We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic, relaxing lake-side resort run by lovely people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wing Creek Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaslo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wing Creek Resort
9114 Highway 31 Box 1164, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kaslo
Norfolk UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An idyllic, relaxing lake-side resort run by lovely people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent 4 wonderful days here at Wing Creek and really loved our stay. When we arrived, there was snow at the tip of the mountains and by the time we had left, it had melted!.The cottages/cabins are superbly fitted out and whilst being quite compact, offer every facilty for simple self-catering. They are immaculately clean and wonderfully comfortable. Debra and Kevin were wonderfully friendly, welcoming and helpful, even to inviting us out into "their wood " to see a bear!
We had superb varied experiences of hiking up to the Idaho Peak, the very relaxing and interesting river walk in lovely Kaslo, combined with just "chilling " in the cottage and enjoying the fun of cooking a Bratwurst (from the excellent local butcher) on the private beach's camp fire and also using the resort's BBQ to cook our evening meal. It is a wonderful walk down to the lake through the woodland path, smelling of cedars to the private beach on the lake.
Kaslo became our favourite Canadian town, so very friendly and scenic right by the Kootenay Lake and with a wonderful bakery, sending smells of fantastic cinnamon buns right up the street!
We highly recommend this resort and follow it on with the superbly scenic drive all along Lake Kootenay to Fernie, exquisite unspoilt Canadian scenery!

Room Tip: All cottages are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments and suggestions! Our guests do often tell us how much they enjoy the wonderful scenery at Idaho Peak and the nice relaxing pace of the fairly flat Kaslo River Trail. There is no shortage of amazing hiking in this area! We were so happy you had the opportunity to indulge in the traditional beach fire and wiener roast during your stay! Thank you so very much for dubbing Kaslo your new favourite Canadian town!!! We agree, it is a very special place with much to offer visitors in the way of shopping, restaurants, and galleries, all in the quaint Victorian architecture of its silver-boom heyday! Thank you so much for enjoying our resort, our cottages, our wildlife -- and us! We thoroughly enjoyed sharing everything with you and do hope you can return one day! We hope the rest of your journey was equally fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossland, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

From the moment you first arrive, you are surrounded by beauty and peace, and you know that it is going to be a very special experience.
The grounds are beautiful, and the views over the lake and mountains are unbeatable.
The hosts, Debbie and Kevin, are lovely people, warm, friendly and interesting to talk to, but not intrusive.
The cabins are just perfect, well maintained, very clean, and well appointed yet rustic. The decks are ideal for sitting on to relax and enjoy the view.
We took advantage of the breakfast, and it is delicious and well worth it.
We highly recommend this place, and will definitely be back. We have recommended it to our friends, and while we want to keep it to ourselves, it is too good not to share! It has become our accommodation of choice while in this area....if you are considering Kaslo Hotel, stay here instead, it is waaaay better!

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger cabin this time, which we preferred, and stayed in a smaller one during our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review, based on your two recent stays with us! It is so gratifying to know that all our special little touches are so well received. We love sharing our resort with our guests! We know they come for the beauty and privacy of having a maximum of 10 guests on our 20 acre resort so we try to never infringe on that privacy -- no matter how much we enjoy the company of our guests! This year we introduced our breakfast option and it has been a big hit, especially the granola yogurt parfaits and selection of home-baked muffins. Thanks to feedback like yours, we will continue to offer this option to our guests. We often hear that our guests want to keep Wing Creek as their special secret "find" so we appreciate you sharing your experience with others! We look very forward to your next visit -- maybe for SufferFest next Fall -- if not before?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in the more expensive of the two cabin types and it was worth the extra. We stayed for two nights and used the BBQ both times. Well equipped modern cabins. Lovely walk down to the lake. Didnt see any bears, but they are there apparently.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of the Cedarcrest Cottage and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Wing Creek! This cottage is a popular cottage -- the largest and most private. It has a woodstove with glass doors for romantic viewing, a private BBQ, plush robes, DVD home theatre system, and many more extras. Like all our cottages, it features one bedroom with queen bed and down duvets, private slate bathroom, kitchen and living room with vaulted ceiling, large deck and great views of the lake and mountains. Guests enjoy the forest trail to our private beach, complete with individual fire pits and chairs. Black bears live in the hills nearby and we try rather hard to ensure they do not disrupt our guests on the resort. Grizzly bears live further up the lake and are often seen during the Kokanee spawning season, while they are fishing for their dinners. This is a beautiful area for wildlife viewing and birdwatching as we are surrounded by pristine unspoiled Nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had picture perfect stay at Wing Creek! Kevin and Debbie were amazing! Not only did they make us feel right at home, they knew the area very well and had lots of great suggestions as to what to check out in there area, not that we even wanted to leave our picturesque cabin. The property including an orchard and a little mini hike down to the private beach, is gorgeous and beautifully maintained! It is very private and perfect for couples looking to get away, you wouldn't even know anyone else is staying there! Including Kevin and Deb, unless you went and sought them out. They are very thoughtful people and made our honeymoon stay very special and personal with a champagne toast and couples massage. We had an amazing time and can't wait to go back and visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience and creating such a wonderful headline!! I think we've hosted 15 honeymoons here this year and we are delighted that so many very tired and stressed out newlyweds are choosing Wing Creek to rejuvenate! It is our pleasure to share our beautiful area with all our guests and to help you find those hidden ideas that never seem to make it into the guidebooks! We very much respect the privacy of our guests and have created the accommodation and services specifically to support maximum privacy for couples and individuals who choose our mountain retreat getaway. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to seeing you again anytime! Thanks also for your great ideas, several of which we will implement by next summer season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I spent three wonderful nights here in August 2012. I cannot say enough about this resort being a heavenly retreat!! If I were to voice all of my praise, you simply would find it hard to believe, so just trust me when I say EVERYONE should stay here at least once. The feeling of peace and well being you will rediscover is reason enough, but read all of the other reviews to find out how wonderful all of the details are. Here is my spin, rest in that comfortable bed, relax by a cozy fire or out on the deck, regard the magnificent views, refresh by having a swim in the lake, unwind with a spa massage, commune with fellow guest over a glass of wine as you BBQ your dinner, or dine at the golf course, explore Kaslo, and go with Dean kayaking on the lake that turns into a mirror at sunset, and after these things you WILL feel rejuvenated. Just, PLEASE leave at least one night open for my return!!!!
Thank you Kevin and Deb, You and your resort were just what the doctor ordered AND in Such Style!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your very heartfelt review! It was wonderful to witness your enthusiasm for Wing Creek Resort grow as you tried out each new experience! Many of our guests take part in outdoor activities like kayaking, hiking, biking and golf then relax with a massage or other spa service in the Falling Water Spa. However, just as many come with long lists of things they plan to do and end up being mesmerized by the scenic views and captivated by the "sounds of silence" or the vast number of stars in our truly dark night sky, well away from the light pollution of a city. As you mentioned, each guest has their very own personalized version of a stay at Wing Creek. Many of our guests say they want to keep us a secret so they'll be able to come back, but rest assured we are still a far too well-kept secret for new guests to impact your ability to return! We look very forward to hosting you here again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

