We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless view - never wanted to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wing Creek Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaslo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wing Creek Resort
9114 Highway 31 Box 1164, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kaslo
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Priceless view - never wanted to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Everything you hope for but even better. Super clean, modern but rustic and luxurious. Debra, Kevin and everything about Kaslo are delightful. What is impossible to convey is the feeling - you are happy to be alive,soothed, relaxed, able to feel the expansiveness of awe inspiring views. There is so much to do but then again you can do nothing but relax-no kids, fresh air, trickling creek, mountains everywhere!. The only thing we didn't like about our stay was leaving. Will be back and refer to all our friends. Great for small wedding groups, retreats, romantic and adventure- young and old will love it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review and for trying to capture the "feeling" at Wing Creek! Many of our guests feel it (as of course do we!) but it is always hard to convey in words. Thank you for not just trying but also for succeeding! We feel blessed to live here and to share this wonderful little corner of the world with guests from all over the world. Our guests tell us it is just the trick for recovering from life in the city -- whether it's London or New York, Toronto or Vancouver -- natural surroundings, forest, mountain, lake, trickling creek and otherwise a lot of space, silence and serenity.We look very forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
parksville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

WE stayed here for three nights this summer. Great stay. Great cottages. So peaceful and quiet. Loved everything. Will definitely stay again if we get the chance. It is a long hike back from the beach so be prepared for that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic review and total enjoyment of our Kootenay Lake resort! We love to be able to provide exactly what our guests are looking for, including our private cottages and an escape from everyday life into quiet, peaceful Nature. We feel blessed to be able to share this experience with our many guests from all over the world. Many of our guests enjoy all-day or multi-day hikes in the mountains surrounding us and we are happy to provide suggestions and advice whether they prefer the trail to our private beach, the flat Kaslo River Trail or the multitude of intermediate and advanced hikes and climbs nearby. We are now starting to offer Retreats that allow our guests to immerse themselves in Nature as well as in a specific activity, such as Art, Writing, or Yoga. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again at Wing Creek Resort, any time you can get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is the most difficult review I have written for Trip Advisor. We loved so many things about our stay, but we also found so many little, simple things lacking which tipped the scales toward us choosing to not return in the future.
We arrived late afternoon after picking up steaks and beer in Kaslo. The cabin was very clean, beautifully styled, and rather spacious. However, no one had bothered to turn on the refrigerator, so there was no way to cool our steaks or beer. The kind hostess gladly shared her ice with us, but in a $209 dollar per night cabin couldn't someone have turned on the refrigerator, or maybe even filled our ice bucket since there is no ice machine? We turned on the electric heat for the night, and the noise in the bedroom was too loud to sleep, cracking and creaking all night long. We left that room unheated for the remainder of our stay, opting to heat the bathroom instead. We loved the private nature of our cabin, but the comfort of the living room furniture was sorely lacking. We ended up folding blankets under our feet on the little wooden coffee table for comfort. A couple of Lazy Boys would have been so much better. The romantic lights that came on at night were a pleasant surprise, but the lack of a screen door meant we had to view the scenery from inside or face the hungry insects in the woods. We stayed an extra night since rain was predicted and we were on motorcycles, and we ventured down the "trail" to the lake. But our "walk" to the lake turned out to be a hike through dead trees, switchbacks, and dirt. After being out all day on our last day, we returned to find no room service. Not a problem since we hadn't thrown our towels on the floor or anything, but the garbage had piled up, there was no coffee or tea, and there was no one at the office. Two trips walking to the office found it empty, with only a sign that they would be back at 4 PM. It was now after 6 pm. So, for over $200 per night, no coffee, no clean towels, and uncomfortable furniture left us wanting a little something more. We totally agree with other travelers that the hosts are friendly, the area is beautiful, and the cabin was clean, if not well stocked in terms of coffee, tea, or even toilet paper. This was not a pampered experience, but it was a very private one. We love the concept of no pets, no smoking, and mostly, no kids. Thanks for the memories.

Room Tip: If you are riding a motorcycle, do NOT choose the Cedarcrest cottage. The road and the parking are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our beautiful resort. We work very hard to make sure we provide enough information in advance to attract the guests who truly appreciate what we offer and our pristine natural setting. Our off-season rates are discounted on purpose to reflect the lower staffing levels at this quiet time of year. Many of the “negatives” you describe are valued as positives by our thousands of happy guests from all over the world. These include our extreme focus on guest privacy, our locally handcrafted fine furniture instead of mass-produced urban furniture, and natural forest trails instead of paved paths. We do not try to emulate urban hotels like your preferred Hampton Inns or large chain resorts in places like San Francisco, preferring instead to focus on a unique personalized BC mountain experience for couples and individuals. We hope you enjoy your next trip to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent 4 wonderful days here at Wing Creek and really loved our stay. When we arrived, there was snow at the tip of the mountains and by the time we had left, it had melted!.The cottages/cabins are superbly fitted out and whilst being quite compact, offer every facilty for simple self-catering. They are immaculately clean and wonderfully comfortable. Debra and Kevin were wonderfully friendly, welcoming and helpful, even to inviting us out into "their wood " to see a bear!
We had superb varied experiences of hiking up to the Idaho Peak, the very relaxing and interesting river walk in lovely Kaslo, combined with just "chilling " in the cottage and enjoying the fun of cooking a Bratwurst (from the excellent local butcher) on the private beach's camp fire and also using the resort's BBQ to cook our evening meal. It is a wonderful walk down to the lake through the woodland path, smelling of cedars to the private beach on the lake.
Kaslo became our favourite Canadian town, so very friendly and scenic right by the Kootenay Lake and with a wonderful bakery, sending smells of fantastic cinnamon buns right up the street!
We highly recommend this resort and follow it on with the superbly scenic drive all along Lake Kootenay to Fernie, exquisite unspoilt Canadian scenery!

