We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for a pleasant lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery

BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery
347 Front Street | Box 939, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
250 353-7361
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Kaslo
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Dessert, Pizza, Canadian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Situated in beautiful Kaslo, B.C. the BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery is a favorite - catering to both locals and tourists year round. We create our fresh, wholesome, homemade menu items using quality ingredients; organic and locally grown when in season, supporting our community's health and well being. We're open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, specialty coffees and desserts! Family friendly, fun dining! Great eggs benny, daily soups and specials, fresh summer salads, mexi bites, burgers, pizza and kids menu. Beautiful, dog-friendly garden patio, live music venue, fully licensed!
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Recommended for a pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The Clubhouse sandwich with seed salad was excellent. $4 glass of tasty local draft beer. Nice atmosphere on the main street of Kaslo with a very pretty patio garden at the rear of the building. Service was friendly and efficient. Recommended for a pleasant lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nakusp, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nachos of Joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I'll start by saying that I have a lot of experience with nachos - they are a passion of mine. I eat them, look at them, talk about them, blog about them, write about them, and even take pictures and make videos about them.

This Bistro gave me the best specialty plate of nachos I have eaten. Try the medi nachos, and thank me later. If you are serious about nachos, this is the place to go. I suppose they could have used more toppings, but nachos can always use more toppings.

My wife loved her meal, and the desserts were great too. I'll be coming back here whenever I'm in Kaslo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBelleBistro, Manager at BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks so much for the rave review! It means a lot coming from a nacho connoisseur such as yourself! We love the Medi nachos too! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrible meal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Server left us wating for quite some time, then when we ordered it took ages and was barely warm. Very untidy looking kitchen and cook was rude telling me to get out when checking the conditions. He was not the sort of person I would hire, snapping before I explained who we were.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBelleBistro, Manager at BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience here and send you our apologies. We strive to have prompt service for all of our guests and are disappointed to hear that you didn't seem to receive that! Also, sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your meal. In the future, we suggest that you bring any issues regarding your meal to your servers attention so that they can be addressed. Regarding a kitchen employee seeming rude, we apologize as well. We do gladly give kitchen tours but this doesn't happen without a manager as we are very strict on our food safety policy and we discourage anyone who is not in proper attire and non-slip shoes with their hair covered and tied back to enter our kitchen. Perhaps that is why one of our cooks was surprised to have a customer walk in? We also work hard as a team to keep our kitchen tidy and organized. It is part of our kitchen policy to have it very clean and we have had excellent feedback from every health inspection we have had. We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and sincerely hope that your next dining experience with us is more positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of my favorites, Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I just can't enough of this place. No trip to Kaslo is complete without a visit to the Blubelle. The food is consistently creative, tasty, and reasonably priced. The decor is casual and comfortable, and the wait staff are friendly.

Love the ribs, and they have the best coconut cream pie on the planet. ... but really, everything seems to be good here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not this time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were in Kaslo for the first time when we wandered past the Bistro. The place looked good, and the sign on a door said dogs welcome. This seemed to be really unusual, so my wife walked in to ask abut this as we have a dog.

Walking up to the bar, she waited for a break in the conversation between the woman behind the bar and her friend and after a few minutes, the friend seemed uncomfortable and looked around. At this point, the lady behind the bar looked up and, with an attitude, said simply, "Yes?" She was obviously very annoyed that her conversation had been interrupted.

After this first display of animosity, my wife asked about the sign that said dogs were welcome and what that meant, to which she was given a very sarcastic answer. Seeing that she was not welcome there, my wife left.

If you are going to put signs up, at least make them clear. Not everyone knows the rules and regulations. Oh, and if you are customer facing, try to sound friendly and professional even if you do think we are obviously idiots.

On the upside, we had great pizzas from down the road about half an hour later, and the dog stayed in the Jeep.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBelleBistro, Manager at BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are so very sorry for your experience here. Our sign that says "Well behaved dogs are welcome here" is intended for our patio. We see how this could be misleading though and will change the wording to "on our patio" which will open in early May. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Also, our most sincere apologies about being spoken to like that, it is unacceptable and has since been addressed! Our intention is an emphasis on great customer service and that clearly wasn't what you experienced. We hope that you'll come back again with your pup and enjoy our lovely garden patio! If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact us bluebellebistro@gmail.com. Again, thank you for bringing these issues to light so that we could address them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery also viewed

Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBelle Bistro & Beanery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.