We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place on the beach in La Manzanilla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jolandas

Jolandas
Avenida Maria Asuncion No. 95, La Manzanilla, Mexico
3153515449
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in La Manzanilla
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best place on the beach in La Manzanilla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have been here almost every day since Christmas. This place is highly recommanded. Jolanda and Leon, the owners, are always cheerful and helpful. The place is very clean, and the cooking of Jolanda is delicious. She has the best price in town if you want to rent kayaks. She also has home-made cooked breads (the one with 7 grains is wonderful). For a small fee (50 pesos for a week), you can plug your laptop and use their Wi-Fi. And all the staff is very smiling, helpful and polite: Javier, Luis, Susannah, Angel... Again, highly recommanded!

Louise Blais from Québec

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Love love love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed on the beach just down from Jolanda's three times and every time, it was my favorite place to go. The Indonesian/Europenan/Mexican menu is varied and fun and everything is very good. For a small fee, you can hook up to the internet there. The pina coladas are too good to be good for the waistline. Jolanda is fun and always present at her "home"--her office/table on the street side of the restaurant. There are two entrances--street and beach. Three types of seating: Inside palapa, terrace or outside on the beach on lounge chairs. A great place to spend the day, then go home, change and go dancing there some nights. A romantic, laid-back place--like the spot I used to daydream about during Dakota snowstorms in my youth. Hey, I made my dreams come true! You can do so as well at Jolanda's.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Christmas Banquet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

They sat us at long tables and we met other visitantes. Food was unique and fun to try. 20 Courses!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I keep coming back for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Its my second time in La Manzanilla and Jolanda's was high on list of places to return to. Its nice to get a break from all the Mexican food which, while delicious, can get a bit monotonous. Jolanda's is right on the beach, the staff is incredibly accommodating and the menu is different enough to keep me coming back for more. I dreamt of the chicken satay with the incredible peanut sauce. The curry is very good, the dutch meatballs are delish, also this is one of the few places that serves a salad with every plate WITH salad dressing. There is a large selection of vegetarian options on the menu. Jolanda makes homemade preserves as well as homemade ice cream as well. There is a cute internet bar there too.
During the day I just like to park it on one of their beach chairs and order a refreshing limeade and mineral water drink. If you come to this town stop here and ask the owners their story. Heck, ask anyone who works here what their story is, they are all interesting.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach front ambiance, great food, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We had a marvelous meal from a menu featuring Asian European and Dutch influenced dishes (as well as some Indonesian curries). The staff is super friendly, the on the beach location is perfect with a great view of unbelievable sunsets and don't miss asking Sebastian to mix you his special drink!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolandas also viewed

La Manzanilla, Costalegre
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
 

Been to Jolandas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolandas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.