We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed many nights...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaslo Hotel Pub & Restaurant

Kaslo Hotel Pub & Restaurant
430 Front Street, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada (Formerly Kaslo Hotel & Pub)
+1 250-353-7714
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Kaslo
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Continental, Eclectic
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stayed many nights...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have stayed there many nights over the last several years. Only have great things to say about the hotel. Rooms are stunning and the pub has great local brews and food. Can't wait to get back there again.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Really nice food and the service was great. The hotel is fully updated but still retains the heritage character of the village. Worth a visit!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and drink with an excellent view of the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We ate lunch at the Kaslo Hotel and Pub one day and it was so good, we returned for dinner the next evening. Again, the quality and service was outstanding. Kaslo is a busy place in August, and the choices for fine food are slim. This place is a keeper. They offer a great variety of beers, ales and other drinks. Local brews are found on tap. I favor products from the Nelson Brewing Company, but found others I liked as well. The menu is chock full of delicious choices. I had "pub fare", a Thai Chicken and Shrimp with rice dish. It was a better meal than I've had in ages. My wife ordered the special, a seafood lasagna and it was delicious. Portions are ample and the desserts were exceptional. The pub has outdoor seating, in addition to a nice indoor setting. All tables have wonderful views of Kootenay Lake and the surrounding peaks and forested mountains. One thing that stands out is how friendly and skilled the servers are here. They know how to treat visitng guests. This is a pub, so expect some noise and activity. The parking lot is below and near the outside tables and that could be a negative. We ate inside away from the bugs and heat. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great view, good food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Enjoyed the poutine and the view, but service was very slow (overwhelmed by numbers according to my fellow diners).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nothing Much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I recently visited the hotel and pub with a friend visiting from Vancouver.....the staff seemed young and inexperienced, when asked the waitress didn't know if the ceasar salad dressing was made in house or much else for that matter. I am tired of going out and forgiving staff for not doing their jobs because they are "cute" or "young" or "just learning".....I work for my money and when I spend it I want my money's worth....the atmosphere was fresh and new but the bar stools we tiny for full size men and when you cater to a bike crowd you should make sure that they are comfortable. The burger that I had was overcooked to the point that it was really hard to chew, the hand cut fries were a nice treat. The place looks new and I guess they are finding their stride.....get some old time guys and gals with some "get up and go", product knowledge, personality and some real desire to look after your patrons!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaslo Hotel Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Kaslo Hotel Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaslo Hotel Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.