We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House Llansteffan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion House Llansteffan to your Saves list
Mansion House Llansteffan
Pantyrathro, Llansteffan SA33 5AJ, Wales (Formerly Pant yr Athro Mansion House Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llansteffan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Carmarthen, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have always liked the character of this building and am glad to see it is under renovation. The position is enviable with stunning views of Llansteffan.
Had Mother's Day Lunch in the Mansion and loved it! Proper Sunday lunch with good choice and friendly service. A relaxed setting and we were not rushed even though the restaurant was fully booked.
I would thoroughly recommend for a Sunday lunch where you want a relaxed, not too formal or stuffy experience.
My niece is in a wheel- chair and the help/attention she received was second to none, and done again without fuss and so not drawing attention to herself ( which she hates).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
15
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just spent two nights at the Mansion House and just wanted to say Thank you to David and Wendy who made our stay very positive.
Wendy is a great Cook and they both are superb Hosts. The area is stunning and our daughters loved their trip to wales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having visited Carmarthen for business purposes for over 25 years I have eventually found somewhere to stay that I look forward to returning to! The new owners of Pantyathro, David and Wendy offer an extremely warm welcome. The bedrooms are well presented, warm and the feather duvets like home from home. The Tafarn restaurant offers first class food at a reasonable price. I would not hesitate to recommend and hope there is enough room for me on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthen wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

picture a misty rainy cold feb evening..where do you head to for your daughter who's a foodie's birthday meal..why Pantyrathro...lovley welcome in the tavern,,candles on the tables..we had a bottle of wine, jug of water...table for 3, cockles and laverbread -delicious, hot garlic prawns sooo succulent could have eaten several more bowls....and the duck for mains was superb ...handcut chips...faultless..no room for pud,,,booked for Mothers Day and cant wait

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although it was only for one night we were made very welcome. we had an evening meal and full cooked breakfast, best bacon I have had in a long time. The room was clean and well presented and the food was excellent. The Welsh draught beer was very enjoyable and tasty.
The building was very interesting and the views were amazing, especially with some snow on the hills.
The new owners have only been there two months but it is clear they are making their mark and intend to improve on the previous owner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Visited Pantyathro recently for Sunday lunch in the Mansion, and also a mid-week lunch in the adjoining Tafarn Pantyrathro. We had a first class welcome from the new owners David and Wendy. The food prepared by the chef Anwen was delicious, and very reasonably priced. It is such a relaxing place, set in beautiful surroundings overlooking Llansteffan and the Towy estuary. It is situated about five miles from the busy market town of Carmarthen. Looking forward to visiting again in the near future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumble, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

thank you all at the pant y athro mansion for making my wedding day the best day ever.... the setting of this hotel cant be beaten for views and the character of this very old house... the service was excellant and the food was wonderfull... i would recomend this to any one looking for a perfect wedding venue with out massive hotel costs but with the same quality service.. excellant********

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House Llansteffan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House Llansteffan

Address: Pantyrathro, Llansteffan SA33 5AJ, Wales (Formerly Pant yr Athro Mansion House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llansteffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llansteffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mansion House Llansteffan, nestled in beautiful countryside with breathtaking views of the Towy estuary and beyond. We are minutes from the charming seaside village of Llansteffan but also just five miles from the large retail and market town of Carmarthen. Whether you wish to dine with us, celebrate a wedding or special occasion or just get away from it all, the Mansion House offers charm and hospitality that will stay with you for a long time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mansion House Llansteffan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pant - Yr - Athro Country Inn And International Hotel Carmarthen
Country Inn Carmarthen
Carmarthen Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House Llansteffan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.