Room Tip: All cottages are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and suggestions! Our guests do often tell us how much they enjoy the wonderful scenery at Idaho Peak and the nice relaxing pace of the fairly flat Kaslo River Trail. There is no shortage of amazing hiking in this area! We were so happy you had the opportunity to indulge in the traditional beach fire and wiener roast during your stay! Thank you so very much for dubbing Kaslo your new favourite Canadian town!!! We agree, it is a very special place with much to offer visitors in the way of shopping, restaurants, and galleries, all in the quaint Victorian architecture of its silver-boom heyday! Thank you so much for enjoying our resort, our cottages, our wildlife -- and us! We thoroughly enjoyed sharing everything with you and do hope you can return one day! We hope the rest of your journey was equally fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

From the moment you first arrive, you are surrounded by beauty and peace, and you know that it is going to be a very special experience.
The grounds are beautiful, and the views over the lake and mountains are unbeatable.
The hosts, Debbie and Kevin, are lovely people, warm, friendly and interesting to talk to, but not intrusive.
The cabins are just perfect, well maintained, very clean, and well appointed yet rustic. The decks are ideal for sitting on to relax and enjoy the view.
We took advantage of the breakfast, and it is delicious and well worth it.
We highly recommend this place, and will definitely be back. We have recommended it to our friends, and while we want to keep it to ourselves, it is too good not to share! It has become our accommodation of choice while in this area....if you are considering Kaslo Hotel, stay here instead, it is waaaay better!

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger cabin this time, which we preferred, and stayed in a smaller one during our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review, based on your two recent stays with us! It is so gratifying to know that all our special little touches are so well received. We love sharing our resort with our guests! We know they come for the beauty and privacy of having a maximum of 10 guests on our 20 acre resort so we try to never infringe on that privacy -- no matter how much we enjoy the company of our guests! This year we introduced our breakfast option and it has been a big hit, especially the granola yogurt parfaits and selection of home-baked muffins. Thanks to feedback like yours, we will continue to offer this option to our guests. We often hear that our guests want to keep Wing Creek as their special secret "find" so we appreciate you sharing your experience with others! We look very forward to your next visit -- maybe for SufferFest next Fall -- if not before?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in the more expensive of the two cabin types and it was worth the extra. We stayed for two nights and used the BBQ both times. Well equipped modern cabins. Lovely walk down to the lake. Didnt see any bears, but they are there apparently.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of the Cedarcrest Cottage and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Wing Creek! This cottage is a popular cottage -- the largest and most private. It has a woodstove with glass doors for romantic viewing, a private BBQ, plush robes, DVD home theatre system, and many more extras. Like all our cottages, it features one bedroom with queen bed and down duvets, private slate bathroom, kitchen and living room with vaulted ceiling, large deck and great views of the lake and mountains. Guests enjoy the forest trail to our private beach, complete with individual fire pits and chairs. Black bears live in the hills nearby and we try rather hard to ensure they do not disrupt our guests on the resort. Grizzly bears live further up the lake and are often seen during the Kokanee spawning season, while they are fishing for their dinners. This is a beautiful area for wildlife viewing and birdwatching as we are surrounded by pristine unspoiled Nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had picture perfect stay at Wing Creek! Kevin and Debbie were amazing! Not only did they make us feel right at home, they knew the area very well and had lots of great suggestions as to what to check out in there area, not that we even wanted to leave our picturesque cabin. The property including an orchard and a little mini hike down to the private beach, is gorgeous and beautifully maintained! It is very private and perfect for couples looking to get away, you wouldn't even know anyone else is staying there! Including Kevin and Deb, unless you went and sought them out. They are very thoughtful people and made our honeymoon stay very special and personal with a champagne toast and couples massage. We had an amazing time and can't wait to go back and visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and creating such a wonderful headline!! I think we've hosted 15 honeymoons here this year and we are delighted that so many very tired and stressed out newlyweds are choosing Wing Creek to rejuvenate! It is our pleasure to share our beautiful area with all our guests and to help you find those hidden ideas that never seem to make it into the guidebooks! We very much respect the privacy of our guests and have created the accommodation and services specifically to support maximum privacy for couples and individuals who choose our mountain retreat getaway. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again anytime! Thanks also for your great ideas, several of which we will implement by next summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wing Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wing Creek Resort

Address: 9114 Highway 31 Box 1164, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kaslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wing Creek Resort is a spectacularly beautiful, environmentally conscious waterfront resort that offers both vacation rentals and ownership opportunities on pristine Kootenay Lake, BC. This 20-acre resort is an adult sanctuary featuring 5 thoughtfully designed luxury cabins, 2 vacation homes, a beautiful private beach, mountain streams, forest, trails, orchard, gardens, gift shop, Retreat Centre and the Falling Water Spa. We offer a delicious optional continental breakfast and provide a refreshment centre in each cabin/home. Each cabin has one bedroom with queen bed and down duvets, a private slate bathroom, granite & hardwood kitchen, living room with fireplace and vaulted ceiling and large deck. Each vacation home is perfect for 2 couples travelling together. Located one hour north of Nelson, 20 minutes north of Ainsworth Hot Springs and just 5 minutes north of picturesque Kaslo, Wing Creek Resort is in the midst of unparalleled hiking, cycling, mountain biking, boating, fishing, skiing and many other outdoor activities. Or choose to simply relax in unspoiled peaceful Nature. Wing Creek Resort is your mountain lake paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wing Creek Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wing Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wing Creek Resort to your Saves list