We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Cafe

Rosewood Cafe
213 5th St, Kaslo, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 353-7673
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Kaslo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rossland, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We decided to give this restaurant a try when we were in Kaslo recently, and are so glad we did - it is now our favorite restaurant in the area, and in my opinion warrants a visit to Kaslo just for the pleasure of dining here!
There were 3 of us, and we tried the quiche and salad, ribs, and seafood plate with salmon, jumbo shrimp and king crab, and we agreed that all were the best we had ever had! The portions were also large, but we decided to take away dessert because they all looked so good....the fruit pies were amazing!
On top of all this great food, the ambiance in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service.
It was so good that we decided to go back the next night, and if possible, it was even better.
The chef and the lady who run the place are lovely people, and they put their heart into this business, and it shows in every respect, and also makes the diner experience so special.
We love it here, totally recommend it, and will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not What I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had been here years ago. It had always been great. Came here for dinner on a Friday night.
I ordered the chicken in pastry with Camembert cheese with a stuffed potato and my wife ordered locs on bread and the onion soup.

I had thrie home madel iced tea which was excellent. The rest was very disappointing. The pastry was mushy, the chicken dry and the potato flavourless. The onion soup was bland. Usually there's stringy cheese but the bread was mushy and the cheese bland.

The place is listed for sale. It may be a sign of owner burnout. Running a restaurant is a tough gig! Especially a high end restaurant in a small town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest, WA State
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem, Best View in Canadian North America, Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This restaurant is pure magic. From the first turn down 5th Street (the really only main street in Kaslo) this pretty little rosey pink building stares at you at the end of the block. Arrive at the restaurant and turn around and see a view unlike no other.

The economy has changed since 1998 when it was the only find dining north of Spokane. Now there are other places in Nelson that make wanting to drive further north worthwhile.

The blackened salmon is incredible. The meat (pork or beef ribs, steaks, blackened steak, prime rib) are always top notch.

The wine selection is always superb, make sure you ask for a Canadaian Red!

Where else can you get several martini's in what seems like the middle of nowhere.

I can't say enough of this place. Thank you for your years of excellence.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had lunch sitting outside in the front garden patio. Fabulous salad which we shared - it was so large! Our waitress was lovely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was at this restaurant last year and thought I had made a poor choice, chicken pot pie. This year I went for dinner and had the roast beef. I was disappointed again. And the prices are high for the quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosewood Cafe also viewed

Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Rosewood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosewood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.