We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Mansion House
Mansion House, Pantyrathro, Llansteffan SA33 5AJ, Wales (Formerly Pant yr Athro Mansion House Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llansteffan B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Based on other reviews and wanting something different to the regular mainstream hotel venues we stay in, I would recommend Mansion House. We stayed 3 nights. Great location giving the quiet break which we wanted and yet a short drive to Camarthan and LLanstefan. Our many thanks to David, Wendy, Chef and staff for making us feel like "Guests", an experience you often do not get in hotels these days. We had intended to eat out at least one night however the hotel food was so good we ate in all three nights !!! You can use the restaurant even if you are not staying at the hotel,Try it. David & Wendy, we both wish you all the very best with your venture.

Room Tip: some rooms have great views over the estuary - top floor with two single beds is at the top of steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed one night but wished we it could have been longer. Glorious location and views and a very relaxed atmosphere. Perfect for children - ours played with the owners children (and others staying there) and had a fantastic time. Restaurant food was very good - always nice to see high quality children's food. It does feel like a mansion house - granted some of the rooms need a bit of work doing but it doesn't matter when everything else is right. I think the owners are planning to refurbish in the near future. I would thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were thrilled to be invited to a wedding celebration here last weekend. What a venue! Perfect for a beautiful wedding. The views were breathtaking on all sides, the welcome was warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the lovely couple who run this beautiful hotel. The Hog roast we were served was excellent and the room having several sets of double doors looking out on to fabulous lawns and then a view of the sea meant that on a very hot day we had the comfort of elegant dining with an 'al fresco' feeling. Our room was very comfortable with good views, the en-suite bathroom was compact but spotless and the tea/ coffee tray in our room offered bottled water and plenty of biscuits too. The benefit of wonderful sash windows meant a cool and comfortable night when the temperatures were very high, beds and bedding wonderful. Our breakfasts were delicious, no excess fat and beautiful bacon. Check out was a very comfortable 11.00 am meaning that we could sit and reminisce about the evening before after breakfast not feeling that we had to rush off. We will definitely return to sample the delights of the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed Monday night we were meant to be in the upstairs rooms but as traviled with grandmother they moved us in to the family room which was a very nice thing to do . thank you so much will be staying again if in the area again . food eas wonderful breakfast was really nice too . wonderful setting nice and quiet as we live in the country it was ideal .thank you both so much .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A very warm and personal welcome by the new proprietors (since November). Excellent location near Llansteffan, West Wales. Beautiful beach and castle. Quite close to Carmarthen town.
Good price £80 a night for a double room bed and breakfast. Good value.
Very comfortable bed and a good shower. There was tea/coffee making facilities including hot chocolate, bottle of water and plenty of biscuits. In the bathroom there were plenty of towels, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, soap and shower caps.
The room could do with a make-over. It was painted white over the previous wall paper. There were cobwebs in the high ceiling and dust dropped from the extractor fan as you turned it on in the bathroom. Although the hotel advertises that each room have "uninterrupted views", our room faced the fire escape.
We dined in the Tafarn Pantyrathro restaurant. The food was outstanding, although this place need to be redecorated as well. The new owners have started a programme of alterations, and I bet by the time they finish this place will be a first class country hotel.
In the restaurant I had the BBQ chicken with chips and coleslaw from the Specials Menu (£11 good price). Beautiful! It was home-made coleslaw and home-made BBQ sauce. My wife had the Pan Seared Gressingham Duck Breast. What a treat! We had a nice chilled bottle of wine as well. A very pleasant evening.
The breakfast the following morning was first class. Cereals and toast with home-made jams and cooked breakfast nicely cooked without excess fat.
We really enjoyed our stay. The owners made us feel at home. Braf cael gwasanaeth Cymraeg hefyd. We will definitely stay here again, probably when they finish the refurbishment. Diolch yn fawr.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful setting overlooking the valley and the estuary. Great hospitality that will only improve as the newish owners truly get their feet under the table and reclaim their roots. Decor of the main house is a little dated and rather green but still charming although could do with a bit of an airing. We literally were a "late room" booking for a Bank Holiday so had a twin room in the eaves - reminiscent of Cub Scout trips apparently....
Food very good and a nice atmosphere in the Tafarn.
Look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: We had room 10 0 a twin. Great for kids or friends but not for a couple or those that struggle nego...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am attending the area with work and stayed here with a colleague. The house is in a great position and overlooks the estuary. We were made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. This hotel has only been taken over by the present owners since November 2012, they have a lot to do to bring the hotel up to a standard they want to achieve.
My room over looked the estuary but was small especially the bathroon, however bed was comfortable and had a good night's sleep.
We ate in the bar area at night and had a very acceptable pub type meal and breakfast was good in the morning.
I will return here to see how they are progressing with this upgrade

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: Mansion House, Pantyrathro, Llansteffan SA33 5AJ, Wales (Formerly Pant yr Athro Mansion House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llansteffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llansteffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mansion House Llansteffan, nestled in beautiful countryside with breathtaking views of the Tywi estuary and beyond. We are minutes from the charming seaside village of Llansteffan but also just five miles from the large retail and market town of Carmarthen. Whether you wish to dine with us, celebrate a wedding or special occasion or just get away from it all, the Mansion House offers charm and hospitality that will stay with you for a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pant - Yr - Athro Country Inn And International Hotel Carmarthen
Country Inn Carmarthen
Carmarthen Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.