1st off I'll start by saying Kevin and Debbie have a beautiful property which they've obviously worked hard for. They were both very accomodating and friendly, offering us insight into attractions and things to do around Kaslo. I can't say enough about the grounds and cabins. They are meticulously maintained and modern with a feeling of rustic charm. The hike down to the lake is peaceful in itself and you can walk up and down the beach or go for a swim as you like, very private. We chose Wing Creek Resort for part of our honeymoon and it is exactly what we needed, time alone! Thanks again guys and good luck in the future, we look forward to staying again, Mike & Krista

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Wing Creek Resort to spend part of your honeymoon -- and for taking the time to post a review! We love to share our resort with guests from all over the world and helping create the perfect vacation experience for each guest is our favourite part! Thank you for noticing all the work we do to create and maintain the cabins and grounds. It is a labour of love, but still super when guests notice!! =) The last few weeks have been hot and sunny so we are happy to see many of our guests take advantage of swimming in the lake and our private beach "nooks" . You definitely earned your time alone and we are so happy you found us! We wish you both all the best as you begin your life together as a married couple and we hope you come back to see us again! Congratulations and best wishes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed in Wing Creek for a single night as part of a motorcycle trip. The Cabins are private and have everything you need. I loved just sitting on the front deck and reading a book. Kevin and Debra were very accommodating. Overall, a great experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingCreekResort, Owner at Wing Creek Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review from the perspective of a motorcyclist! We do attract many couples and individuals on a wide variety of bikes -- from Honda Goldwings and Harleys to BMWs and Suzukis and even a number of touring cyclists. The roads nearby are fantastic for bikes and include one that is rated #3 in North America for motorcyclists! We offer an eco-friendly adult sanctuary where most of our guests can be found on their decks or on our beach reading, practising yoga, or simply staring at the mountain and lake views at some point during their stays. Many arrive with long to-do lists and end up picking a couple of outdoor activities like hiking, kayaking or whitewater rafting and then spending the rest of their time RELAXING in our quiet, peaceful setting. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Wing Creek!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wing Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wing Creek Resort

Address: 9114 Highway 31 Box 1164, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Kaslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wing Creek Resort is a spectacularly beautiful, environmentally conscious waterfront resort that offers both vacation rentals and ownership opportunities on pristine Kootenay Lake, BC. This 20-acre resort is an adult sanctuary featuring 5 thoughtfully designed luxury cabins, 2 vacation homes, a beautiful private beach, mountain streams, forest, trails, orchard, gardens, gift shop, Retreat Centre and the Falling Water Spa. We offer a delicious optional continental breakfast and provide a refreshment centre in each cabin/home. Each cabin has one bedroom with queen bed and down duvets, a private slate bathroom, granite & hardwood kitchen, living room with fireplace and vaulted ceiling and large deck. Each vacation home is perfect for 2 couples travelling together. Located one hour north of Nelson, 20 minutes north of Ainsworth Hot Springs and just 5 minutes north of picturesque Kaslo, Wing Creek Resort is in the midst of unparalleled hiking, cycling, mountain biking, boating, fishing, skiing and many other outdoor activities. Or choose to simply relax in unspoiled peaceful Nature. Wing Creek Resort is your mountain lake paradise! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wing Creek Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wing Creek Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wing Creek Resort to your Saves list