the coast. The design is a perfect harmony between modernand luxurious facilities of a first class hotel and the attractive natural environment of the area characterized by the turquoise sea and the relief of the landscape. The complexalso houses an ultramodern Spa, which is equipped with the most advanced facilities and offers guests a wide variety of therapies and services. Near the village of Lucea and approximately 30 minutes from Montego Bay and its airport. Within the complex is theGrand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa has a total of 540 guestrooms in 15 villas ofthree levels with 6 Suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa. The Grand Palladium LadyHamilton Resort & Spa has a total of 516 rooms distributed in 13 villas of three levels with 6 suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa and 48 two-story cabins with 4 Cabins Suites(adults only) each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Jamaica/Lucea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.